We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“V-day at Mountain Brook”
Review of Mountain Brook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain Brook
Ranked #2 of 5 Tannersville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“V-day at Mountain Brook”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here this past V-day. After a scary ride in due to the incoming blizzard we finally made it to the Hotel Mountain Brook. The property is amazing. We were greeted by Amy and Terrence who were extremely warm and welcoming. We stayed in one of the cottages and it extremely comfortable. The best part was our fireplace that warmed up our room very nicely. Our patio lead right out onto a snow covered field and gave us plenty of space to let our dogs enjoy the high snow.

We would definitely recommend this place for anyone that wants a lovely B&B to stay in Tannersville. The food was also amazing for breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    24
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
28
141
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I spent our 1-year aniversary at Hotel Mountain Brook. Wonderful experience.
This was our first bed and breakfast we've stayed at. We stayed in the East Lodge, not the main house. Our room was very cozy and clean with a gas fireplace. Terrence and Amy were great hosts. Terrence made our breakfast two mornings and the food was delicious. We were the only guests on Sunday evening and spent part of the night in the main house sitting by the fireplace with a bottle of wine. Very peaceful and relaxing...We skiid at Hunter Mountain that weekend and Terrence and Amy had discounted lift tickets, which we purchased and saved $12. Very convenient location to Tannersville and Hunter Mountain. We will definitely be coming back for our next ski getaway!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarhurst, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was one of our favorite bed and breakfast! would love to go back and would recommend it to everybody. The breakfast was just about made to order with a variety of options. there were snacks, games, books and a fireplace in the mainhouse that was always open. Our room was not in the main house but in one of the private kind "cottages" and it was heaven. We had our own fireplace and fridge which was perfect to warm up next to with a glas of wine or baileys on the rocks. The staff was accomodating as our first night we were not able to arrive till after 11 they were understanding of our travels and traffic and did not give us a diffucult time. the owners and waitresss were a pleasure to converse with and the other people who stayed there were very helpful and friendly. a hundred percent would go back!

Room Tip: We chose the private cottage..close to house but secluded enough to have our own little getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahFrances7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My family and I stayed at Hotel Mountain Brook in Feb 2014. Terrance and Amy are the new owners and they completely redid the place since the last owners! I will admit, I was skeptical at first along with my kids to stay at this cozy little hotel. Hotel seems to cold a title after staying there. It really felt like a home away from home. My wife found these wonderful reviews online and wanted to give it a try. My kids and I wanted to stay at one of those regular 300 room hotels with a pool and various floors for the kids to explore and run around on. Well, I have to admit and my children agree, we just had the most amazing time at Hotel Mountain Brook. Although there was no real indoor area for the kids to explore and run wild, the grounds outside provided a lifetime of exploration and fun! There was 3 feet of snow on the ground and we could not have had anymore fun. I was a kid again! Amy saw that my kids and I were playing outside in the snow and the next thing we know, there are 7 snow dish sleds ready for us to use. There are hills all over to sled! Accomodating is an understatement. We actually planned a one night stay but after getting snowed in we stayed a 2nd night. The breakfeast was incredible and filling made by a real Chef. The rooms were extremely clean and beautifully designed. The small staff was always available and very pleasant. The location is walking distance to main street where there are restaurants and stores. Whats amazing is that although its walking distance to main street, the grounds themselves seemed so secluded. My wife wants to come back for a weekend getaway without the kids. Terrance and Amy are in the works of planning a couple's weekend with cooking lessons and tips from a professionally licensed Chef (Terrance). With incredible meals and Vino! My only gripe, I wish they weren't three hours away from Long Island. Had a great Time! Thank You!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenwich,ct
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed in the Emerson cabin 2/20- 2/22. It couldn't have been better!!! the property is beautiful, and conveniently located a short distance to Hunter mountain. The room was fantastic, clean and beautifully decorated. Towels and linens are great quality. But the best part.....the gourmet country breakfast, prepared by the owner! The mountain brook was the perfect little getaway. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annagdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I, who previously owned a thirteen room inn and restaurant in Vermont, stayed at Hotel Mountain Brook with Amy and Terrence over President's Day Weekend. We were warmly greeted and given a tour of the inn. Amy took us to our room located in the East Lodge and immediately made us feel welcomed!

The mountain views from our room on the snowy days were beautiful. Breakfast each morning was wonderful. Terrence, is a trained CIA chef. There were several selections from crab and asparagus frittatas to blueberry pancakes. You leave the table stuffed!

We dined at their Valentine's dinner which was a four course dinner. It was absolutely delicious. They transformed the dining area into a romantic setting. We were seated directly in front of the large stone wood burning fireplace. The wine list was reasonably priced, too! We believe they have plans to plan more dinner events. Be sure to check them out!

Everyone who works at the inn is friendly and attentive. The inn offers private rooms with baths to private cabins with king size beds and porches. It is located in the quaint town of Tannersville, NY. While there check out Last Chance Antiques and Cheese, too! It is close to Hunter Mountain and great hiking, too,

We will definitely visit here again!

Sam and Tom

Collingswood, NJ

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank villaguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

After a harrowing drive during the recent snowstorm that dumped two feet of snow in the Catskills, we arrived at Hotel Mountain Brook. I couldn't have been more thrilled at the warm welcome we received and the beautiful accommodations. The rooms are spotless, beautifully decorated and warm and cozy. It snowed so much and so fast that Terrence, the owner, had to clear paths for us every few hours just so we could get to and from the main part of the hotel to our room. In the morning we found that he had cleared around our car so that it would be easy for us to get out. AND when we went into the dining room, there he was serving up a fabulous gourmet breakfast for the all the guests. Besides the beauty of the hotel, Terrence and Amy and their lovely family are the reason to stay at Hotel Mountain Brook. The service is impeccable! We will be back again, but I think next time it will be in the Summer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Librarygal223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tannersville
8.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
295 reviews
8.9 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
503 reviews
6.9 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
4.2 mi away
Fairlawn Inn
Fairlawn Inn
#1 of 3 in Hunter
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Brook

Property: Mountain Brook
Address: 57 Route 23C, Tannersville, NY 12485
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Tannersville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tannersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Brook 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Areas only first class Adirondack style Lodge, featuring comfortable upscale accommodations with spectacular views of the Catskill Mountains. Relax in one of our spacious private cabins or in one of the distinctive suites or rooms inside the Lodge or East Lodge. All are luxuriously appointed and tastefully decorated and include modern amenities. Mountain Brook is an old world escape from the frantic pace of city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing