We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for visiting Syracuse University”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great hotel for a visit to Syracuse University, located just on the edge of campus, and convenient to restaurants, coffee shops and highways. More pricey than other hotels I've stayed in nearby (and which also include breakfast; the Skyler does not), but I tried it after getting a good deal on hotels.com.
Unique lobby with stained glass windows from an old nearby church. The building itself was formerly both a temple and a theatre, and it holds an LEED platinum rating. Easy, free parking and free wi-fi.
King room was very comfortable and clean with a large walk-in shower, and included a mini-fridge. Some noise could be heard from adjoining rooms but it wasn't bad.
My main complaint was there was no set-up for making coffee or tea in the room, and no complimentary beverage center in the lobby. The lobby does have an attractive small bar where you can also purchase coffee/tea, but it seems standard almost everywhere now to include these items in the room or lobby.
Try Faegan's right up the street for lunch or dinner. A college bar, but with a cozy pub feel. Wonderful "white chili" and great burgers.CVS, Dunkin Donuts and Starbucks nearby also, as well as many other restaurants and college town eateries.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna06820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Donna06820,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear your stay was comfortable. We would like to mention that we offer complimentary coffee in the lobby until 9:00am and breakfast items available for purchase at the bar during morning hours. These items include; bagels, muffins, scones and hot breakfast sandwiches. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, and we had great room, very clean and safe. We had a great experience, free parking and wifi, but at $170 with no breakfast, it's kinda pricey compared to other options, will likely try another hotel before we come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBenninger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Mikebenninger,

We are very delighted to hear that your experience with Hotel Skyler was enjoyable. We have designed our rates to be comparable and are confident that they stand competitively with surrounding hotels. However, if you are interested in a breakfast feature that is included in the room rate, please look into our sister property, the Parkview Hotel, which does include a complimentary continental breakfast for all guests. We hope to see you again as our valued guest.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

First everyone that works in the hotel is super sweet and nice. My issues are the following: while I love the LEED platinum idea, certain things don't make sense:
Mu room's hotel's phone didn't work, so if there was an issue, you couldn't call the desk. The bathroom was super cold, and they didn't have basic things: Mouth wash, qtips, etc.. And no room service. Going again next week, let us hope better

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Victor C,

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor. We apologize for the phone issues as we did experience some technical interruptions from our provider during your stay, which has since been rectified. We have taken the items you were in need of, mouth wash & Q-Tips and will be adding them to our amenities. We look forward to your next visit with us so you can see these improvements.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Convenient location to SUNY Upstate medical center hospitals, campus buildings, SU campus, and several restaurants and other business establishments within walking distance. Room was spacious and clean, and staff was nice. Free fast wifi and gated parking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear zmah,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor! We hope to see you again on your next visit to our area.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Park your car in the lot and you can easily walk to just about anything at Syracuse University, SUNY ESF or Upstate Medical Ctr. There is a surrounding commercial district that is typical college town fare, but certainly vibrant. Other parts of the city (downtown / Destiny USA / Fairgrounds) require a short drive. This is a boutique-scale hotel. The small lobby bar is a comfortable place to have one drink while waiting to meet someone and there is a little convenience pantry, but otherwise you go out for food / drink. That is not really a constraint as plenty of choices w/in 5 minute walk. Rooms are modern, stylish and comfortable. Website pictures are fair representation of what you'll find. Unless I need a particular amenity not available here, if I'm in town for a University or medical ctr related purpose, I will always look here first. Convenient, comfortable, fairly priced and a little different... in a good way.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank njkvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear njkvr,

We are grateful to you for taking the time to share your review with us. We were happy to hear that you found our accommodations pleasing and the surroundings convenient. As you highlighted in this review, there are various features of Hotel Skyler that appeal to visitors of Syracuse. It is pleasant to receive feedback such as this and we thank you again. It will be a pleasure to serve you during your next visit to our area.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed one night a the Skyler. Got a great deal via hotel.com on our way to Philadelphia. Our room was HUGE. The staff was great. No breakfast, but there is a Bruegger's Bagel shop at a 2 minute walking distance. There is a nice little bar in the lobby, and plenty of stuff to buy (wine, juices, etc.)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Khalie,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Skyler as your traveling pit-stop. We certainty appreciate your kind remarks and are satisfied to know that we meet your needs well. We hope you find the chance to return for an extended visit and explore more of what Syracuse has to offer.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler

Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel was interesting in its architecture and layout. The room was a decent size. There was a bit of an odor like formaldehyde in the hall and room. The staff was...there. They did their job, but not much personality or enthusiasm. Fine location, especially to walk to the university.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayJay317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagement, Manager at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear KayJay317,

Thank you for your review. We apologize that the room was anything less than pleasurable for you. Our staff would gladly have moved your room to another area of the hotel and rectified the odor immediately. Please know that we thoroughly inspect all guest rooms and public space on a daily basis, and anything that needs attention is our priority. We hope to have you as our guest for a second visit.

Sincerely,

Hotel Skyler

Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#4 of 31 in Syracuse
524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.9 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#15 of 31 in Syracuse
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Address: 601 S Crouse Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210-1751 (Formerly Hotel Skyler)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range: £118 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've never been anywhere like Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton. In the serene and welcoming lobby, industrial minimalism meets soothing organic comfort. Retro and metro mingle cozily in one-of-a-kind guestrooms. From the moment you check in until you reluctantly say goodbye, you'll know you're somewhere special - somewhere designed to nurture the spirit and the planet. You're at Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, Syracuse's first LEED Platinum hotel. Every guest room has a safe, iron/ironing board, iHome clock radio, walk-in shower, flat-panel TV, HDTV, and free high-speed wired and wireless internet, refrigerator and desk. Start each day with a complimentary Artisan Style Breakfast served in the Main Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing