We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunnyside

Sunnyside
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The staff in the store went out of their way to explain what we could do while at Sunnyside and the docents inside Washington Irving's home were incredibly friendly and knowledgable!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Staecy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    50
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Need to fix storytelling walks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This site is worth visiting, especially for fans of Washington Irving but be aware: I am giving this historic house 2 stars for two reasons: 1. When you arrive, you can sign up for storytelling walks (ghost story) at a specified time. I loved this idea and so we hurried back up the hill to the entrance to arrive a few minutes early for our "set time." The tour had already left. Apparently the guides just count heads without looking to see if the people have the correct times. Then we couldn't catch up to the group because the staff sent us off in the wrong direction! This was poorly run...2. The house is very beautiful and well worth seeing - but apparently during October (a holiday period??), the upstairs is closed. I really saw no need for this. The site was not particularly busy...They did have a wonderful art exhibit up in the house depicting the Legend of Sleepy Hollow. I do hope they continue these exhibits featuring the site's archival collection. You might want to call ahead and see if the upstairs is open. Also arrive way early for any "scheduled" walking tours.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank artelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dix Hills, New York, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too small, really?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I just don't understand the several reviews complaining that the house is "small." So what? This is the home of one of Americas greatest authors. It is is charming. No one would call the Breakers charming. If you want huge and gaudy go to Newport. The location, right on the Hudson, is also beautiful. We have been there many times and in different seasons and have always enjoyed Sunnyside.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Kisco, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We went with out of town friends who'd never been there. The home and grounds are a must to see while in the area, and the guides/specialists are very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarasdad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An interesting visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Compared to other estate tours I have taken this was a bit of a disappointment. The home is rather small and you only tour the downstairs not the whole house. We did enjoy the grounds and the day we visited it was misty which added to the spooky feel you would like in October. It was fun just not as large as we were expecting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trishthedish_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunnyside also viewed

Tarrytown, Westchester County
Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
 
Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 

Been to Sunnyside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing