We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed hotel is a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Genesee Grande Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Older property with small yet well furnished rooms with excellent bathrooms. The location is good but needed my GPS.
Lots of parking steps from the entrance - hotel staff very attentive. Bar in the lobby is acceptable as is the food.
Decent bar just down the block. They have shuttles into the bar districts - a nice value add.
I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdlphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear mdlphins,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Genesee Grande Hotel was an amazing experience to say the least. The hotel is boutique-like: a bit older style but everything felt new and fresh. We actually chose to stay at GGH because our prior, cheaper reservations fell through. We were sitting in the lobby of the hotel that denied our reservations when I found GGH. It was a little pricey for my tastes but we decided to give it a try. Best decision ever!
We (being my family who was visiting and myself) arrived at GGH and they said the room type we reserved was unavailable and that they were placing us in a KING SUITE for no extra charge! What a stroke of luck. The room was gorgeous, with a full-kitchen, dining area, spacious living room, bedroom, and bath. Everything was clean and neat and we had no trouble with any kitchen appliances. The housekeeping did our dishes while we were gone the next day.
Now here is where GGH went truly above and beyond my expectations. I had purchased a bottle of wine to make a cream sauce and could not for the life of me get it open. We called the front desk to see if they had another wine opener available and the bar offered to come to our room to open it for us. I insisted on coming down where they were so helpful and polite.
The staff really went the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable after such a rough start. Definitely worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Room 606 was tucked in the corner and a gorgeous king suite if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecker513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Rebecker513,

What a great review to read and share with our staff. We thank you for taking your time to share your experience. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Best regards to you and your family!

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very old fashioned hotel. Not cheap for a smallish town. No coffee making facilities in room. Hotel covered in gilt but room key didn't work in morning and security was lax when I replaced it generating an unfriendly exchange with the receptionist. Oh and $12 for a piece of chocolate cake! I certainly won't be coming back why should you make the same mistake?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalcolmH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear MalcolmH999,

We thank you for taking the time write up a review. Room keys occasionally can be very sensitive because of its magnetic stripe that can de-magnetize, we apologize for the inconvenience. Coffee makers are available upon request as well as complimentary coffee that is served in the lobby. We hope that you give us another chance the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Nice older hotel, recently remodeled, but the primary reason to stay is because of the staff. Simply every interaction I had over a two-day stay this week was a pleasure. So much so, in fact, that I was wondering if they were from a hospitality program- they weren't, the hotel just picks the right people and trains them well, which is not the norm these days.

A big thank you to your training, HR, and general managers- you're doing a great job!
Scot Phelps

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenyellowred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear greenyellowred,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff Mr. Phelps! Helpful and attentive staff is always our goal and it is great to hear that we exceeded your expectations! Our staff is excited to see you on your next visit to our area!

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is fabulous and boutiquey. My husband was on work/travel and I am thrilled to join him when staying here! The rooms are luxurious and fresh. I love the decor. The beds are extremely comfy, the linens and towels.....plush. The lounge is exceptional, offering a great wine list and menu. I've enjoyed the hot beef salad more than once....delish.
I highly recommend THE GRANDE Genesee!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise_and_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Loiuse_and_Dan,

We thank you for the 5 Star review! Please come back soon to enjoy our wine selection and delicious food on the patio as nice weather is finally arriving to Syracuse.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

There were a lot of things I really liked about this hotel - the staff was very helpful, there was a free shuttle (even though we didn't end up using it), and the beds were quite comfortable. However, all of the positives were seriously overshadowed by the fact that the walls were extremely thin and you could hear a lot of noise from the neighboring rooms. I was kept up all night by my neighbors watching TV and talking. I was in the side of the hotel that only has 2 floors - I don't know if the other side was any better. Honestly, I wouldn't choose this hotel again just based on the poor sound proofing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueberry819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear bluberry819,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and we are happy that you enjoyed the amenities. We are sorry to hear about the noise concern as it is our goal to provide you with a comfortable stay. Please contact with our Front Desk Manager directly for your future visits to our area.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here when visiting our daughter at Syracuse University. The hotel is just off campus, and two doors away from Syracuse Stage, where she was performing in a play. It is also across the street from her apartment, so the location was perfect for us. The staff were all really friendly (we got at least 5 hellos each time we walked through the lobby) and helpful (they gave us a corkscrew. Not lent us, gave us). The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. There is no way to control the heat or air circulation, however. There was an old heater in the room, but it just blew cold air, and it smelled stale. We finally opened the window just to freshen the air. Not ideal in February. We ate in the restaurant one night. The food was good and the service was excellent. The fitness room is spacious and has lots of equipment, but some of the equipment could use some updating. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkd165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear lkd165,

Thank you for the great comments regarding our property and staff! We greatly value you taking the time to write up this great review. Please know our maintenance team will be rectifying the A/C issue. We hope you had fun at your daughters play and look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#4 of 31 in Syracuse
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#15 of 31 in Syracuse
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Genesee Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1809
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £92 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing