We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Somerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel.”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

While it looks very much the usual 3 story hotel from the outside, the inside is very nice, clean, with a huge atrium. Bar, restaurant, etc. The room was a little small, but that did not impact the quality of the stay at all. No tub, but that did not affect us in the least. The room looked recently redone, very clean, fresh with a very nice flat screen. Check in was quick and easy. Even got complimentary drinks at the bar for my wife and I. Stayed here while visiting someone at the very nearby Good Samaritan Hospital in Suffern.

Room Tip: Ask for something facing away from the highway. You may not be able to hear it but I didn't want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwruser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We do offer a few rooms with a bathtub if needed next time. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Bob Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    144
    37
    12
    16
See reviews for
88
92
19
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I booked this hotel as I wanted an overnight stop on our drive from Cape Cod to Washington. I was aware that the hotel was outside of the town and on a business park and therefore, as we were arriving on a sunday night, we were not expecting very much of this hotel.
What a pleasant surprise. Check in was smooth and efficient. The room was very nice with a window that opened (always pleasant). At dinner we had the special which was one of the best meals we have had for a long time.
All in all a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Get a room on the outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear John G,
Thank you for the 5 stars! It is appreciated. We are so thrilled that you were so suprised and enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Bob Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

What a gorgeous hotel! Beautifully modeled, tastefully decorated, clean, this was an honest to goodness awesome stay. The rooms had Keurig machines, but didn't have refrigerators or microwave ovens, which was my only vice. The bathroom didn't have a shower door, which I thought was weird, but it wasn't necessary for its function. Just absolutely beautiful and upscale. I think I had my best night's sleep there. The mattress was so incredibly comfy and I had emailed the hotel directly to ask what kind of mattresses they used, so I can get one for home. We also ate in the hotel restaurant and I recommend the Crowne Plaza burger, it was so yummy! The restaurant manager was very accommodating to our large party at both dinner time and breakfast. I would love to stay in this hotel again if I'm ever back in the area. And I suggest that you give this place a try too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Melanie b,
Thank you for the 5 stars! It is appreciated. We currently have select upgraded rooms with refridgerators and micowaves. Next time you stay with us, please ask about the upgrade. We also have additional ones that can be brought to your room on request. I apologize this was not explained to you. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you.
Bob Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed the weekend for a convention with meals included. The decor is modern. Very clean and crisp and nicely decorated. Very clean. The food was superb. Beautifully presented and delicious.

I would make sure you request a room with an outside view otherwise your window overlooks the lobby. Especially on the first floor there is no balcony and people are actually sitting right outside the window. Plus there is no outside light. Initially I was given a lobby-view room and I requested a room change.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Supererrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the comments. I agree that the food here is the best! We still have requests for the interior rooms. I believe it depends on one's own perference. We look foward to you staying with us again.
Bob Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I had a comfortable stay at this hotel while on a girl's weekend outlet shopping trip with a friend. I realized when I returned home that I had forgotten a small bag holding several items, including an ipad. The housekeeping staff headed by Angele were wonderful. They turned the bag in with all items intact and the hotel management sent the bag out that day. I was grateful for their honesty and impressed with the concern they showed in their efforts to return my bag. This hotel and staff has my highest endorsement!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katthoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the 5 stars! It is appreciated. I am glas that you have received all of your items. We look forward to your return visit.
Thank you.
Bob Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Had stayed here a few times when this was the Holiday Inn Suffern and our experiences were average. The only reason we had reconsidered this hotel is when we saw it had upgraded to a Crowne Plaza with major renovations.

Positives: Upon checking in we received a free upgrade to a nice suite (thanks friendly front-desk staff). There were complimentary drinks in the lounge area; soda and water. The workout room was not bad, but would have preferred a not so complicated cable system machine. The beds were very nice, and enjoyed the "little spa package" of lotions, etc.
The renovated rooms were very clean, and liked the "newness" of it all.

Negatives: This is what really made what would have been a great stay immediately turn into a not so great stay...we were woken up quite early by the sound of people walking by our rooms with their luggage and hotel staff pushing carts of cleaning supplies/other by our room. We were in a room which faced the HUGE lounge area. There used to be a pool there, which has since been filled in and converted to quite a beautiful lounge area..but the problem is, it is loud at night and well...I described our unwelcome wake-up call. No way around this but to get a room that does not face the lounge area.
The free continental breakfast could be made a little more filling and healthier. What was put out there felt like an afterthought.

Still do like the convenience of this hotel off the highway, and the price was average for the area.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms that face the huge lounge area...will have a hard time going to sleep if a light sle...
See more room tips
Green Features: Glad to see there was recycling in the room, thanks!
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel001_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are now closing the atrium area in the evening ut we need to look at what time we are opening in the morning. Your feedback is appreciated. Thank you.
Bob Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here with our dog for 2 nights. We showed up 3 hours before check in time, and they managed to have to room ready for us in less than an hour.
The room was very clean and comfortable, quiet and spacious. It did lack a mini fridge though, very strange.
It has a lot of space around to walk the dog (although we were not allowed to go through the lobby with him, but we had to use a different door).
Overall, a very nice hotel with a lot of facilities, and a very nice stay. I would make the dog policy a little less strict though, and definitely add a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza, Suffern, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We do have refirgerators upon request for those rooms that do not have one in them. I apologize if it was not explained to you at check in but dogs are not allowed in the atrium for health code policies. We do serve food in the atrium. We do look forward to your return visit. Thank you.
Bob Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffern
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#3 of 8 in Mahwah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Nanuet
Hampton Inn Nanuet
#2 of 5 in Nanuet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nanuet
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza, Suffern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza, Suffern

Property: Crowne Plaza, Suffern
Address: 3 Executive Blvd, Suffern, NY 10901-4113 (Formerly Holiday Inn Suffern)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Suffern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza, Suffern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffern Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center also known as the GEM of Rockland County is situated in a distinctive setting. It features 230 artfully renovated guest rooms and suites, Flagstone's Restaurant The Koi Lounge, a fully equipped 24 hour fitness center, and business center. It features the newest ballrooms in the county making it the perfect location for corporate conventions and meetings, weddings, bar/bat mitzvahs, and social events. Whatever the reason for your visit to our hotel, you can enjoy the tranquility of our countryside surroundings with easy access to the excitement of New York City. Not to be forgotten would be a shopping spree at the Woodbury Common Premium Outlets, with over 200 stores to choose from! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza, Suffern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza, Suffern Hotel Suffern
Holiday Inn Suffern
Suffern Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza, Suffern New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing