We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two day getaway to the Castle Hotel & Spa”
Review of Castle Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was a perfect getaway for a weekend. We stayed at the castle for one night and bought the spa package. the package included two 60 minute massages, deluxe room, and lunch on Sunday. When we arrived at the castle, they automatically upgraded us to a junior suite and told us the breakfast is complementary. both were very pleasant surprises.
The castle is gorgeous, the spa is luxurious, servise is gret. my husband and I were able to really relax and enjoy the place.
Since we had the Sunday lunch included at their famous restaurant, we decided to venture out for Saturday dinner into town so can't say how good their dinner is. but lunch was very delicious.
overall, we had a great experience!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alchousha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Good afternoon,
Thank you from Castle Hotel & Spa for your generous review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you and your husband enjoyed our THANN Sanctuary Spa Escape Package and that we were able to exceed your expectations! We look forward to welcoming you back to the property soon! enjoy your weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

After Hurricane Sandy my boyfriend and I drove north to find gas, out of desperation. Unfortunately, we got stuck in that nor'easter, along with everybody else up in Westchester. After frantically searching the Internet on our phones and calling all the hotels around only to be told there were no rooms, we landed on this place called Castle on the Hudson. Not only did they have one room left, they held it for us for the entire two hours it took us to travel the 1.4 miles to get there.

After arriving at the Castle we were treated with an astonishing level of respect and kindness, even though we weren't at all dressed for a stay in a luxury hotel - We had left the city right after work. Everyone from the front desk to the bell boy was more than kind, they were human. And our room was exemplary - a beautiful four poster bed, a bose sound system, and a bathtub you could swim in, complete with terry cloth slippers and robes. The room was classic and cozy. A true respite after what had been a nearly 4 hour nightmare.

We both hope to go back again for a planned visit to enjoy this truly unique hotel.



*Tripadvisor didn't have an option for Nov 2012, so I had to choose 2013 to save the review.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaraMarainthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Good afternoon Tamara,
Thank you from Castle Hotel & Spa for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you got to our property safe and sound and enjoyed your time with us even in the nor'easter we were experiencing. We look forward to welcoming you and your boyfriend back to our property as we have recently underwent a $12 million renovation with the addition of a new Spa that I am sure you will both enjoy! Have a wonderful weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

On the way driving to Pennsylvania from New England for a business trip, we decided to break the drive and spend the money to stay in a castle. The room was enormous, every bit of furniture was massive and solid, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Everything here is fairly pricey — the excellent Manhattan cost $22 plus tip, making it the most expensive I've every had — and the steaks in the dining room cost $49 plus plus. We weren't very hungry so we ordered sliders, which some other customers and the barkeep had praised, and they came to $22 — which actually turned out to be a kind of bargain. At home we purchase 3 sliders for $11, but these were twice as big, had a better roll, and came with fries, which at home would cost $3.00. The breakfast was among the best we've ever had in fine hotels in Europe, Asia, and the US.

An idea for someone wanting to take a 2-4 day vacation in NY and stay at a fine city hotel: If you're willign to pay, say, $500/night, it would be better to stay at the Castle, drive the 30 minutes to Manahattan, pay for parking and return at night. 330 Minutes isn;t much of a drive since it can take that long to get from one part of Manahattan to another or from Manahattan to increasingly fashionable Brooklyn.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Good afternoon George,

Thank you for choosing Castle Hotel & Spa! We appreciate your lovely review on Trip Advisor and wish you a wonderful business trip. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the property soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I who have been to other 5 star spas loved our afternoon at Thann Spa. The service was excellent. Message was the best either of us had ever experience. Great facial but not a fabulous one. The common lounge area was lovely and relaxing with teas and h'ordervse. Very nice touch. Locker room had all amenities and was a great end to a fabulously relaxing day. Worth every dollar spent.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Grapevinetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Good morning,
Thank you for your recent visit with us at THANN Sanctuary Spa. We hope your experience with your daughter was enjoyable and memorable and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your Swedish Massages. If you could please share with me why your Nano Shiso Anti-aging facial was not what you expected. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thank you again for choosing THANN Sanctuary at Castle Hotel & Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Came up for a weekend getaway with 2 couples. Had reservations at Blue Hill which was amazing. Upon pulling up the castle was beautiful as were the grounds. It was fall which made it even more beautiful. The front desk was not very helpful. Very slow and had to explain things to them multiple times. Rooms were nothing special and overall I don't think I would stay here again. Yes it is cool ground and awesome building, but that is where it ends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The new owners have now had a couple of years to build a nice new spa and begin to put their mark on the property, and although we had a generally lovely time there as this is very fine hotel, there were a few glitches worth mentioning. First, the good: the place really looks like a castle and feels like a B&B, although it has the advantage of a luxury hotel with an excellent restaurant, room service, and nicely appointed common areas. The grounds are eye-catching, and probably really nice in the warmer months (we were there for New Year's and it was frigid though). Free valet parking is nice, and most services were up to snuff for a hotel in this price range. Now that bad: the TV guest services and on-demand features didn't work at all for our entire stay. The staff seemed genuinely perplexed as to how to use or fix this, and blamed the "company" (I guess Direct TV?) for not supporting their service properly. I find this more and more nowadays, which hotel managers putting impressive high end tech in the rooms that the staff actually has no idea how to really use or troubleshoot, and the tech support is woefully inadequate. Probably a disconnect between corporate and the boots on the ground, who don't want to look bad by being honest with management that they either need more training or better tech support. To their credit, the staff did provide us with lots of DVDs after we complained, and the DVD player worked fine. The TV in the workout area next to the spa was equally a disaster, and channel changing function was intermittent, again without the staff being able to fix. The pod coffee maker in the room also would have been nice, but it didn't work either, and instead produced a pale dishwater-like liquid. Also the free replenishments of soft drinks and beer in the minibar were a nice touch, but the drinks were actually NOT replenished as promised (although they were promptly replenished after we complained). The building is a bit cool, as I suppose castles are notorious for. I was comfortable but my wife was cold. In all, a pretty unique, generally very comfortable property for a quick getaway from the city, which will probably become outstanding once the glitches are worked out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank petergl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We just returned from a wedding held at this fabulous establishment. From the moment we pulled up to the door until we sadly departed the staff was fantastic. The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout. The room was inviting and the bed extremely comfortable. If you have the opportunity to try this place out don't hesitate!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lillious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Good afternoon,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the Castle during Mr. & Mrs. Lutz's wedding on December 14. It was a pleasure to serve you and your family! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle soon! Have a wonderful holiday and a happy and healthy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrytown
1.3 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
513 reviews
1 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Benedict Ave, Tarrytown, NY 10591-4330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Price Range: £168 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Castle Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on wooded hilltop acres overlooking the Hudson River, the main tower of Castle Hotel & Spa forms the highest point in Westchester County, New York. Castle Hotel & Spa is a medieval-style structure meticulously transformed into a luxury hotel; regaling guests with service fit-for-royalty, luxurious guestrooms, and the award-winning Equus restaurant features pan-Mediterranean cuisine, locally-produced and sourced, inspired dishes from Italy, Spain, France, and Greece. The luxurious THANN™ Sanctuary spa is an oasis of peace and tranquility. Rediscover inner physical and mental wellness through Thann's holistic approach. Only 25 miles north of Manhattan, Castle Hotel & Spa opened as a luxury hotel in 1997; 16 years after being designated a historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Castle Hudson
Castle Hotel & Spa Tarrytown, New York - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing