We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, adequate rooms. Location not that great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Clean, adequate rooms. Location not that great.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is pretty much what you expect from a Holiday Inn Express (HIE) in terms of cleanliness and efficient stay for a reasonable price.

Location
It is about 15 minutes drive from downtown Syracuse. But it is in the middle of nowhere. No restaurants nearby, apart from a Buffalo wings joint. The hotel is in front of vacant lots and unused warehouses. The whole surroundings are very much rundown and unattractive.

Amenities
Nice size swimming pool. The fitness room was small even for HIE standards. I had better breakfasts at other HIE properties. Good coffee but limited selection of items. No cream cheese for the bagels and a pancake machine that doesn’t deliver.

Overall a reasonable budget alternative but with some downsides.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smertios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Smertios,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for writing us a candid review. While we are pleased that you found our pool area nice, it is regrettable that the hotel location was a letdown and breakfast options were not at par. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of products and services provided.

We have taken note of your feedback and will be used to focus on improving guest satisfaction. We look forward to serving you again on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    117
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
137
54
13
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was the most odd location of any Holiday Inn Express we've stayed at...in the middle of a field and no signs to get there! But once you arrive, it's everything you'd expect :) The staff were very friendly and they are pet friendly but at quite a cost..$50 (most are $25)..phew! The rooms were comfortable and clean but the TV selection is poor and the bathroom fan didn't work. We'd still recommend without a doubt! Gotta try the restaurant down the "path" too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham, New Hampshire, United States
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I'm not sure where to begin, as I have always made HI Express my number one hotel, due to it's consistent properties wherever I travel. My son and I stayed here as a halfway point to Niagara Falls, and the reviews seemed good. I'll start with the positives - quiet location (a bit out of the way, which was OK), clean facility/room, and comfortable beds. We did have an adjoining room, with a snoring neighbor, so try to avoid that type of room if possible. The main issue I had was with the morning breakfast, which has always been a good experience. First of all, they ran out of eggs, as well as cinnamon buns, and the remaining selections were very sparse - not many muffins, bagels or bread, and I do not believe there was any fruit. Secondly, we were very surprised when 5 of the workman/landscapers came barreling in the front door, and were allowed to eat from the breakfast buffet. They pretty much decimated the remaining food, which I felt was extremely unfair to the paying guests. I've never seen that happen at any other HI Express. Lastly, when they ran out of knives, one of the staff members took out a box from under the counter, and one of the workman reached his hand in the box, and restocked the empty jar on the breakfast counter! I was very unhappy about that, since I did not see any of them wash their hands after coming in the front entrance. I strongly believe that the breakfast buffet should only be for the paying guests, and outside workers should not be allowed to eat from that area. I've worked in similar situations, and the workers were always fed in another area. As a loyal HI Express Priority Club member, I certainly hope the management makes some changes based on this review, although I will most likely not stay here again on my next trip through the area. If you do stay here, my suggestion would be to go somewhere outside of the hotel for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, not an adjoining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi Dave,

Thanks so much for your review! I am glad we get the opportunity to respond to you. We are so happy to hear you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. We also apologize that some items appeared to be out of stock on our breakfast bar. I can assure you that no employees are eating our breakfast, and in fact, we don't have a landscaping or working crew. We do have many customers that stay at our hotel that are currently working on local construction projects. They stay with us all summer and the staff knows them well. That may be what you witnessed at our breakfast. I will take some time and speak to them and our team about appropriate behavior in the breakfast area but please rest assure that everyone at our breakfast is a paying guest.

Sincerely,
John Tees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkirk, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is a little hard to find but it is a great place to stay! Very clean and comfy bed and pillows. Very nice breakfast in the morning. Just a short distance to the fairgrounds. Enjoyed the pool area and the lobby. The staff was very helpful with questions we had about shopping and eating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Easy check-in, lovely room with comfy bed and pillows, desk area, microwave and frig. Flat screen TV. Not very many channels though. Business center, pool, and fitness center available. Nice lobby area and good breakfast.
10 mins to SU campus, Dinosaur BBQ, etc.
Very close to the Fairgrounds.
I would go there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great hotel for my one night stay on the college tour circuit. It really is in the middle of nowhere but its a clean, well run hotel. The room was perfect, the front desk was very helpful with questions and the breakfast buffet was always restocked and was exceptionally clean. For those visiting Syracuse University, its less than 15 minutes away and the room rate is far less than you will pay in town. There is also a walkway to the Quaker Steak and Lube restaurant next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morbo284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here July 4th weekend on a girls shopping trip. The room was nice, it looked as if it was hastly furnished. It didn't have a good use of space, there was a tiny chair in a big corner, but thats not all that important. We reserved a jr suite and it was supposed to come with a couch but they didn't have any rooms with couches so we settled. Good thing we didn't mind sharing beds. Everything else was fine, the breakfast was great as usual, its pretty much the reason we always stay at a Holiday Inn Express. Our first night we stayed, we left to get dinner and since it was raining it made our key to the back entrance not work properly. Luckily the hotel staff heard us fiddling with the door and opened it up for us. It was a bit odd that rain would do this but ok, we got it reprogrammed and moved on.
The hotel on the 4th floor, the wifi is very bad. Unless we sat beside the door, we had little to no wifi signal. We were a bit upset over this because we had planned to use the wifi as a means to communicate with family but we were unable to.

The hotel is at a great location, about 10 minutes from Destiny USA shopping and 30-40 minutes from the Waterloo Outlets. We would stay here again, but maybe not on the 4th floor unless they did something to improve their wifi.

Room Tip: Higher floors have poor wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
6.4 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites - Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Fairgrounds
Comfort Inn Fairgrounds
#22 of 32 in Syracuse
117 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western The Inn At The Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Property: Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
Address: 6946 Winchell Rd, Syracuse, NY 13164-9741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinning Ferris wheels, hot funnel cakes and big name performers like Maroon 5 & Train are waiting for you at the Great New York State Fair, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express® Syracuse - Fairgrounds Hotel in Warners, NY. Our hotel's convenient location off I-90 and quick access to I-690 means commuting in and out of the city is a breeze. If you're a business traveler looking for hotels near Syracuse, NY with meeting space, we have an event room that accommodates 50 and a boardroom that seats 10. Corporate guests also appreciate that we're close to Lockheed Martin, Sysco Food Services and Anheuser-Busch. A Business Center with copy, print and PC capabilities is provided, as well. In addition to being just four miles from the state fairgrounds, we're near Onondaga Lake Park, which is a great destination for those who love the outdoors. For those who prefer to shop, Carousel Center Mall is close by and Waterloo Premium Outlets are a short drive from Warners, NY. Our hotel's location also has easy access to Empire Expo Center, downtown Syracuse and Armory Square. While you stay at our hotel's facility near Syracuse, NY, you'll enjoy amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and an indoor pool and spa. Each morning, you can enjoy a free, hot breakfast, as well, at the Express Start Breakfast Bar. Call today and let us help you plan your next trip to this beautiful area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds Hotel Syracuse
Wingate Hotel Syracuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing