We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Zoo, variety of animals, indoor and out!”

Rosamond Gifford Zoo
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
syracuse,ny
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Zoo, variety of animals, indoor and out!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This zoo is great, we go 2-4 times a year. Open in winter, which is great too! Tons of renovations were ongoing summer 2013, so summer 2014 should have some nice improvements!

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    249
    73
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Wow!! When I saw the entrance building from outside, I didn't thought that such small zoo had a lot of animal kinds. Also it was amazing, they had nice landscape with good paths. Finally I was glade that i stopped their. Didn't forgot to drink hot chocolate their in cold weather.

Visited October 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tonawanda, New York
2 reviews
“wedding”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

attended a wedding reception. it was wonderful. during the cocktail hour the building was opened for visiting and the food at the wedding was great

Visited October 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Small but unique experience”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We went to this Zoo on Halloween Wknd and they were having a "BooZoo" event. For $8 extra you received a map where you went around the zoo collecting candies, glowing bracelets, tattoos etc. as well as participate in a dance party and meet characters. We didn't participate as we came from Toronto and were not in costume nor did we need anymore junk food, but it was a great idea for the younger kids and seemed very popular with the locals. It was $24 for the 4 of us which was vey reasonable. It is a smaller zoo, well laid out and we did it in 2hrs. It had some unique features that my kids really liked. The lions are very up close and they were walking right along the glass window watching the people and looking right into your eyes they were so close which was pretty fascinating (it did say they are off exhibit during cold weather) as well as the tigers are close as well. Due to its size it didn't need any transportation, or seem to have any shows except meet the keeper, no playground or splashpad for summer and had one main restaurant and a few little vendors. It has a nice mix of outdoor exhibits and indoor. Overall my opinion comes from my kids who are the best critics and they seemed to really love it and didn't feel they were missing out on anything. It is not even a half day outing. For the price it was a nice couple of hours.

Visited October 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchung, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Trip!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Zoo has some great animals, and exhibits. I took a trip there alone to take some pictures, and I really had some great photos!

Visited May 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosamond Gifford Zoo also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing