We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough I guess...”
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Nothing wrong with the property itself. Nice upgraded rooms with great beds and great showers. Excellent service and the Library Lounge and good quality food. Staff at check-in were indifferent to some request we have and left us feel like they just did not care. Room service proved a little bit challenging here... A late night order of wine took over 30 minutes and had staff bring only one wine glass when they were asked for more. The next morning, room service people surprised us again (not in a good way). We were informed that we had to pay extra for milk for our coffees as the only thing they serve is cream. This is the first time I ever had to pay for milk in a coffee. It is a minimal charge (below $3.00) but its just annoying to have to pay for something like this, which comes standard anywhere else. Anyways, hope the Crowne Plaza Syracuse changes its policy of charging customers for milk in their coffees. I guess I could give them another try but its the little things that ruin a first impression.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J9257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Greetings sens1992,
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all feedback and I will definitely bring your concerns about charging for milk to the restaurant manager. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the room with amenities itself. Sorry to hear about your interaction with the front desk staff, I will pass this along to them and work to be better at assisting our guests. Hope to see you in the future!

Kelly Carey -- Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I travel a lot and we were both pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and "upscale" feel to the hotel. Service at the front desk was great as well. There were 2 odd things...odd, but not necessarily complaints. 1. We only stayed for a night but still never figured out the unreasonably high tech touch screen to use the elevator (and my boyfriend is a software engineer). 2. Breakfast was included and was delicious, warm and lots of options. So no complaints on that. However, it was the by far the most uncomfortable buffet set up that left all of us diners staring at one another confused as to where to stand, get in line, ect. Even with these two things it was most certainly a place I pulls stay again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyawaybuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Greetings flyawaybuffalo,

Thank you for writing a review here on TripAdvisor! Your comments are very much appreciated. Our elevators are tricky at first but after a little while you get the hang of them and are fun. I will talk to the restuarant managers and see if there is a different way we can set up the buffett for future guests. We hope to see you in the future!

Kelly Carey -- Front Office Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Really outstanding Crowne Plaza - maybe the best I've seen. I was extremely impressed with this property. The front desk staffer that greeted us was bubbly and friendly and more than accommodating. The elevators are interesting - you program your floor prior to entering and it tells you which elevator to go to. There are no numbers once inside. Rooms are small, but very modern and tastefully decorated. Plenty of power outlets everywhere and a cool AV panel underneath the tV to allow you to connect your laptop or tablet to the TV. Channel changes were slow on the television and I couldn't find a channel guide anywhere so it was tough to find the game I was looking for. (boy now i'm digging for something to complain about)

Beds were very comfortable but the best part was the shower which included one of those "rain" showerheads from the ceiling. Very cool and invigorating before a long day.

Would have liked to have been offered a bottle of water or something (i'm Platinum, but didn't book the room myself. Instead gave them my card during check-in) as a Platinum reward, but I understand. Also would be great if they offered a few muffins or juice or something for early morning departures before the restaurant opened. If there was a club lounge or anything I was not made aware.

Be advised that there aren't really any restaurants within quick walking distance of the hotel. I ate at the Library Lounge in the lobby and found the southwest salad to be excellent and a good value. Bar staff was more than friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Greetings Mike W,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review! We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay! I am glad that you enjoyed your food in the Library Lounge, we just updated the menu, good to see it was a good change. I am sorry that you were no informed of the club lounge, for future stays it is located on the 2nd floor for breakfast during the week. The elevators are fun after you get used to them, it is like a game! Our shower heads are pretty relaxing and glad you enjoyed them! Hope to see you soon!

Kelly Carey -- Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We recently traveled to Syracuse for a foot game and stayed at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. While not as conveniently located on campus as the Sheraton this hotel is close enough to walk up the hill. We got the executive room and the breakfast was well worth it. Our waitress was extremely personable. On the negative side the air conditioner in our room was extremely loud and woke me up twice while coming on.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Hello Stuart L,
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We appreciate all feedback and I am sorry to hear that your air kept waking you up during the night. However I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and will let the Chef know that. Please feel free to reach out to me the next time you stay and I will look into the air issue prior to your arrival.

Kelly Carey -- Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night executive floor. LOL to visit SU. hotel lacks security. Rooms are small but the size of the bathrooms gives new meaning to the word.. try tiny! Room wasn't that clean either. Security for the inside of the room is useless. Old School chain lock, which could easily be pushed in. Asked for more towels & they brought up 2. 4 people were staying in the room and of course need to place towels on the floor because you could tell they didn't vacuum very often. Executive floor gives you breakfast in the am not worth it. Lounge is also located on the 2nd floor and our room was on the 16th. Our 24 hr stay had a landmark, dirty room service dishes a few doors before ours was there longer than we were. Check out clerk acted as if I was troubling him to check out. I thought that I was being considerate & letting him know that we were leaving at 8:30 am so they could clean the room sooner for the next guest. I guess that doesn't matter to them as they don't clean very well anyways. Clerk said : you got your bill under the door right?" Don't choose this hotel after a long drive you won't be able to relax. Paid $175. 00 w/tax so not worth it. Tried to eat dinner in the lounge, food was cold & took 2 hours to get.

Room Tip: if you find one let me know
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbfluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Greetings dbfluke,
Thank you for writing a review here on TripAdvisor, we appreciate all feedback. I will definitely have to follow up with all departments to let them know your comments and concerns. I will also speak to the agents at the desk letting them know that we have be more proactive in asking how many towels the guests will need because we do not always know how many guests are in the room and then we don’t know how many towels to bring. I do hope you will give us a second chance and hope to see you soon.

Kelly Carey -- Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I don't want a red carpet rolled out for me when I go to hotels, but I do expect certain things. As a young woman traveling alone, at the very least, I expect more than the constant attitude of you being positively bothered by my presence. No one greeted me, in fact, two employees watched me wrestle my bags out of my car and drag them inside. I waited at the counter for 7 minutes, alone, with three employees actively ignoring me. If this happened at a restaurant, I would leave. Finally had to flag someone down to check me in (so sorry for the inconvenience- one more sigh and I may have screamed), got upstairs, room was nice, very oddly shaped, but expected due to the building shape. As far as the "executive floor" goes, it was pretty ho-hum. Elevators are loud, but I sleep with earplugs so no problem. Beds were terribly lumpy and very springy, making me wonder just how old they were. When it was time to check out, I did so very early, but once again, a different employee regarded me as if I were a pest, not a guest. Everyone was so far up their own behinds it was as if they were too busy or too important to do their jobs! If you don't mind being treated poorly, and just need a (lumpy) bed for the night, it's OK, but as for me, my next trip out will be to a much friendlier place, where hopefully the staff is less concerned with their smoke breaks and cell phones and more concerned with paying guests. Overall it was a very disappointing stay.

Room Tip: I was on the 18th floor, didn't hear noise from the outside, but it seems that no matter where y...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Greetings JustBlah,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review, I am sorry to hear that our service did meet up to your standards or to Crowne Plaza standards. We do appreciate all feedback and this will make us better at our jobs. I will definitely follow up with all associates who worked this week. I do hope you give us another try and feel free to reach to out to me prior to arrival and we can check out that bed of yours to make sure it is nice and comfy.

Kelly Carey -- Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I was worried when we pulled up to this 1970's era circular hotel that looked pretty beat up. But inside it was a modern comfortable clean hotel Rooms are reasonable size; bathrooms a little small with shower stalls that are tub size (they replaced the tub with a big shower with a rain downpour style shower head).

Comfortable beds; big flat screen tv. We were on a high floor so street noise was not a problem. Parking is $9.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank familyinnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hello familyinnh,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy to hear that the noise didnt bother you while you were with us. Hope to see you soon!

Kelly Care -- Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#4 of 31 in Syracuse
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
0.6 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 701 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £79 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Syracuse is located in the heart of Downtown and easily accessible from the NYS Thruway and Interstate 81. The Hotel caters to not only leisure guests but also to group and business traveler. Guests enjoy attentive service, newly appointed guest rooms and inspired dining at Redfield's Restaurant. Covered parking, free high speed internet, daily newspapers, in-room coffee, in-room safes, shuttle services, and a Fitness Center are just some of the amenities that guests can expect. Crowne Plaza Syracuse features 12,500 square feet of meeting and event space and banquet halls including a Conference Center which accommodates up to 200 people. And for those extra special occasions, our 20th Floor Ballroom features spectacular panoramic views of the Syracuse skyline. For the business traveler, we offer ready access to companies; as well as to Healthcare facilities in the Syracuse area. For those in Syracuse for leisure, the excitement of the Syracuse Orange and the Carrier Dome, Syracuse Crunch AHL Hockey, Syracuse Stage, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, the New York State Fair and so much more are within minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Syracuse
Syracuse Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing