We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Syracuse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Syracuse
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel for short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Red Roof Inn in Syracuse was good for an overnight stay with the family. It was clean and had the basic amenities required and the price was right as it was a bargain.

The rooms at the back are next to a highway and the doors are external, so if you are bothered by traffic noise, I would suggest asking for a room facing the front.

Staff were very friendly as well.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are next to a highway and the doors are external, so if you are bothered by tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crocantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. When they build our inns, they try to locate us close to the highways for convenience. However, I am not sure that the noise level is taken into consideration. If you are a light sleeper, than the front of the inn is a better location for you. But we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope to see you again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    180
    95
    23
    24
See reviews for
115
124
51
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Nothing bad to say about this hotel, it was nice and comfortable! At first I was leery about Red Roof Inn because I'm not a fan of motels but this turned out being the best hotel stay I've had in a long time!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ayebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We always enjoy getting feedback from our customers. So, I would like to Thank You for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that exceeded your expectations. We strive to give our customers clean, comfortable rooms, at affordable prices, and it seems that we have been able to do just that for you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My new husband does a cross country drive each fall; he stays in Red Roof Inns because they are clean and budget-conscious. This inn--near the Syracuse Airport--was fine. It was clean and comfortable, and the price was right. We were on vacation, but we flew into Syracuse to avoid the expense of flying into Canada. We needed to rent a car anyway for our Canada experience, so flying into Syracuse saved us money. Back to Red Roof: I have no complaints about our room. But Red Roof splashes the message that all their rooms are totally smoke free. When we went to check out next morning, all the workers (maids and clerks) were clustered in an area three feet across from the entrance, puffing away. It was disgusting, gross, and smelly, I realize that they were not smoking in any of the rooms, but I found the smoke free advertising ironic. The experience made me re-think whether I will ever choose Red Roof again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. At the Red Roof Inn Syracuse, our rooms are 100% smoke free. Therefore, we are pleased to know that you did enjoy your room with no issues. As for the smoking on the grounds, I am very sorry that you had to encounter this. However, we are in the process of discussing the implementation of a designated smoking area on the premises. So, that our non-smoking guests, do not have to encounter situations such as these. Again, I do apologize, and we do hope that you will give us another chance to meet your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

There was mixed reviews for this place, and I hestitated a little bit, however, I'm glad I decided to give it a try. Yup...its not the Waldof, however, it was clean, and very spacious. I got a great rate compared to other hotels in the area. Now understand, this does not have coffee makers in the room or other devices, nor does it have a great breakfast, but I thought it was really good value for the money. I was going to the airport in the morning and this place was about 5 minutes away. You could stay closer, or even at the airport, but you will pay double. I thought for the lack of a coffee maker, a hair dryer and an ironing board......I'll take the half price room.

Room Tip: the rooms are huge but very dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us in Syracuse. At the present time, we do not offer a breakfast at our inn. However, we do offer coffee and tea in the lobby area 24 hours a day, and there are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. At the Red Roof Inn, we strive to give our customers clean, comfortable rooms, at reasonable prices. So, it is encouraging to know that we succeeded during your stay. At the present time, we do offer a Superior King room that has a coffee maker in the room, as well as a hair dryer, iron, ironing board, microwave and mini refrigerator. So, it is available if that is more suitable to your needs. On that note, please know that we do have some items available at the front desk, upon request as well. We look forward to seeing you on your future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
161 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I used to live in Syracuse, so know my way around. If you're there to visit SU or downtown, but of a drive, not that convenient. Front desk clerk was very helpful, value quite good. I've stayed here before and am comfortable here. But mostly just come back to sleep. Clean, quiet. Location drags it down a bit, and could use a bit of sprucing. Otherwise, might give it 4 for personal taste, but think a three with no real complaints is fair for a first-time visitor.

Room Tip: Fairly consistent throughout on noise. Staff good about giving you a room "away" from othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We really appreciate when our guests share their feedback with us. It is essential in our learning process, and in growing our business. It's nice to know that we can make you feel comfortable while you are away from home. We are actually only 15 minutes from the Syracuse University area, and 10 minutes from Downtown Syracuse, and the Destiny USA Mall. We take pride in giving our guests clean and comfortable rooms. So, it's nice to know that we have achieved our goal during your recent stay. We do hope that you will visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is simple, well locate with easy access to highway and Syracuse University. The room could have use a little bit more detail cleaning but overall it was clean. The rooms look like they were recently updated. The front desk staff was helpful and very nice.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suhail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We were happy to read your positive comments about the look of our hotel after our renovations, as well as the service that was provided to your by our staff members. We take pride in the quality of our hotel and in delivering the highest level of service. I see that you were in to visit the University area. We do hope that the next time that you are in the Syracuse area, that you will take the time to see some of the other places that our area has to offer. Like Destiny USA Mall, Green Lakes State Park, or maybe just some of the excellent dining establishments in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel seems recently renovated.

We had a superior king on the third floor that was very clean, comfortable and spacious for the walk in price ($65+tax).

Wifi worked well.

Free parking.

A good option when stopping along the thruway in Syracuse. If they are full there are a few other hotels near by.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HojasRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red157, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Syracuse, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Syracuse. We were actually renovated in 2013, and we work very hard, every day, to keep the rooms in top running order. We are happy to hear that you tried one of our Superior King rooms with the in room coffee, large work space, and small microwave and refrigerator. They are our premium rooms, and honestly the best value. We are conveniently located off of the NY State Thruway, for people that are just passing through. However, we are also just minutes from Syracuse University, Downtown Syracuse, and the Destiny USA Mall for shopping. We hope that next time you visit us, that you will have more time to see the sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
#20 of 31 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
3.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Syracuse

Property: Red Roof Inn Syracuse
Address: 6614 Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206-1318
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Syracuse
#10 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Syracuse 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Syracuse is the commercial and cultural hub of central New York State, and Red Roof Syracuse is convenient to so many Syracuse attractions! LeMoyne College, Hancock International Airport, and SUNY Health Sciences are within 10 minutes; the Amtrak Station and Carousel Center are 10 miles from the hotel, and Rosamond Gifford Zoo, Syracuse University, and the Carrier Dome are all within 15 miles. Red Roof Syracuse is within minutes of a shopping mall and many restaurants. The friendly staff ensures guests feel confident, significant, and delighted. Red Roof Syracuse is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. All rooms offer free WiFi and a flat screen TV.. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Syracuse Hotel Syracuse
Syracuse Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing