We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive hotel with an incredibly loud first floor in the morning”
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The hotel was charming, obviously renovated fairly recently. The walls were not insulated enough and we could hear everything that happened outside the door. It was awful. Maybe it is better on the upper levels but the first floor delivered the worst sleep of my life with all the banging, etc finally culminating in the housekeeping staff knocking on the door at 10 to 8 in the morning.. No I do not want housekeeping at that time in the morning on my vacation.
The free parking was nice and the location was decent although it is necessary to walk under an overpass and you might not want to walk from the old district at night, although the neighbourhood didn't seem too bad. There is a good restaurant right next door: The Strongheart Cafe.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BW_McCullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagment, Front Office Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2010

Thank you for noticing the recent renovations to The Parkview Hotel. We are centrally located to many area attractions including Syracuse University, down town, major highways, and Carousel Mall. All of your concerns are important to us and we are always working to improve our guest's experience and satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2010

I had a meeting to attend to in Crowne Plaza Hotel and the rooms were all booked so the one closest to the conference was this one. I had reservations when I booked this hotel. It turned out that the room was good and the restroom looks cute and has a country style theme. The front desk personnels are very courteous and friendly. Wish all other hotel's front desk can be like them. Room was a bit pricey ($150 including tax) but one can get it at a cheaper price if there are no events perhaps. Bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moistfruitcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagment, Front Office Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2010

Our staff at The Parkview Hotel takes great pride in their ability to make a difference in someone's day. Whether that means directing a guest to nearby attractions, accomodating special requests, or simply providing service with a smile; we always do our best to make our guests feel at home. The guest experience is what makes our hotel stand out from the rest. Thank you for your kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Stayed one night on a stop on a road trip. Got the room for $65 on Priceline. The locaton is downtown. They have a private parking lot with free parking. The rooms are suites and nicely sized. Beds were very comfortable. Internet was provided free and was fast. They entire hotel looks freshly remodeled. They have a decent fitness room and a nice coffee shop downstairs. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BergholzTimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagment, Front Office Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2010

Hidden gem is a flattering compliment to our hotel. We thank you for taking time out of your day to share your positive experience with us and travelers alike. We would like to invite you to return anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Location: Bit of a grey area downtown. Shady surroundings at night. Not much to do or walk to in the surrounding area. Right off the highway.

Price: $60 three-and-a-half-star Priceline weekend rate.

Parking: Free, in the back.

Restaurant: Cafe-style. Reasonably priced cereal/toast/bagel/juice/milk/fruit.

Gym: Tiny room with 2 treadmills & couple of other machines. No swimming pool.

Room: Reasonable size. Bathroom layout is cramped. Bit dusty. Free WiFi on the main floor.

Decor: Very dated and old school. Hard to navigate through some of the hallways.

Overall: Pick another hotel, there's a lot better available in town!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bukwaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This hotel is located in core downtown Syracuse. But honestly the environment around there is not that good. We went in mid Aug; maybe it is summer, the area looked so quiet and you don't really want to walk around outside (and not much to see there). The positive thing is, there is a free parking at the back of the hotel.

In terms of room quality, it is clean and the room that I stayed was spacious. However, not much view there as it is surrounded by buildings. Also, the free Wifi there sucks in my room because it kept dropping signals. The bath room is weird too. There is no bath tub so after shower, water actually ran into the floor of our room. Ladies would also hate the fact that there is no counter space around the bathroom mirror for their makeups etc. In general, the room was comfortable so with the above factor, I gave it an average.

The hotel in general is good for the price that I paid. So I still recommend this.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaugaBuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

we went on a shopping trip. this hotel has a good location but is of the older style of accomodation. the coffee shop at the hotel is excellent and reasonably priced with some healthy choices on the menu.the only complaint was the noise factor. please avoid getting the room at the back door stairs near the parking lot. all night the door slammed shut and it was difficult to sleep. the price was good especially since we bid on priceline but in future i think we would stay at the nicer newer hotel just down the block for a little higher price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagment, Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2010

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed Stefon's Cafe. We would like take the opportunity to welcome you to our sister property the Genesee Grande Hotel next time you are in the area.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed two nights in this lovely boutique hotel while our daughter stayed with her cousin in a dorm on campus, so it became a nice little getaway for my husband and I.

I particularly like the scale of this hotel, not too big, not too small. It has been very well thought out in its' design, with a large, comfortable lobby area and easy access to the elevator. The check-in counter is a little abrupt as you enter through the front door. Apparently this allows for more space for the sweet, little cafe which serves a light breakfast, lunch and dinner items. The menu has light sandwiches, paninis and breakfast sandwiches. They also serve wine by the glass. We had brought our own bottle and they were more than welcome to uncork it for us. The woman who buys the wines was there that nigh,t and being familiar with the wine I was opening, she struck up a conversation and offered me a taste of another wine that she serves and thought I might like. It was delicious! If you haven't brought your own, I would highly recommend their petit sirah.

Our room, on the fourth floor, was an upgrade "because they ran out of kings". It was spacious with a kitchenette, table and chairs. Everything was spotless and tastefully decorated. What I love the most about this place is that, like a boutique hotel, the furnishings are not generic like the large hotel chains. They are all so well thought out. Although we had no view, there was plenty of light. Our room had four windows. The bathroom shower had a double head which I really liked, and a rack inside the tub area on which to hang wet towels without having them drip all over the floor.

Normally the first thing I do when I enter a room is remove the bedspread because they're almost never washed. Ours was so clean and white. I flipped it over and decided to leave it on the bed since it was a lightweight cushy coverlet. There was a flat screen TV and a good sized closet with an ironing board and iron. I only wish there had been more hangers.

As I had brought my own yogurt on the trip, the small refrigerator in the kitchen was a nice surprise. The cupboard was stocked with everything you would need to cook including some beautiful plates and bowls.

The hallways were not cavernous and impersonal as many hotels are. The elevator was quiet and fast. Parking located in the back of the building can be easily accessed from the back door so your luggage is in and out. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Syracuse. This may become a habit if our daughter gets into school here.

Be sure to visit the Everson Museum built by I.M. Pei. It's small and manageable. Not only do they have a wonderful collection but the building itself is a work of art.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank CrimeinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagment, Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Thank you for taking your time to write such an extensive review on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to read your wonderful remarks. We are delighted to have you as our guest and hopefully your daughter will choose to attend Syracuse University so that we will see you on your future visits to the area.

Sincerely,

The Parkview Hotel
Staff & Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
468 reviews
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#13 of 31 in Syracuse
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#16 of 31 in Syracuse
437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: 713 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1505
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £78 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete Property Upgrade Complete as of March 1, 2013! Hot breakfast now included!Chic downtown Syracuse NY hotel. Those three words just go together, don't they? Here are three more words: The Parkview Hotel. This is contemporary meets art-deco; funky meets comfortable, and the end result is a boutique hotel atmosphere where you feel just fine about kicking off your shoes and relaxing. Once you check in, you're not going to want to leave any time soon. All rooms and suites are equipped with complimentary upgraded WIFI internet access, speaker phones with voicemail, digital cable, flat-screen LCD televisions, and a really comfortable bed! Just completed, new in-room window treatments, ergonomic chairs and bedding package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Syracuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing