We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good downtown hotel, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good downtown hotel, but expensive”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Jefferson Clinton hotel is well located in Syracuse Downtown (Armory square, just the other side on the MOST museum). It is easy to find and the hotel has a small parking (not enough places for all rooms. If you check in late, you could have some problem...maybe the hotel has some options, a public parking (not free) just beside). The room (a suite with a king bed for us) has a kitchen, but only the minimum stuff for eating (not really has cooking accessories). No pool and no fitness center. A computer with internet is accessible in the hall, free wifi is functionnal and breakfast seems good (not use, but was free with our room). Employees were friendly.

Negative notes: a little bit expensive for this kind of hotel, but it is the price to be in downtown at Syracuse. Also, the street side of the room could be noisy, if something happens in the street. We heard noises from the street, event on the 10th floor...but during the night, the street was calm and nothing disturbed us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aingell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Aingell,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am so sorry we didn't let you know about our amenities at check-in. We have more parking once our lot is full via our valet service. We also have a fitness center and lots of kitchen supplies that guests can borrow. We are happy you were able to enjoy a night without being disturbed. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    122
    16
    11
    3
See reviews for
94
138
20
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed in late April to visit a friend and explore some of the area of Syracuse.

The hotel was well appointed, comfortable bedding, relaxing environment.

The only problems were two things. The food service is rather limited, they don't have an on site restaurant and order food from nearby restaurants. It was more convenient for me to order food directly off grubhub on the internet than to go through the hotel's menu.

The only other issue is that noise travels very well in this hotel. There were at least 2 nights when someone was coming in late and talking in the hallway to someone else, and I could hear everything... This does not help when it's 2am.

Other than that. I recommend the place overall for those travelling.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordNeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear LordNeuf,

Thank you for choosing The Jefferson Clinton Hotel and leaving a review with Tripadvisor. I am so sorry about the noise you experienced during your stay with us. Thank you for your recommendation, we truly appreciate it.

Warm Regards,
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Jefferson Clinton Hotel has so many things going for it - location, great staff, and amazing attention to detail. Any place that offers a rubber duckie and a Kuerig in the kitchen is alright with me! We recently stayed here for three days while on a press tour for a client. The location was perfect - right in the heart of the happening Armory Square district. We were within easy walking distance of great restaurants and bars. The staff was very attentive and didn't bat an eye at odd requests - like when we needed curly ribbon at midnight on a Monday night. Craig went downstairs and brought back a selection of 6 color choices. No questions asked - scissors provided! The breakfast was delicious and I liked that I could get an omelet made to order each morning. Plus, they were rocking some pretty happening music videos 24/7 in the lobby. Our rooms were spacious and met our needs since we had to work at times as well as sleep. The one thing I didn't like was the lack of storage space in the bathrooms, but that can be forgiven when you have a full sized fridge and modified kitchen right in the room. The Wi-Fi was spotty at best, so that could certainly be improved.
This was a great experience overall and we look forward to staying with the Jefferson Clinton the next time our tour passes through Syracuse.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not on the street side to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stacey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Stacey S,

Thank you so much for being our guest and leaving such a nice review. We are happy you were able to enjoy our location and the amenities within the hotel. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff! We hope to see you again soon.

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Cant beat the location right down town and walk to armory square. Old hotel with one slow main elevator. Comfortable rooms not luxurious but very comfortable. One strange thing is windows in bathroom are a little "UN-Private". Did not bother me but thought it was weird. Breakfast was pretty good. Parking is an issue if you don't get back there before business rush. All in all if you are going to Syracuse and don't want rent car this is a great place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaroffB2, Front Office Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Scott237,

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location. With all it's restaurants and shops, Armory Square is certainly the place to be.

Be sure to take advantage of our complimentary valet service next time you are in town. We'd be happy to park your car for you!

Warm regards,
Bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, NY
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel one night after attending a concert at the nearby OnCenter. The parking lot is next to the hotel (included in the price of the room), my room was large and comfortable, the bathroom was larger than the typical hotel bathroom (as were the towels) and there was a tiny rubber ducky to welcome me. The breakfast downstairs included the usual, plus a lovely and talented chef making delicious omelets with an abundant choice of ingredients. A great way to start the day. Best of all, every person I encountered in the hotel was friendly and helpful (I needed walking directions to the theater and driving directions to Destiny USA).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaroffB2, Front Office Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Grandmajoan,

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to write such a kind review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be happy to accommodate you on your next trip to Syracuse!

Warm regards,
Bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

we recently stayed in this hotel while our daughter competed in a dance competition at the Landmark theater. The staff was outstanding and very helpful with suggestions on where to eat etc. The rooms were clean and spacious and the breakfast was outstanding! The made to order omelets were incredible. The complimentary valet parking was a great perk:) I would definitely stay here again. The only downfall was that there was only one elevator.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momoftwo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaroffB2, Front Office Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear momoftwo1969,

Thank you for being our guest and writing such a kind review here on TripAdvisor! We enjoyed having your group stay with us and are glad we could accommodate you during the competition.

We will be certain to pass your kind words on to our staff!

Warm regards,
Bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Well I booked a group of 33 and the experience was top notch from beginning to end! Stephanie was extremely helpful with booking the rooms and willing to be helpful in whatever way necessary. When we arrived the doors were held open for us, the staff was pleasant! They were able to register and hand out room keys quickly. They were helpful in letting us know where we could get late night eateries! The condition and ambiance of the Lobby was lovely and the rooms were just as lovely. Everyone was quite pleased with there accommodations, very clean and spacious, beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was better than expected! Omelets and sausages were made to order and a good variety of breads, muffins, yogurt, cereal and more! I had my group complete a survey and each person rated the hotel between 4-5! I will definitely be returning here!! Great Job Stephanie and Amanda!

CB

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lightandsaltevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaroffB2, Front Office Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear lightandsaltevents,

Thank you for booking your group with us and writing a review here on TripAdvisor. We thoroughly enjoyed having your guests stay with us and hope they enjoyed the show at the Landmark Theatre!

We will be happy to pass along your kind words to both our Sales Department and our staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
502 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Skyler
Hotel Skyler
#5 of 31 in Syracuse
349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
0.9 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#16 of 31 in Syracuse
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Clinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Property: Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Address: 416 S Clinton St, Syracuse, NY 13202-1221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Green Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Clinton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Clinton Hotel is located in Historic Armory Square, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, shopping, boutiques, museums and enjoyable evening entertainment. All of our rooms feature premium mattresses with triple sheeting, large televisions with premium channels and complimentary high speed and wireless internet access. Each guest receives our complimentary hot buffet breakfast with made-to-order omelets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jefferson Clinton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Clinton Syracuse
Hotel Jefferson Clinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing