We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Nearby Hotels
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel(Tarrytown)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Westchester County(Tarrytown)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westchester Marriott(Tarrytown)
US$201
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$452
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,555)
Filter reviews
1,555 results
Traveller rating
883
353
187
85
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
883
353
187
85
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking mansionoutdoor poolbeautiful groundscellar restaurantconference centerfire pitracquetball courtgreat weekendbusiness conferencenew yorkbuffet breakfastsleepy hollowguest roomswingsputnampropertywedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
952 - 957 of 1,555 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stay here often and absolutely love it. I'll stay nowhere else in Tarrytown (or surrounding towns) and love the Cellar. New fall/winter menu is perfect for the weather. I've never had a bad meal in the Cellar. Great respite for NYC dwellers. A short drive or train ride from the city and you get treated like royalty. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkandKerry65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hello CorkandKerry65,

We are thrilled to have hosted you again and thank you for taking the time to share your review with our Trip Advisor community!

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our new seasonal menu in our Cellar 49! As we do update our menu seasonally, please plan a return visit to experience!

All the best in your future travels and thank you for making Tarrytown House your choice to stay in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My friend and I wanted to do all things Halloween in Tarrytown, Sleepy Hollow, and the Pumpkin Blaze at Croton-on-the-Hudson. We booked a double luxury room at this hotel and everything was perfection from the moment we viewed the gorgeous grounds driving up the hill to this estate. The staff is beyond friendly and accommodating - the general manager John was so helpful. We are two high school friends that do travel trips for fun and this one tops the list! We are already planning a return stay here. The Tarrytown House is just off the Tappan Zee Bridge - it is absolutely the best location for doing this area of the Hudson. We stayed two nights and on our last day thought we would check out the Castle on the Hudson for breakfast. Don't even bother; the staff there was beyond chilly and not friendly at all! This is truly a beautiful place to stay - and I would imagine a perfect spot for a business conference!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hello Rasscat,

Thank you for selecting the Tarrytown House as your choice to stay during your visit to the home of Halloween! This is such a beautiful time of year in this area with many activities to celebrate the season. We know you have many options and happy to have had the chance to host you and your friend.

We hope to welcome you back to our Estate in the future and wish you all the best in your continued travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I wanted to just go away for the weekend to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. I googled around and found Tarrytown House. I coildnt have been happier with my choice. The grounds are gorgeous! The staff were super friendly! The rooms and entire estate was clean and decorated beautifully for October. The breakfast at the Biddle Mansion was delicious. They even offered complimentary apple cider donuts with little bags to put them in on our way out of the breakfast buffet. The grounds are gorgeous and we enjoyed looking around and taking pictures. Overall we will be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanineD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hello JeanineD4,

Congratulations on your recent 10 year anniversary! We are thrilled that you selected the Tarrytown House to spend this special occasion and delighted that we did not dissapoint. We take much pride in hosting life events, such as weddings and anniversaries, and do hope we can host you again!

All the best in your future travels and hope to see you soon at the Tarrytown House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

As we entered the grounds leading to the hotel, we were charmed by the beautifully manicured lawns, the gorgeous flowers and the specimen trees dotting the entryway.The staff were pleasant, but we were surprised that there would be a hold on our credit card of $80 each day of the stay in case we were to use any of the incidentals, something we had not been aware of when we booked the hotel. We had fully paid for the hotel, and did not use any incidentals, but were informed the hold would be removed once we checked out. For those of you wanting to stay for more than a few days, this is something you need to be aware of.
Our room was a bit disappointing. Small and neat, but dimly lit at any time of the day and our room was very far away from the entrance. Only one part of the hotel has an elevator, and if you do have a lot of luggage, then walking the distance after a long trip is not ideal. Although we do not have health issues, if you have joint/heart/medical issues, you may want to consider this when making a reservation.
There is no fan in the washroom, and one can hear people snore in the adjacent room, even if you are a deep sleeper like I am.
It is located approximately a mile and a half from downtown Tarrytown, but the traffic from the hotel to downtown Tarrytown can cause several delays, especially in rush hour, so you may need to give yourself some leeway ( extra time ) to reach your destination.
Overall, it's a great spot if you are a part of a wedding or conference, but if one expects the interior of the hotel room to be as magnificent as the outdoors, then it is disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveld0c123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hello Traveld0c123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with our Trip Advisor community. We were delighted to have you as our guest during your recent visit.

We appreciate the positve comments you shared in relation to the beauty of our grounds. As a historic Estate, we take much pride in this up keep and are happy to hear you enjoyed this.

I also want to thank you for some areas where you feel we could improve. Unfortunately as a historic property, we are limited with elevators much like a traditional hotel, and will continue to make sure our guests are aware that there may be some walking involved during your stay.

However, much like all hotels, we do require a hold on a credit card for incidentals. I apologize if you were not aware of this prior and will ensure our reservations team continues to disclose this information to all our geusts when making reservations.

We would love to have you back to our property in the future and hope we will visit us again.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed there just one night. The grounds are beautiful, so that's the big draw here. The hotel itself is fine, but you need to do a lot of walking and climbing to get from place to place. If you're traveling without a car the location is not very convenient. I think it's a great spot for business meetings.



grounds are beautiful, so that's the big

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hello Debbie L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with our Trip Advisor community.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful grounds here at the property. As a historic estate with 12 buildings on 26 rolling acres, we receive many accolodes on the environment that has been created . Unfortunately some walking is required to experience, however happy to hear you enjoyed the beauty that we are known for.

We welcome you back in the future and wish you all the best in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews