We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late check in, smelly room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went in for my wedding weekend, and our room was not ready. The front desk attendant saw I was almost fainting and her solution was to give me a cookie and send me to the room my friends had booked. Almost an hour later, we got our "garden" room which smelled like wet dog, not to mention the bad smell of a couple of the pillows. Children running around, screaming all over the hallways made for a very restless sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda R, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Maria,
Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service and conditions of your recent special occassion stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations through service and atmosphere. We have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered with comfort and cleanliness. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.
Regards,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

The restaurant and lounge service was poor. I repeatedly asked the servers and manager for table service for our table of 12 people, but they just kept pointing fingers at who should help us. A trip to the front desk to speak with the "manager" did not get us anywhere. After another 15 minutes (35 minutes total), we walked across the street to the diner and had wonderful service and a very good meal. Also, room service promised breakfast in 10-15 minutes but that took 35-40 minutes. A call to voice my displeasure resulted in a reply that nobody on site had the authority to reverse the charge. The lobby furnishings and décor are very nice. The rest of the hotel is in desperate need of a makeover with an odd smell of disinfectant permeating the hallways. Bottom line - stay elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda R, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Gary,
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve during your recent dining experience with us. Please know that this is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned with our food and beverage team. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Regards,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I travelled in late for a 1 day meeting from Seattle. I arrived very late in the evening, and worked late with colleagues in the lobby bar. It was unfortunate the bar food and rest closed before I got there, I was starving. Breakfast was decent, nice egg white omelets, standard bucket coffee. Rooms are clean, nice, beds were average.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Wetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A few years ago they tore down the Tarrytown Hilton and rebuilt it, opening as the Doubletree by Hilton Tarrytown. Not sure who designed the place, but the elevators don't service all of the "split level" layout of the rooms. The noise level between rooms was also one of the worst I have been in. I have been in several functions at the hotel, but had never stayed there. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tedb548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrived on a Thursday evening and stayed through Tuesday. Coffee available in lobby the a.m. but was a bit late on Saturday a.m. Restaurant convenient for lunch or dinner and food was delicious. Bar was available and convenient. Bartenders were great.

Front desk staff was accommodating and informative when needed. Housekeeping was attentive although got to the room very late in the afternoon.

Bathroom vanity area was so small and cluttered. No room for personal items.

Overall a good experience and I'd go back again.

Room Tip: The first floor levels may require steps in order to get to and from the lobby.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyndi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda R, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Regards,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband, son and I stayed at this hotel for the Memorial Day weekend. Honestly, from the outside, the hotel looks very dated and worn down. However, upon entering, we were quite surprised. The hotel is very clean, with appropriate decor. The bed was soft and there was ample storage space in the room. The only con was the air conditioner. We had it set to the lowest (65F) but the room still did not get very cold. The best part of our stay was the food. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was superb. We opted for room service the next am for breakfast which was equally as great. We will definitely stay here again should we have plans to be in the area. This hotel would be a great option for an in-town getaway as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diva26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda R, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for this five star review! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Regards,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at the Tarrytown Doubletree on a very busy weekend. The room was comfortable--great sheets! There were a lot of kids running around in the lobby and hallways. The staff looked exhausted and fried by the time I got there late on a Friday night, but they could not have been more cordial and helpful. The building is a bit sprawling and the elevator old and small. It was more pleasant to take the stairs.I had some trouble with my key, and a very kind, polite, young man named Tyrone went back upstairs with me, helped me with my bags and got the key to work for me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Donna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
0.8 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
0.9 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown

Address: 455 S Broadway, Tarrytown, NY 10591-6002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#3 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range: £130 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 11 acres of landscaped grounds in the heart of the Hudson Valley, the Doubletree by Hilton Tarrytown comprises 246 guest rooms, 24,000 square feet of meeting and pre-function space, the largest Grand Ballroom in Westchester County, a Business Center, indoor pool, day spa, sauna, and state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary parking, complimentary WiFi access in guest rooms and Bistro Z restaurant—offering a country atmosphere and friendly service for both business guests and vacationers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tarrytown Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hilton
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Tarrytown New York - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing