We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ophelia's Garden -- Wonderful Again”

Ophelia's Garden Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Syracuse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ophelia's Garden Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Geneseo, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ophelia's Garden -- Wonderful Again”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed again at this marvelous inn (B&B) and had a wonderful time despite a difficult business trip. Annie and David let me check in early and then go attend to business. At the end of the day was I ever happy to plunk down in this bastion of serenity, beauty, and delight. Annie and David are wonderful, helpful, and interesting hosts; all of the Irish-named pets are sweetie-pies. I slept very well and enjoyed everyone's company at breakfast until it was time to head home. By then, any anxiety about being in Syracuse for some very difficult business had absolutely melted away. I can't say enough good things about this gem of an inn.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room. I think by now I have stayed in all of them. Just go on the web and look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karengduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
16
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I stayed with Annie and David for 4 nights while in Syracuse for our niece's graduation. It was a wonderful first time B & B experience. Annie and David are very welcoming and respectful of your privacy. The breakfast was delicious, the company delightful and the dogs made us feel right at home. We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiV743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ophelia's for 3 nights when we were in Syracuse to see family. Annie and David were very accommodating, and we had a great experience! The rooms were air conditioned, and comfortable. We enjoyed breakfast and coffee each day as we looked out on the garden. It was fascinating to talk to Annie and David about the history of the Bed and Breakfast as well as the surrounding area (Town of Geddes, Tipperary Hill, etc). Ophelia's has the perfect amount of charm and personal touches to make it truly memorable. We highly recommend staying here next time you're in Syracuse.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Lovely place to stay! Hosts Annie and David were friendly and welcoming. I stayed in the rose room which was full of exquisite antiques with a rose theme. In fact the wholehouse was filled with lovely antique furniture Felt very spoilt with a lovely cooked breakfast everyday and friendly service. Hosts were very helpful with local information and advice. Definitely would like to go back in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Great hosts. Great gardens. Great atmosphere. Great rooms. Old world coziness. Privacy. Peace. Charm. The best B&B I ever stayed in. Quiet neighborhood. A great reason to stay in Syracuse a long time. Paint in the gardens or write in the gardens, or be their to enjoy the calm.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyfilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie Ophelia P, Owner at Ophelia's Garden Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Hi Jimmy,

What a great review.....we appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again....soon! And hopefully you'll get to meet my Dad on one of your visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Nice enough, bit bohemian, clean, quiet park like settingsetting but overall not good value for money relative to Hampton or other chains with reliable Wifi and other amenities. Provided good recommendations for dinner in the Armory.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupper Lake, N.Y.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We recently stayed at Ophelia's Labor Day weekend and it was a great experience. It was a convenient location to where our family lived, it was spacious, clean and very welcoming. Ophelia and Dave could not have been better hosts. Home cooked breakfast was delicious. We had the good fortune of being able to eat outside overlooking their beautiful yard and gardens and watching the dogs play. An added bonus was being able to sit outside on their portico reading my book and having a glass of wine with my family. This inn is a keeper!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frosty52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
1.9 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
439 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
2.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Syracuse Downtown at Armory Square
2.8 mi away
Hotel Skyler
Hotel Skyler
#5 of 31 in Syracuse
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ophelia's Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ophelia's Garden Inn

Property: Ophelia's Garden Inn
Address: 400 S Avery Ave, Syracuse, NY 13219-2617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1925 English country Estate sits on three acres surrounded by trees, gardens and a pond. Located on the edge of Tipperary Hill, the Inn is surrounded by parks....an arboretum across the street on one side, a golf course and zoo on the other side and the back side of a nine acre park. Although you feel like you are in the countryside, you are only six minutes from the heart of downtown Syracuse's Armory Square District. Bicyclists not only enjoy the safe keeping of their bikes in the spacious garage, but after a long day can find two outstanding restaurants within walking distance. This hidden gem is a great place to unwind, relax and take in the beauty that surrounds you. We cater to your special dietary needs. Come enjoy our Labor of Love. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing