We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“broadway in syracuse”
Review of The Oncenter

The Oncenter
Ranked #10 of 68 things to do in Syracuse
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A three-city-block facility located in the heart of Syracuse, New York, The Oncenter has flexible meeting, convention, banquet and event space to accommodate groups and functions of all sizes. Since the opening of the War Memorial Arena in 1951, to the harmonious addition of the John H. Mulroy Civic Center Theaters in 1975, to the building of the Nicolas J. Pirro Convention Center in 1992, the Oncenter has been the entertainment and conference preference of local, regional and National attendees. Whether you are interested in watching a hockey game, singing along with one of the Famous Artists Broadway shows, watching Disney on Ice, attending a car, snowmobile or ice fishing show, or planning your annual group conference, The Oncenter welcomes you.Our professional experienced management team is here to ensure that each and every guest’s Oncenter experience is a positive, memorable event.
Oneida, New York
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“broadway in syracuse”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

excellent facility to watch Broadway-style productions. Very accessible and comfortable.We enjoy going here often, parking nearby.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    33
    16
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeWitt, New York
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
258 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“Can't give one rating to five or more venues”
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

The idea of rating the Oncenter as if it were one attraction is misguided. This complex consists of three separate buildings built at different times for different purposes. I will do my best to give you my take on each of them, as I have attended many events and shows in all of them.

The oldest building is the War Memorial Auditorium. While there is a basement area for certain kinds of events, the primary space is the large 5000 seat arena. AHL hockey games, rock concerts, ice shows, circuses, and the like all use this area at various times. It is old and shows its age, but it is functional and the seating is adequate. If you attend an event here and have a few extra minutes, you might want to see the display in the hall at the end opposite the stage, on the first floor. Military personnel in uniforms and gear from various times in US history are shown.

The convention center is the newest of the buildings and is flexibly configured to adjust to the event. Everything from large fundraising events to national level bowling tournaments to auto shows have been here. This is a well designed building with many uses.

The Civic Center building houses county government offices and at least three theaters. The smallest studio theater is used for small, limited audience shows, and is not that familiar to most people. The middle sized Carrier Theater can handle up to a couple hundred audience members for moderate scope shows. While I would not let this keep me from attending a show I am interested in, I find the seats to be somewhat hard and uncomfortable, and I'd like to see them replaced. The large Crouse Hinds theater seats a couple thousand in three levels, and concerts and major traveling productions of musicals are performed here. I have sat in all parts of this theater and generally you can see and hear okay everywhere, but if you have a discriminating ear for orchestral music, I'd advise against the last 8-10 rows of the orchestra section. For some reason the acoustics aren't quite that good in that area, maybe because of the mezzanine above. All of these theaters are functional but not especially attractive, but since the show is what you came for it is of minor importance.

Common to all venues is the need to pay to park in one of the nearby lots, as legal, metered on street parking is very limited and you need to arrive very early to have any hope of finding an available spot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Symphoria! Amazing concert!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Saw the new symphony in Syracuse, Smphoria! An amazing group of artists, wonderful symphony. I hope to see them again soon!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2heartlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cool place”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

had prom there years ago, also went to some job fairs and other stuff. Had lots of fun there and really cool architecture and interior design.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bannanaramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for big events”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Only got to see one small part of it so really can't make a better review of it as I was here for a NYS exam. Place definitely can handle large groups of people.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oncenter also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Oncenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing