We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everson Museum - Devolved From Avant-garde To Old Fogey”

Everson Museum of Art
Ranked #16 of 68 things to do in Syracuse
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ceramics are one of the specialities at this art museum.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Everson Museum – Devolved From Avant-garde To Old Fogey”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I hadn’t visited the Everson Museum is two score years; since the wild-n-wooly heyday of Director Jim Harithas’ reign in the early 70s.
The wonderful physical structure by I.M. Pei still looks muscular and new but the mood inside has devolved from a haven for the avant-garde to a staid venue for old fogey exhibits.
From a Yoko Ono shock-fest retrospective in October 1971 to the show I saw in June titled “An American Look: Fashion, Decorative Arts & Gustav Stickley” are worlds apart aesthetically and sums up the changes the Everson has gone through philosophically.
We’ve all gotten older, but Everson’s switch to the staid depresses me.
That said, it does have a comprehensive and topnotch ceramics collection. Well worth seeing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank DiceyEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    23
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant Faceted Gem”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

As a new resident of the area, we decided to check out the Everson Museum for a specific exhibit "The History of Video Games." We thoroughly enjoyed that exhibit and were pleasantly surprised of the permanent collections of American Art and Pottery. There is a hands-on area for children young and old which was fun to work with clay and "display" the work of art you made for the day. The gift shop is small but adequate. We were there for about 3 and a half hours perusing the collections. A very nice day being cultural!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyFamily07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“festival of trees”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

this has to be one of the best holiday celebrations around while supporting a great cause-the museum. this was our 4th or 5th time around, and we always find multiple holiday pieces to purchase that are beautiful while supporting a great cause. the trees et al and decor are beautiful and the food and drink offered coupled with the holiday atmosphere are great. very hard to leave there without purchasing a holiday piece.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great place for people who love ceramics”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Everson is famous for their ceramic collection and the prize piece that was stolen and thankfully recovered. Their collection of paintings have a few gems but it's rather limited in scope. They are also best known for hosting an exhibit of Yoko Ono's back in the early 70s. John Lennon was there and I got to meet him. He actually said hi to me. That's about it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PainterManSyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Some Good Art, But Many Exhibits Closed”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My son and I went for a visit and enjoyed the art that was featured there. Unfortunately, a few exhibits were closed, including one of the featured exhibits that was supposed to be open for another week. The woman at the desk said she didn't know why, but it was closed early to prepare for the next one.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gayle923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Everson Museum of Art also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Everson Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing