We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel but great service and excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
250 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Older hotel but great service and excellent value”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The level of excellent service outweighs any concerns about the somewhat dated look of the rooms and the lack of working equipment in the fitness room. HOWEVER...the entrance is lovely and every single staff person was warm and welcoming. The breakfast was wonderful (no powdered eggs here!), hot and plentiful with a young woman who helps you at every turn. This is truly a great hotel for the money

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for such a nice review, wonderful guests like you really make it pleasure to do our jobs!
Excellent service is our goal and I am so happy that you felt so welcome here; please come back soon and stay with us again!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    129
    84
    27
    17
See reviews for
115
83
13
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gahanna
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Single room ,king room large and clean. I would stay there again. Downside is location have to do u turn to get back to turnpike . Not much to eat for dinner two places delivered and McDonald's out front.breakfast was a step up not much included eggs and sausage.it was dated but worth the price.

Room Tip: I got king ,lots of room.senior rate $78
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Richard,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay, I appreciate it and am very glad you enjoyed it. We are very lucky to have such large rooms and the housekeepers do a great job keeping them ship shape; we work hard to be the friendliest, most helpful staff in Syracuse and nice comments like yours really mean a lot. Thank you again, I will look forward to hosting you again soon.
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
254 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Older property, somewhat away from the bulk of the newer Syracuse area hotels. Convenient to NY Thruway. Most decent restaurants are about 3 miles away on Erie Ave. Large rooms, fast Internet, relatively quiet heater/AC. Breakfast was Choice hotels standard - unremarkable, but convenient. Room was clean. Bed was relatively new and comfortable.

Room Tip: I had a room on 4th (top) floor - pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave4_-_3W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Davetraveler,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your recent stay, I appreciate the time you took and also the nice things you said about us. We aren't the newest hotel around but we work hard to be the cleanest and friendliest and we are constantly updating our property and rooms; new bedding on the horizon! You are exactly right about the close proximity to major highways and fantastic restaurants, which really seal the deal of making us a good value.
Thank you again, hope to host you again soon.
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparta, nj
Level Contributor
579 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed here on a visit to Syracuse University which is about 15 minutes away. Nothing special. Paid $85 for two full size beds. Outlets for recharging your phone in the bathroom, right outside the bathroom, or unplug the lights. Very dated. The shower had a disgustingly sticky mat on it that really creeped me out - how is it possible to clean something like that? There was a small coffee maker but the cord barely reached the outlet. The TV had HD which was nice. No microwave or fridge in room. The free breakfast had eggs, sausage, make your own waffle, oranges, apples, yogurt, dry cereal, a mushy bread or bagel, juice, coffee. The coffee was actually good and they had half and half to go in it not the fake creamer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear BD,
Thank you for staying with us, I appreciate your business; being so close to Syracuse University and major highways makes us a good choice. I'm very glad you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast but I'm not sure what the "mushy" bread was, we only purchase very high quality whole wheat bread. We are replacing bathtubs this year as part of a very extensive refresh and remodel, as well as changing to the new Choice bedding program, but unfortunately, it does take some time to get everything done. Thank you again, we always appreciate your feedback.
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Rooms are spacious and clean, bed are comfortable, free wifi and decent breakfast. The first time I stayed here, the lobby smelled a bit of smoke, but the room did not. The second time, the smoke smell was gone -- I think it was just a holdover from when the hotel offered smoking rooms, which it no longer does.

The location is not an area of any interest, but it's very close by car to anywhere you need to go. I visit the area frequently and will continue to stay here if I get the ridiculously low rate I got this time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGMDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, our team really appreciates hearing them! You are indeed correct that we have gone completely non-smoking and I'm glad you didn't smell any smoke when you stayed with us. As you can imagine, it's a huge undertaking to convert but we are very glad we did it. We will continue to be a great value as well as clean and friendly so hurry back, we'll look forward to hosting you again!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The hotel is older but looks to be recently renovated. There is not much around but a McDonald's in steps away from the front door. The rooms are comfortable and clean but basic. I would rate it as a two and a half to three star property. Free internet,parking and and a better than average hotel breakfast. No pool. This is not a bad stop for a night or two of shopping for Canadian travellers.

Room Tip: There looks to be rooms in the back that you drive up to. I would try to stay in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we certainly enjoy our Canadian neighbors and appreciate you shopping in our area, too. So glad you agree that we are a good value, that is our top priority as well as being the friendliest and most comfortable hotel in Syracuse. Please come back soon, we'll look forward to hosting you again!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

For a hotel that only offers a bed to sleep in and a bathroom it has nothing to offer.
Forget getting any sleep . The beds were terrible . Felt like sleeping on broken box springs. You were afraid to move. The whole bed moved and you felt as though you were going to fall off the bed. Had plenty of pillows but were so small it was very had to get comfortable.
This Hotel offers no amenities.
Breakfast was OK.
Location was next to thruway exit but miles from anything else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortycsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Shortycsb, please accept my sincerest apology for your dislike of the mattress and pillows, beds are such a personal preference and I certainly understand it is sometimes hard to get comfy away from home. Our complimentary full hot breakfast with meat, eggs, waffles and many other items as well as free newspaper, HBO, fitness center, flat screen TV's and very friendly staff make us a great value and being only 5 miles to Syracuse University and the heart of downtown really make us a great place to stay. I hope you will come back when in Syracuse and give us another try.
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Syracuse hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Syracuse
Red Roof Inn Syracuse
#15 of 32 in Syracuse
446 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#14 of 32 in Syracuse
421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Syracuse - Carrier Circle
3.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carrier Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carrier Circle

Property: Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Address: 6491 Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Carrier Circle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Exit 35 off the NYS Thruway (I-90) this 100% Non-smoking hotel features; complimentary hot breakfast buffet, business center, fitness center and free high speed wireless Internet. Our central location puts all of Syracuse at your fingertips, minutes from LeMoyne College, Syracuse University, downtown and the new Destiny USA. We always have a comfortable clean room waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Carrier Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Syracuse Hotel Syracuse
Syracuse Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing