We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in an executive suite. The rooms are large and very clean. The executive suite has a small living area with a pull-out sofa, arm chair and desk. There are large TV's in both the bedroom and living areas. The bed was comfortable and bathroom quite spacious. Room contains a small kitchenette, however utensils are very minimal, so you can't actually cook. The hotel doesn't have any restaurant facilities, however there is a morning buffet breakfast. Chris the omlette chef is great and very friendly. The hotel does offer a room service though a few of the local restaurants. Sunday nights can be challenging as there isn't a heap open. The hotel also offers a small gym with minimal, but decent equipment.
Would look to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear Hayley D - Thank you for being our guest recently and taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again. Please feel free to reach out to me personally at anytime. Many thanks again. Kind regards, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed at the Jefferson Clinton in Syracuse over the new year on the way to and from New York City. The hotel is easy to find and not far off the highway which makes it an ideal overnight stop if you are road tripping (its also pretty close to Dinosaur BBQ which is a bonus).

The check in and check out process was quick and easy. The staff were friendly and efficient and overall the service was excellent.

The hotel itself is pretty retro and has a lot of funky 50's style fixtures. All of the rooms have been renovated and whilst they have a retro feel they have all the modern features. The beds were large and very comfortable. The range of cable channels, the free wifi and the big TVs were all nice touches. The bathrooms were spacious and clean but the baths and showers seemed to be showing their age a little bit. The only minor issues we had were that the heating took a little while to figure out and fire up and the rooms were a little dark at night.

We utilised the upgrade offer through the booking website and on check in were offered anther upgrade to an even better room for the same price. Breakfast was included in our room rate which represented excellent value for what we got.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear Greg M - We appreciate you being our guest and are grateful for the kind comments in the review. I pleased that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us and look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again. Kind regards, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I recently stayed at the Jefferson Clinton over the hoildays to attend a family function. Many members of the family stayed there. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. They made us all feel very comfortable. The breakfast bar was clean and fully stocked every morning. My room was clean, and comfortable, the bathroom very large and clean. I loved the style of the old hotel. My ONLY complaint is that there is only ONE elevator. It is used by staff and guests alike making it sometimes a long wait to get up or down. I suggest they retrofit in another for staff use. All in all, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to friends - but stay on lower floors!

Room Tip: Right in Armory Square - great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MASwamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear MASwamp,

Thank you very much for choosing The Jefferson Clinton Hotel for your visit to Syracuse, NY. We appreciate your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We are so happy to read your comments regarding our staff, breakfast and guestrooms! We too would love a 2nd elevator but due to the historic nature of our building it's just not possible.
We do hope you'll visit us again!

Warm Regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Amazing hotel. The staff was super friendly, they even ordered us pizza after a late night out. The rooms were clean, spacious.

The absolute best part of this hotel is the location. It's right in armory square which has a ton of great food and drink locations. You can have a night out on the town and walk back in just a few minutes. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbreger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear MBregar - Thank you for recently being our guest and taking the time to share your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a nice time in visiting all the great attractions in Armory Square. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.
Respectfully,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

This hotel is solid and quiet, but not stodgy. The staff is very friendly without being at all overbearing, and the management seems to have thought through what people today really want in a hotel and don't need. The price is moderate---not really cheap, but not too high. The breakfast is excellent, and there are a lot of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Michael A - Thank you for taking the time to say such nice things about your recent visit with us. We enjoyed having you as a guest and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We has such a wonderful stay at the Jefferson Clinton hotel. We arrived and there where scones and tea being served. They parked the car for us and we checked in in a matter of minutes. The room was very clean and quiet. It had a beautiful bathroom and nice linens, too. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful and the chef cooked whatever you wanted and served you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittyfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Kittyfink - Thank you for being our guest and spending your birthday with us! We are delighted that you enjoyed the tea time along with the rest of your stay. We hope that we have the chance to serve you again in the near future. Kind regards, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This is a very nice hotel located in downtown Syracuse and close to everything. The hotel price was reasonable in comparison to other hotels of the same quality.

We stayed here for my husband's 30th birthday celebration 12/15/2012 with several friends. The hotel is tastefully decorated and very clean. The front desk staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We also had experiences with the housekeeping/maintenance and wait staff(during the complimentary breakfast) and they were all prompt, courteous and professional.

I only have two complaints and the first one is not something the hotel can actually manage.
The noise level is quite high. Understand that you are in downtown Syracuse near all of the hotspots so there were a lot of drunk/loud people walking in the streets - for us this wasn't a problem because we were those people lol.

My second complaint was with the shower in the Euro Room. The shower itself was amazing. The evening we were there we used the shower and it was fantastic with the rain shower head and the extra shower heads - I didn't want to get out. The next morning however, we experienced hot and then ice cold water. About every 1-2 minutes the water would get ice cold for approximately 10 seconds and then warm back up - it was slightly annoying. We also had an issue with our toilet backing up but the maintenance staff came up immediately and fixed this. The front desk staff was great and provided us with a 25% discount on our room which was very reasonable in my opinion.

The beds are very comfortable!

I feel that the staff was extremely courteous and made every effort to make our stay comfortable and fixed our issues promplty. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend to others!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dear Stephanie M,

Thank you so much for being our guest and providing a review. Our staff will be so happy to read your review, they truly enjoy providing great service to our guests. We are looking into that Euro Shower problem and hope to have it resolved soon!.
Happy Birthday to your husband- 30 is fantastic!

Warm Regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#4 of 31 in Syracuse
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#15 of 31 in Syracuse
707 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Clinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Address: 416 S Clinton St, Syracuse, NY 13202-1221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Green Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £114 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Clinton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Clinton Hotel is located in Historic Armory Square, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, shopping, boutiques, museums and enjoyable evening entertainment. All of our rooms feature premium mattresses with triple sheeting, large televisions with premium channels and complimentary high speed and wireless internet access. Each guest receives our complimentary hot buffet breakfast with made-to-order omelets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jefferson Clinton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Clinton Syracuse
Hotel Jefferson Clinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing