We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent informative tour”
Review of Sunnyside

Sunnyside
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
new york
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent informative tour”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were lucky to get a private tour of Washington Irving's home overlooking the Hudson River in Tarrytown. The guide where's 19th century clothes and was very knowledgeable. She was able to answer all of our questions.

Visited November 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    51
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Visit when the Weather is Good”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My family and I had a nice day visiting Sunnyside- it really is a beautiful property and I would recommend bringing a picnic lunch and eating on the grounds, which you can do. There is a beautiful view of the lake and autumn is a great time to go.

As far as the actual house, it is interesting but pretty tiny. Try to go on a day when the tour is less crowded because we could barely squeeze everyone into the house. Also, felt a little rushed by the tour guide to stay with the group but since there where so many people blocking everything, I had to wait for them to move in order to see. Not recommended for people with disabilities. Finally, if you have allergies or asthma, take medicine before visiting- the house smells musty and dusty and feels like a window hasn't been cracked in a decade. Interesting visit- I didn't know much about Irving before we came.

Visited November 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Second time around”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Since my first visit many years ago at Christmas time things have changed. We had a period player meet us in the gift shop. We separated into groups of six. If you can get Brigitta ask her to talk about her own life. It is just as interesting as the tour. They continue to restore and add period pieces not belonging to the family to this historic site . Great home schooling venue or take a picnic. Return visits only give you more appreciation of the man, family and period in history. Some walking and at times steep. Free parking at the entrance. There are many stairs and some small spaces. It is important to ask about objects that you find interesting. The grounds are great subjects for photography. They do have special events. They were set up for Halloween at this time. They do have meeting space for special events or occasions. Don't miss the film on the venue in the cinema barn. There are restrooms in the gift shop. The shop has limited fair but objects and books worth purchasing.

Visited October 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmyra
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Washington Irving's home”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Small but very nice tour. Guides dressed in period clothing. Told history of house and some of the items i it. You can walk around the property and take pics. No pics allowed in house.

Visited October 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The staff in the store went out of their way to explain what we could do while at Sunnyside and the docents inside Washington Irving's home were incredibly friendly and knowledgable!

Visited October 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunnyside also viewed

Tarrytown, Westchester County
Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
 
Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing