We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“College Town Eatery” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delmonico's Italian Steak

Delmonico's Italian Steak
Ranked #11 of 681 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grantham, NH
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“College Town Eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was a typical college town restaurant, busy, noisy and not conducive to having any conversation at dinner. Service was very pleasant and efficient, drinks were ample, but the food was less than average. Will definitely find a different eatery for our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank edwaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    98
    34
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was just a stop off on the way home to Canada. We stayed at the Holiday Inn near the restaurant. We went there on a Thursday night. I was so pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and the service was outstanding, for me anyway. The steak was very , very, very good. They even gave us a bottle of there steak rub to take home, which was a very nice touch. I highly recommend this place for the quality and quantity of the food , at a great price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Going Downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This restaurant used to be my favorite. Every Xmas my 2 children each would give us a gift certificate for Delmonico's. In the past 2 years they have raised their prices almost 40% and the quality of food and service has declined dramatically. In a recent visit,we arrived at 5:15 and were promptly seated.. I ordered the 24 oz. Delmonico which has always been my favorite. The price had increased to $21.99. We also ordered the Antipasto for 2. Before we had eaten half our antipasto,the entrees arrived. I spent half my time cutting the fat and grizzle of my steak and it amounted to almost half of the steak. The waiter asked how everything was and I expressed my displeasure. He promptly offered to get me another steak and I tried to refuse because I didn't want any more. He insisted and the manager also came to our table and apologized and insisted on giving me another steak. Well when it arrived,it was just as bad as the first one. All fat and grizzle. I believe they have downgraded the quality of beef and raised the prices as my son,who is a kitchen manager explained that a lower grade of meat can be had at a much cheaper price. I informed the children that I no longer wanted the gift certificates for Xmas because 2 out of our last 3 visits to Delmonico's were bad experiences.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Party Success”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Delmonico's was very accommodating for a surprise party with a large group for dinner. Our wait staff was terrific and everyone loved their meals. The served the cake I provided which is something you don't find most places, We often go there when we visit and I have yet to find a comparable restaurant in NC where we live. Awesome hospitality , food and fun all around. Thank You Delmonico's

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redbarns10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Visited Delmonico's back in May. It was during the week so it was not that busy. It was earlier too. The service was really good. I got a steak which was a good portion and my girl got the chicken marsala which was also really good. Overall we really liked it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delmonico's Italian Steak also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Delmonico's Italian Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing