We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yikes, You Didn't Really Do That!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morgan's of Syracuse

Morgan's of Syracuse
Ranked #108 of 681 Restaurants in Syracuse
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
El Paso, Illinois
Level Contributor
270 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Yikes, You Didn't Really Do That!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We went to Morgan's at the recommendation of the owner of the B&B where we were staying. Arrived around 7:30 to a packed house as it was Syracuse homecoming weekend. We were told there would be about a twenty minute wait so we went to the packed bar for a drink, snagged some chairs and saw the bar tender take a napkin and wipe off the edges of a mustard dip bowl that other folks had used and place it back on the bar for us to use with the pretzels she poured into the bowl. Yuck.
In the dining room our meal was mediocre, mainly due to fish that was overlooked, a waitress who was hard to locate, never smiled, and never refilled our water glasses. We understand that the place was busy, but we watched other waitstaff smile and provide good service. We also wondered about the quality of our food having witnesses what happened in the bar area.
Bottom line, we would never return!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cabdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    8
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great comfort food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

It was around 7:45 pm sunday night when we walked in. They were very nice to let us in and eat, which we assumed that they prob had stopped talking order for the night. The bread was freshly warm baked. The food was great, more like a home made comfort food. We had meatloaf which was good (this one was without ketchup on the top), sunday special pork loin. chicken wings and chicken tenders. We don't see any kids' menu, but chicken wings and tenders (appetizers) worked for our kids. The salad (mixed of iceberg and spinach) was fresh, not any bad leaves or anything. The portion was quite generous, there were so much leftover.

The dining room has a tray ceiling with fire place, very nice decorated. It reminds us of Glen Loch (closed now). The waitress was very nice, checked on us several times.

We definately would come back. A very nice place, which comes totally a surprise to us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmiggiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“WORST service ever!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Went to Morgan's to dinner last night & can say we will never go back. After being seated, we waited 25 minutes before we even got water at our table. There were 5 waitresses on staff and not one acknowledged we were even sitting there. It took someone at another table to tell the hostess that we hadn't even gotten water & the hostess was the one to get us some. Another 10 minute wait before our waitress came to take our order! Which by the way, was the same waitress that had walked past our table 12 different times (yes...we counted!). When she finally came over, my boyfriend asked if he could substitute he soup for the salad & pay an up charge. Waitress nastily said NO. Her loss...we were prepared to order two appetizers, our dinners and dessert- would have been a nice bill/ tip had we been treated better. We ended up just getting our dinners (which were very good), left a couple dollars for a tip & went elsewhere for dessert. *I gotta say...all of the wait staff looked extremely miserable! If they hate their jobs so much, they really need to find another line of work! I have been a waitress myself, and never have I let a customer wait so long for acknowledgement and I ALWAYS greater everyone with a smile like I'd known them for years!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Parkay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Horrible Easter Dinner with BAD Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We went here with 10 people for dinner tonight and I have to say that it really was HORRIBLE. The "special" menu sucked and the food was awful. The turkey dinner was gross and the stuffing was as hard as a rock. The seafood bisque tasted like dish soap and the salads had rotten lettuce. The pork dinner was equally horrible according to other people at our table. All of the food was cold when we got it and looked like unappetizing mush. Our server was as snotty as can be, and this is NOT a kid friendly place as the kids choices included lamb, turkey, and ham. Most kids like pasta, grilled cheese, and etc, LOL. NEVER will we ever step foot in this hole in the wall again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cuserestaurantguru73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Made reservations for 6pm and wasn't seated until 630pm with half the dining room empty... Service was sub-par and food was mediocre at best... My French onion soup had slices of onions so large that they couldn't stay on the spoon which shows that it was lazily prepared... I ordered the stacked meatloaf that was a "signature" dish... It was at the same caliber as Golden Corral... Very disappointed...

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morgan's of Syracuse also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Morgan's of Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing