We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit out of the way, but nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A little bit out of the way, but nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel appears to be out in the boonies, although it is quite close to the fairgrounds (but not as the name implies right beside it), and not too far from the mall oro downtown if you take the highway. The staff were friendly, and the front desk very helpful. Breakfast was pretty good with an automatic pancake maker . Rooms were clean and well appointed. Comfortable beds, and pillows. Overall a nice relaxing stay. The only pet peeve i have is they have posters everywhere telling guests to rate them a 10 if the guest gets a survey from the headoffice (really this is annoying and leaves me with a bad impression.)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cashmra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Cashmra,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast, beds, and service while at our hotel. It is always nice to hear when guests have an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    107
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
132
47
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoneham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I would stay again (i wouldnt seek it out, but, i'd have no problems staying here again). The hotel is fine. Clean and orderly, the staff friendly and helpful. Fitness room is a couple of cardio machines awkwardly placed. There is NOTHING else close by except Quaker Steak and Lube.It is near the highway and close enough to the Fairgraounds and downtown? (Why the property mgr selected this location is a mystery.) There is no restaurant in the hotel so if you're good making due with toast and cereal and pastry and warmed up eggs and bacan/sausage the breakfast is just fine. Coffee 24 hours is very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Jeff,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoed your stay and hope to see you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here the Aug. 17th-18th. The front desk upon arrival was very courteous and helpful. The room was clean and quite spacious. We had a great lunch at The Quaker State Lube rest./bar. We were not quite sure of getting to a few places but the front desk was very helpful with directions and maps. A special thankyou to Danielle. She was great! The morning breakfast was a very nice surprise with all it had to offer. This place may not be in the heart of everything but do not let that keep you away. We would return in a heartbeat. Thankyou so much to everyone at the Holiday Inn. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Randy,

Thank you very much for your kind words and 5 star review. We will be sure to share with the entire team. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Island, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here after having car trouble late at night, ladies at the front desk gave us a great rate. Looks brand new. Danielle assisted us in the morning line up a taxi and a rental car. Rooms are very clean. Pool area is very clean, and looks brand new. Nice hot tub, nice pool. Free breakfast!!! Kids loved the pancake machine. I loved the free tea. Free coffee too. Kitchen is spotless.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet, nice clean shower and sinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_look_like_Frenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear we were able to help you out with your car troubles and that you enjoyed the room, breakfast, and hot tub. We will be sure to share your review with Danielle and the rest of the team. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have to admit the staff at this location were friendly, which would probably be the only reason we'd return. The room was standard-decent for our family. However, at night, when it rained, there was a leak in the window sill which resulted in a torturous dripping noise. Burying our heads in the terrible pillows (someone else had mentioned to bring your own) didn't help. We tried for hours to fix/ignore it, but finally had to place a hand towel in the sill to stop the unbearable noise. This is expected in a leaky tent, but not in a hotel. The front desk said they'd have maintenance look at it, which was fine, but we already had checked-out. Again, the breakfast attendant was lovely, but the offerings were less than special. The eggs were tough and rubbery, probably because they were mass produced. Coffee and tea in the morning always tastes better in mugs/cups, which wasn't available. Overall adequate, but not fully satisfying.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sohail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Ottawa Family,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your interactions with the staff during your stay with us. Thank you for letting us know about the window at check out. We were able to have maintenance correct the problem immediately. I apologize for the inconvenience this caused you overnight. We have also noted your comments regarding breakfast and will work to improve there as well. Please feel free to ask the breakfast attendant for a mug next time and we will be happy to provide you with one. Again, thank you for your business and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Staff was extremely helpful. Special thanks to Danielle who made sure we had directions to the places we wanted to visit. Very clean rooms!!!! The breakfast area was very nice and there were lots of options. Great to be able to get a cup of coffee anytime. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Kim,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms and breakfast options availible. We will be sure and give Danielle a copy of your kind words. Thanks again and see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed here as part of a package deal connected to KROCKATHON taking place at the fairgrounds. Everything went without a hitch. Shuttles were set up for us to and from the venue and our late arrival did not become a problem. The room was perfect for 4 people and for a rock event the hotel was quiet. Breakfast the next morning was great and all of the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Tina,

We are glad to hear you had a good time at our hotel for KROCKATHON! It is a great event and we are happy to hear that you found the package deal to be easy and enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
6.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
7.8 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Property: Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
Address: 6946 Winchell Rd, Syracuse, NY 13164-9741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinning Ferris wheels, hot funnel cakes and big name performers like Maroon 5 & Train are waiting for you at the Great New York State Fair, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express® Syracuse - Fairgrounds Hotel in Warners, NY. Our hotel's convenient location off I-90 and quick access to I-690 means commuting in and out of the city is a breeze. If you're a business traveler looking for hotels near Syracuse, NY with meeting space, we have an event room that accommodates 50 and a boardroom that seats 10. Corporate guests also appreciate that we're close to Lockheed Martin, Sysco Food Services and Anheuser-Busch. A Business Center with copy, print and PC capabilities is provided, as well. In addition to being just four miles from the state fairgrounds, we're near Onondaga Lake Park, which is a great destination for those who love the outdoors. For those who prefer to shop, Carousel Center Mall is close by and Waterloo Premium Outlets are a short drive from Warners, NY. Our hotel's location also has easy access to Empire Expo Center, downtown Syracuse and Armory Square. While you stay at our hotel's facility near Syracuse, NY, you'll enjoy amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and an indoor pool and spa. Each morning, you can enjoy a free, hot breakfast, as well, at the Express Start Breakfast Bar. Call today and let us help you plan your next trip to this beautiful area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds Hotel Syracuse
Wingate Hotel Syracuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing