We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My family was passing through Syracuse and found this little gem just off of the Thruway on our way to Niagara Falls. Even though it had an abandoned building next to it we all thought the "lodge" look of the hotel was very cool and the kids were happy to see a McDonald's right in front of it.

Once we had our Happy Meals and shakes, we checked in and were greeted by a very nice smiling lady at the counter. She was efficient and got us right in and we asked her a lot of questions about the area and she was able to answer them for us and even gave us a printed piece of paper with the area restaurants, malls, etc.

The lobby had a really beautiful enormous stone fireplace and nice furniture all around it and the desk lady said that is where breakfast would be served in the morning; I was also glad to see an ATM in the lobby.

Our room was on the third floor and had 2 queen beds and was very spacious and looked and smelled fresh and clean. There was an extra area near the bathroom for storage, luggage, and it had a mirror, too. The bathroom was nice, typical tile and granite, clean and bright. The furniture was nice, seemed to be a mix of old and new but they are redecorating and there was a list on the front desk that told of all the upgrades happening. There were signs around the hotel announcing the renovations but you really couldn't tell anything was going on, as it was cleaned up and not at all in the way. We were told the wallpaper in the hallways was all new and carpet was coming very soon.

The beds were comfortable and the TV was fine, heater was efficient and not too loud. We went downstairs for breakfast and were pleasantly surprised at the assortment to choose from and the person stocking it and cleaning was very good, kept everything going nicely.

All in all, we found it to be a very nice stay, clean room, friendly people and a very good breakfast, which saves a lot of money when traveling with kids.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Sal T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay, my staff and I are very happy that you and your family enjoyed it! You'll have to come back in the winter to sit by the fireplace when it's lit and have cocoa, very cozy.
So glad you had breakfast with the kids, it really makes us a great value and you don't have to stop again until lunchtime, lol.
Thank you again and we will look forward to having you as our guest again,
Kathy Shue, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights while in town to watch some SU lacrosse. The young man checking us in was very polite and efficient. Although not needed we were given a handicapped accessible room. The hotel was undergoing renovations as indicated by the numerous signs throughout the hotel. However, there was not a considerable mess or dust found.

It is obvious that housekeeping only does the minimal amount of work required. The room was clean on the surface, but I noticed different things the longer we were there. When I laid down in bed I could see all the dust and dirt behind the nightstand and by the bed headboards. When taking a shower I noticed soap scum on the hand rail, while coming out of the bathroom I noticed debris in the crevice between the tiles and carpet.

On the second day of our stay, after being out all day and returning to our room I noticed more indications of less than ambitious housekeeping. Yes, the beds were made and the garbage emptied but - the sink was not wiped down, the mirror was not cleaned, all towels used were not replenished (we didn't have what we needed the next morning) and worse of all the toilet. Either we forgot to flush it before leaving or housekeeping used it and forgot to flush it. Either way, it was obvious housekeeping didn't check to see if the toilet needed cleaning.

Another housekeeping item - I noticed the same dirt and spill stains in the elevators throughout our stay. A swipe of a mop probably would have taken care of it.

All in all, many of the above things are minor, but it is the little things that make a stay at a hotel nice.

Summary: The good - nice staff, comfortable beds, good breakfast, good location. The bad - housekeeping is lazy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADKTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear ADK, Please accept my apology for not exceeding your expectations during your recent stay; the housekeeping staff works very diligently to do a great job but, as humans we do stumble occasionally. As you can see by the other reviews this is a clean, friendly hotel and the staff was sad to see that you called them "lazy".
We will make every effort to improve and learn from this experience, thank you.
Kathy Shue, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We enjoyed staying at this hotel for a night. Even under construction the place was very clean and welcoming. The staff was friendly and had a great sense of humor. Breakfast had something for everyone! Lots of restaurants and things to do in the area. Our only complaint was that the king sized bed was like sleeping on a giant marshmallow. It was too soft - which many may not find a problem at all. We would stay again, but ask for a more firm mattress.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 261WendyB261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Second time we have stayed in a Comfort Inn this trip and once again not at all disappointed. Very clean spacious rooms and as usual a very warm welcome extended from the staff. Would certainly recommend this chain of hotels to others. Great value for money to boot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveb540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Steveb40, thank you for your very nice review and for your loyalty to Choice Hotels, my staff and I are even more motivated to make you feel welcome and comfortable. This hotel, as well as the other Choice hotels, definitely are good values for today's travelers. I really do appreciate your kind words and will look forward to having you back again.
Best wishes,
Kathy Shue, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

easy check in,easy check out,clean room.heat was started before we check in,TV was also on,comfortable bed,a.c was quite which you hardly so got sound sleep,
excellent breakfast .
MacDonald in the front of the hotel was great help.
front desk clerk was very polite,friendly and helpful
Ample of parking which was free
great location and near to I-90 exit

Room Tip: easy check in,easy check out,clean room.heat was started before we check in,TV was also on,comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chirpriya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear JanakB, Thank you so much for your nice review! You summed up exactly what we want to be-- clean, friendly, welcoming, good location and yummy breakfast. The staff really appreciates your input and it inspires us to always do our best for our guests, so thank you again and we will look forward to hosting you again soon!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

My friend and I were stuck in Syracuse after attending a business conference. Looking for a warm friendly place, I called and Pat answered. She was friendly and kind and even asked what company I worked for to see if I qualified for a discount. Upon arrival she greeted me by name and welcomed us. The room was clean with a beautiful view of the snowy landscape. We are so happy to have found such a Wonderful hotel and plan on staying there if our plans allow in the future. Thanks Pat!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Kelley1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Kelley1965, Thank you very much for writing such a nice review, especially after you were stuck in the snow, lol! Patty really is an asset to our team and it is great to hear how helpful she was to you, always nice to know you are appreciated and this made her day.
Thank you for staying with us and please come back again, maybe the view will be the trees in full bloom next time!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Rated it as average but it would be a 2 star hotel that is overall clean. Includes basic breakfast with free parking. I would not want to stay here for more than a stop over hotel but it does provide good access to I-90 or south to Binghamton. Needs updating but overall it is accomodating and had 2 clean beds that function well for travellers passing through.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exploreworld95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear exploreworld95, thank you for stopping over with us and for taking the time to review us, I appreciate your feedback and am extremely happy to tell you that we are in the midst of a fantastic update in our rooms, including new carpet, bedding, accent walls, lighting and artwork; we have already gone through and updated tubs and surrounds.
We are so glad you found us to be clean and friendly and our full hot breakfast, including scrambled eggs, sausage and waffles makes us a great value. Thank you again, we'll look forward to hosting you again!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Syracuse
Red Roof Inn Syracuse
#17 of 31 in Syracuse
472 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
9.4 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites - Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
10 mi away
Comfort Inn Fairgrounds
Comfort Inn Fairgrounds
#21 of 31 in Syracuse
124 reviews
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge and Suites North Syracuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carrier Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carrier Circle

Address: 6491 Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206-1409
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range: £51 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Carrier Circle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Exit 35 off the NYS Thruway (I-90) this 100% Non-smoking hotel features; complimentary hot breakfast buffet, business center, fitness center and free high speed wireless Internet. Our central location puts all of Syracuse at your fingertips, minutes from LeMoyne College, Syracuse University, downtown and the new Destiny USA. We always have a comfortable clean room waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn Carrier Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Syracuse Hotel Syracuse
Syracuse Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing