We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely, welcoming with sunsets as promised”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset
Year Round Splendor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Sunset
Year Round Splendor
Gorgeous Sunset!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Stratford, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nancy G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“lovely, welcoming with sunsets as promised”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

spent a week in August with my husband and 7 year old daughter. We enjoyed swimming every day, beautiful sunsets each evening, the calls of the Loons and finding great hiking trails in the area. The cottage was so welcoming. You can see that the owner enjoys decorating it and creating a spot to enjoy, relax and unwind.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
So glad you enjoyed yourselves!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah b
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Sunset was everything I could ask for in a weekend getaway, plus more. After the moment we stepped in, we did not want to leave. We had hikes planned each day, but just decided to spend the 2 days at Sunset. Our day was full of grilling, laying on the dock, and swimming. After watching a breath taking sunset on the dock, we made our way in to play games (provided!) and wind down with a movie (also provided). The house was so beautifully decorated that I couldn't believe we got such a good rate for what was provided. I am already planning my next stay at Sunset and I would recommend it in a heartbeat. Thank you so much for accommodating us!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
You are so welcome! Hope you visit again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theresad3...
Amherst, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We traveled to Sunset for a creative retreat, and were totally blown away by the charm and beauty of the place. The house was adorable, cozy, and accommodating, even for the rainy weather we experienced. Anyone familiar with the northeast knows that in late May, you need to prepare for weather on all ends of the spectrum.

The only thing I would advise potential renters of is to come prepared with everything you'll need... food, drinks, etc. There isn't a grocery store or any actual restaurants (but this may have been seasonal) nearby, so you want to limit the extra trips you'll want to make.

Aimee was fantastic and responsive. We will definitely be returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunsets! (Big surprise there!)
Liked least: The ants
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B
New York City, New York
1 review
“Ideal Adirondack Getaway”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Sunset is warmly furnished and well equipped for a stay in the Adirondacks, during any season! We really enjoyed the three layer deck to the clear waters of Pleasant Lake and all of the hiking trail options in the area. For our first time at Sunset, we were a little apprehensive but that worry was gone as soon as we arrived. We are looking forward to our next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Spiders! (but we peacefully removed them)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2015
Thank you Erik! glad you enjoyed yourselves :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy C
White Oak, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what you think.”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

For this time of year, it is not the place to rent. First it uses a well system for their cleaning and bathing water that smells like sulfur (rotten eggs!) Not a pleasant experience. Second the internet connection did not work at all. I would first get a message to pay a bill, then after 5 minutes it would shut off. Remember there is also no cell phone service. That was expressed in the information regarding the cottage. The television also only has 2 channels. Actually my husband had to work on it for 1 hour to get the television connected. When I called for assistance I was told that the television was connected to an antenna on the outside of the cottage. Actually when we checked, the cable is disconnected. When you need to use the bathroom it is requested that you throw your "pee" paper in the waste can next to the toilet. There is a spring water bottle that has drinking cold and hot water. We actually filled a bowl so that we could wash our hands in clean, unsmelling water. This cottage may have been okay if it was in the summer and you do not spend as much time indoors. Unfortunately, this time of year, 50 degrees during the day and rainy does not warrant spending alot of time outdoors. When we first entered the cottage, the temperature was 50 degrees and due to the way the cottage was heated, it took 3 hours to get the cottage to 70 degrees. The cottage was cute, but not something that I would rent again. I also would never recommend this to anyone. Also, all of the notes around the cottage got on my nerves. I felt like I was always being told what to do. I would think that when you rent property in an isolated area, you must realize that some people are not aware of how to take care of others property, or that mice, rodents, or ants have ways of getting into the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was decorated nicely.
Liked least: The smelly water.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2015
Oh boy, I'm sorry, I just saw this review. Between Flipkey and Airbnb we have 68 4.5 to 5 star reviews so i hope one person doesn't ruin it for all. We don't advertise that we have cable tv (although there are tons of movies there, we don't get many people who want to watch tv there and they don't offer a cable package in the area unless we want to put a satellite dish on the dock- we don't!). The water can have a sulphury smell depending on usage. Definitely if that is something that is going to ruin your getaway another home might be better. Of course we do offer fresh spring drinking water. The internet should work perfectly- if not just give us a call and we will help you! Sunset is amazing. Never in anybody's wildest dreams would it deserve one star. Unfortunately Judy never got in touch with us with any of her concerns. Oh well, you can't please everybody all the time but we sure do try - 99% of the time we get it right! Please, if you have a concern, get in touch with us prior to your departure! We take a lot of pride in our homes and want to make your stay as comfortable and happy as possible!!! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
680debbie
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Beautiful in the morning, serene in the afternoon and stunning in the evening.”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Sunset was the perfect Adirondack retreat I could have imagined. Our family vacationed in the Adirondacks, mostly Great Sacandaga Lake, throughout my youth. Waking up with the stunning view of the lake brought back great memories and soothing rest for this very busy life I lead. I can't wait to rent this very special cottage again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely inside of the cottage with all of the vintage shabby chic style.
Liked least: Dealing with the flushing situation.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thank you Debbie, you are always welcome :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo NY/ RI
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Hope you visit again!!! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing