We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed 1 September 2014

we booked at last minute - what a great find! Location was good. Quiet stay Staff was very nice. No king beds were available so we had a double - but it was quiet comfy. Ordered pizza to the room - called front desk and they were helpful. Although we didnt use the gym at this hotel it appeared very nice

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pamelakmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Front Office Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Greetings pamelakmeyer,
Thank you for staying with us as well as your review! I am happy to see that you had a pleasant experience with us. Our staff is always aiming to please. Hope to see you soon!
~ Front Office Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

The room are nice and comfortable. But the front desk service is questionable. The shuttle service not available at times unless scheduled 2-3 hrs ahead for drop off and pick up. Sometimes takes longer. Area nothing to do within walking distance. But it is close to all hospitals.

Room Tip: Not sure the building is round. All rooms has a highway view or parking lot view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Front Office Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Hello Denny G
Thank you for staying with us as well as your review! I am sorry for the inconvenience that occurred during your stay. I will address the staff to ensure they are more welcoming and helpful. do hope you give us another chance and hope to see you soon.
~ Front Office Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very nice and tranquil. They have a bar in a lounge type setting. The rooms were clean and seemed up to date. The shower to me was the best part. The staff was very courteous. They let us check early too, which was pretty cool. I will definitely be staying here again

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank RondellBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Front Office Managment at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Greetings RondellBread
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Syracuse as well as your review! So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Our staff is always happy to fulfill any request. We hope you and your family will be back soon!
~ Front Office Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay here this month. Executive Lounge breakfast included but not on weekends. My first visit was on a weekend and breakfast is only served in the restaurant, really very nice, everything you need is on the table, attentive staff asks if you'd like juice or coffee, nice buffet, or order separately. This time It's a weekday so I go to the "Executive Lounge" and it's full of bare tables, buffet only as far as I could tell. Get your own EVERYTHING. Your own coffee silverware, everything. I ask the sullen staff women standing in the corner if I should just sit anywhere, and she shruggs her shoulders and says "yes yes wherever". There is ONE salt and pepper at the buffet, no yogurt like the restaurant, some people were clearing their own dishes..fine but really?
Maybe someone forgot to tell me something? Looking forward to the weekend so I can eat in the restaurant again!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank waq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Front Office Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you waq for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast in Redfield's. I will inform my restaurant manager about your dissatisfaction with the Executive Lounge. We do hope to have you as a guest again soon.
~ Front Office Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Surprised by how updated the rooms were. Great value, and very comfortable beds. The front desk staff could use some training. Not helpful at all when asked for directions. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Front Office Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us as well as your review! I am happy to see that you enjoyed your satay with us and liked the renovations. I will pass this along to the front desk staff so they can help all guests with their needs. Hope to see you soon!
~ Front Office Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. This hotel was updated recently, bathroom features slate, stone and glass. Hair dryer and iron included but no robe or slippers. Bed was very comfortable, wide range of pillows to choose from. Room was clean. Fan was kind of lound but I always bring earplugs anyway. Breakfast was good, egg white omelets with spinach and tomato were good, bacon and sausage were tasty, mixed melon and strawberries were fresh. Coffee was good, mild like Kona coffee.

They forgot to tell me at the desk that I needed to go to the exec lounge for my inclusive breakfast, so the waitress had to fix that for me.

I stayed on the 19th floor and I brought earplugs, but the traffic noise wasn't too bad even though I faced the highway.

Parking is $9 per day in a separate garage across a covered walkway.

Elevators are completely confusing. You enter your floor number and from the upper floors, there is no choice but to go to the lounge or lobby.

Business center is just off the lounge, not a separate room. Computers and printers worked.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Front Office Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us as well as your review! I am happy to see that you had a pleasant experience with us. I'm glad you took advantage of the restaurant on site and enjoyed your meal. I apologize for any inconvenience the elevators may have caused during your stay. We hope to see you soon!
~ Front Office Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel lobby, lounge and restaurant were newer, clean, well laid out and with modern, but neutral decor. The staff was friendly and courteous at each location. Our room was clean and modern with a nice floor plan. The toilet and shower were separate from the sink area. The toilet and shower area was tiny and awkward. You have to step next to the toilet to close the door.

The lounge area was the nicest space with a really friendly bartender. The restaurant service was good, but the salads with salmon we ordered were acceptable, but not impressive.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel (near the parking deck) to cut down on traffic noise. The fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly C, Front Office Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Greetings Deborah P
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Syracuse as well as your review! So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope you and your family will be back soon!
~ Front Office Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#4 of 31 in Syracuse
529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#13 of 31 in Syracuse
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 701 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £73 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Syracuse is located in the heart of Downtown and easily accessible from the NYS Thruway and Interstate 81. The Hotel caters to not only leisure guests but also to group and business traveler. Guests enjoy attentive service, newly appointed guest rooms and inspired dining at Redfield's Restaurant. Covered parking, free high speed internet, daily newspapers, in-room coffee, in-room safes, shuttle services, and a Fitness Center are just some of the amenities that guests can expect. Crowne Plaza Syracuse features 12,500 square feet of meeting and event space and banquet halls including a Conference Center which accommodates up to 200 people. And for those extra special occasions, our 20th Floor Ballroom features spectacular panoramic views of the Syracuse skyline. For the business traveler, we offer ready access to companies; as well as to Healthcare facilities in the Syracuse area. For those in Syracuse for leisure, the excitement of the Syracuse Orange and the Carrier Dome, Syracuse Crunch AHL Hockey, Syracuse Stage, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, the New York State Fair and so much more are within minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Syracuse
Syracuse Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing