We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across from the Music Hall, but deserves more than a pre-theater dinner”
Review of Bistro 12

Bistro 12
Ranked #2 of 62 Restaurants in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Meet the Business Owner: Miguel- Manuel - Established in 2013 Madeira, a beautiful Portuguese island and inspiration for the atmosphere of the newly opened Bistro 12 in Tarrytown. Life-long friends who have, at long last, created their dream restaurant. Jose Manuel Goncalves Pereira and Luis Miguel Rodrigues have known each other since the age of 17, so it's hardly surprising that Bistro 12 evokes the landscape of their youth. Fans of Caravela will recognize Manuel, nicknamed "MADEIRA" from his 24-year stint there. MIGUEL years at Polpo, the popular upscale Italian restaurant in Greenwich,Connecticut They have created their own unique bistro establishment, given this amiable team the knowledge and skills to provide a warm, welcoming and gracious atmosphere dedicated to providing a genial dining experience for their customers. Miguel Rodrigues' artwork is the product of a life-long passion. You will see memories of his country come alive - the markets, families, city and country scenes he loves. Enjoying a variety of painting styles, he has produced over 1500 works of art in his Yonkers studio, and has chosen the most evocative paintings with which to decorate the walls of his newest venture.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Across from the Music Hall, but deserves more than a pre-theater dinner”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I were going to the Music Hall, running late but hungry. We stopped in at Bistro 12 for appetizers only. I had the shrimp, and was blown away by the garlic sauce. My husband had grilled octopus, and couldn't stop talking about it. Everyone at the restaurant was sincerely interested in making sure that we finished eating in time to make the show. We have gone back several times since, and will be taking friends from Arizona for dinner here when they arrive next week. The atmosphere is warm and homey, the food fresh and the staff personally interested in your comfort. Make a reservation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susang4835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    38
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, NY
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“You wanna love it, but...”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Don't get me wrong. I live in the area. I want to support local merchants. I know how hard it is to run a restaurant and do it well. That's why I want to see the guys who own Bistro 12 succeed. Really, I do. But they have to do better.
Everything we tried on a recent visit was strictly average. This place replaced Sol Mar, which did some very nice renditions of Portuguese cuisine. Nothing distinctly ethnic about the place. It's a bistro without a country. Chicken Francese there, a pan seared branzino there. There's nothing really wrong with the place. But there's nothing especially memorable about it either. Which is a problem, as it's not on the cheap side. Entrees are in the $20s. You won't leave hungry, but you also won't leave remembering what you ate a day later.
Still, the owners are friendly and eager to please. Service is a little hectic and disorganized, but earnest. A little more focus on the kitchen and a few items on the menu that you don't find on a million other menus and this place might be a keeper.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank murrayhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarrytown, New York
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I was just there 3 days ago. Everything is exceptionally fresh and delicious. Clean and flavorful ingredients. An absolute MUST stop in Westchester County period. Wait staff superior, honestly. I don't usually review places but this is an exception. When its that great its your duty to show your appreciation. It was really that wonderful and I can't recall an eatery experience as well as that period and I travel a lot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaYNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What luck that we stumbled on this restaurant!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were returning from New Jersey to Connecticut and decided to stop in Tarrytown for a late lunch. While wandering up Main Street, looking in windows and at menus, we saw the white cloth tablecloths and liked the menu. How lucky for us.
This was such a delightful meal and the Portuguese co-owners were charming and provided wonderful service. The sardine appetizer with onions on endive was a taste treat. The same was true of the red snapper, and the flan was perfection. Wines were also excellent.
I will probably make a special trip from Litchfield County just to go here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Dinner”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Fabulous food and excellent wines- owners are wonderful and so inviting!
Great fish and all foods very fresh and well seasoned!


Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro 12 also viewed

Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 
Tarrytown, Westchester County
Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
 
Tarrytown, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 

Been to Bistro 12? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing