We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for SU”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Not a lot of choices for hotels in Syracuse. This one is fine. Typical US business hotel. Main positive is the very convenient location next to Syracuse University campus. Free wifi is also a nice touch. Room was in decent condition. Very large king size bed.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank BigSur707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Services at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hello BigSur707,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. We're happy to hear that you found convenience with our location. We love being on the campus of Syracuse, just seconds away from all of the campus eateries and shopping. Glad to see that you were able to utilize our complimentary wireless, and that you enjoyed your room and our signature Sheraton sweet sleeper bed.

We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Syracuse. Once again thank you.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed for a 4 day class. The class room was comfortable and refreshments were great. Rooms were clean with comfy beds and different pillows so you could choose your preferred firmness. The only issue I had was temp control, my room was chilly and couldn't get it about 67.
The staff at this hotel was amazing, regardless of who you said they were friendly, courteous and helpful. Food was fine and had good variety. Also, for a hotel with an entire floor of college sophomores you would never know they wear there.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Services at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Hello Amanda M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the bedding collection comfortable. The mattress is our Sweet Sleeper bed a core element for Sheraton. We are also happy to hear that you found our hotel staff to be helpful, friendly and courteous, our goal is to allow you to feel at home while staying with us. In regards to the heating system we do apologize, if you continue to stay with us please let us know of any further issues and we can have a member of our engineering team assist you.

Once again thank you, and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Syracuse.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. If you are planning on attending a Syracuse sporting event or doing a campus tour, the location is ideal. The parking garage is key.
However, the hotel itself is very dark and outdated. The ceilings are low in the hallways and the lobby and decor looks like it did back in the day. We had a larger room with two queens and the beds were extremely squeaky and uncomfortable. The bathroom was really small and basic. However, the desk staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njbchluvr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear njbchluvr3,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our location and our parking facilities and that your found our staff friendly and accomodating. I am however, concerned that you did not get a comfortable night sleep. At the core of the Sheraton brand is our Sweet Sleeper mattress and I am sorry that you did not find it comfortable. We are in the beginning stages of planning for a 2016 lobby renovation, as the public space is beginning to wear and the design scheme has been the same for some time.

We thank you for choosing the Sheraton and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If I can be of any further assistance, please don't heistate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Julie Martin
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

While I'm used to more high end hotels I do have to say that this one was nice. Comfy bed but pretty basic. No robes, or basic bathroom extras. The good part is the complementary car to take you around the city which was great. I would stay there again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Services at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hello Victor C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. Happy to hear that you found the bed to be comfortable, as they are our Sweet Sleeper bed which is a key element to all Sheraton's. We're also happy to hear that you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle service throughout your stay with us.

Once again thank you, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I thought this was a very nice hotel. It is right next to the main Syracuse Campus and restaurants. The room was clean, but the beds were a bit uncomfortable. The elevators were nice. The breakfast buffet was ok.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmtree31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Services at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hello Palmtree31,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. So happy to hear that you found convenience in our hotels location. As you said we love being directly on campus, in the center of all the college restaurants, shopping, and academic buildings. We do apologize that you found the beds uncomfortable, and we hope you were still able to get a good night sleep.

We do hope to see you again, if your travels bring you back to Syracuse. Once again thank you.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

When traveling to Syracuse to see a basketball game, you must, at the time of the ticket purchase, immediately reserve a room or two at the Syracuse University Sheraton. It is so very convenient and loaded with just the right amount amenities. The staff and facilities are perfect for a non-nonsense weekend of fun and accommodations. The prices are moderate, but the facilities have a nice level of luxury appropriate for a sporting event hotel. It also doesn't hurt that the hotel is full of out of town Syracuse fans.

Room Tip: Try the Club room level- nicer rooms, free breakfast, happy hour and great views of the campus.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Services at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Hello unman1234,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. Glad to hear that you found convenience with our location here on campus, and that you were able to stay on our club level. The club level is a nice added amenity with the lounge, so happy to see that you enjoyed yourself!

We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Syracuse, and go Cuse!

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Location, Location, Location. One could say that this hotel actually sits in the middle of campus. If you need a hotel within close proximity of Syracuse University, it doesn't get better than this. 20 paces in any direction puts you in the college scene, and much closer than any other hotel I'm aware of.
That being said, here's the scoop on our reservation of two rooms. Self Parking was convenient and $13/night. A rollaway was a $20 charge. Internet was pretty good and free. As a Starwood Gold, my wife and I each enjoyed a free drink (we actually had more than one but the free drink is always the best) at the bar on the ground floor, and we had a nice and friendly bartender. The Club room served a nice continental breakfast and snacks from 5-8PM, and the Club's staff was very nice. We made our reservations through Starwood's phone service and requested two connecting rooms. Both rooms we had indicated connecting doors, but they could not provide us connecting rooms, which was a disappointment. (Not sure if the issue was with reservations or the hotel). Also, my wife complained of noise from the neighboring room, and said it sounded like the people were actually in our room, so the walls would appear to be very thin (I slept fine, so those Tequilas at the bar did the trick). I wouldn't rush back to the hotel if I was going elsewhere in Syracuse, but if doing something on campus, this would be the only place to go.

Room Tip: Parlor Rooms were large.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalsemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Services at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Hello Dalsemer,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. Happy to hear that you found convenience with our location. As you said we love being on the center of the University, steps away from the college shopping, eateries and academic buildings. Glad to hear that the staff in which you interacted were friendly, and that you enjoyed the offerings of the club lounge, and were able to utilize our wireless.
In regards to the connecting room request we do apologize for any inconvenience that resulted from the rooms not featuring the connecting door. We also do apologize for the noise which your wife heard during the night.

Once again thank you for sharing, and we do hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.9 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#4 of 31 in Syracuse
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#15 of 31 in Syracuse
701 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
0.4 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#14 of 31 in Syracuse
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 801 University Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210-1720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Family Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £128 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center. Located on the scenic campus of Syracuse University, we'll keep you close and connected to the best of Central New York. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle to/from Syracuse Hancock International Airport. Our recently renovated rooms and suites offer modern decor with complimentary WiFi throughout. Enjoy the heated, indoor pool, sauna and 24-hour fitness center. Two great onsite restaurants; Rachel's and Sitrus on the Hill both serving cocktails and delicious entrees (room service available). Host a meeting or special event in our IACC Certified Conference Center with over 10,000 sq. ft. of versatile space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel And Conference Center
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel Syracuse
Syracuse Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing