We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful setting. Some of the buildings on the grounds belonged to Biddle and to Duke money (information can be found on their web site as to their history).

The rooms are housed in newer modern buildings and while nicely appointed it is A MAZE just to find your way through the hallways! Our room was on the 1st floor, the elevator is hard to find once you are where the rooms are, once you do find it it only goes to the 3rd floor! The lobby is on the 5th floor! We got lost so many times trying to navigate the hallways! And we weren't the only ones. Other guests would stop us and ask us how to get somewhere in the hotel and we could not help them anymore than how we were helping ourselves!

The easiest way to get to our rooms was to park in one of the lots closest to our section. Sounds great, until you get there and have to lug your suitcase uphill to the entrance. Then it's a series of steps! The entrance to our building took us to the 2nd floor and being on the 1st floor we had to walk down the steps, usually not a problem but with luggage this is not so easy!

Everytime we asked someone that worked at the hotel how the best way to get from our room to where ever we wanted to go in the hotel we got different answers and always ended up in a strange unfamiliar location!

When they added the hotel wings couldn't they have made the eleavator go to every floor!!!

The signage is very bad too. Believe me when I say that the place was a maze. Easy to get lost in (which is not a comfortable feeling).

If handicapped I would imagine that they would have certain rooms set aside for that purpose and for those that simply can not handle the steep hills and many steps just to get to their room.

We also remarked that in case of a fire we would just break the window of our room and go out that way (we were on the 1st floor after all). To go any other way would be a maze!

I would stay here again as the location is great for the Tarrytown, Sleepy Hollow area. The rooms are nice, the staff is friendly and their restaurant Cellar 49 is well worth the trip too!

Next time I am asking for a room that is not so hard to get to though!

Room Tip: Ask for directions !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnowl108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello barnowl108

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review with our trip advisor community. We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking at ways to enhance our guests experience.

I am sorry to hear you found our layout to be challenging. With a historical property such as ours we have done our best to offer maps, online assistance, and our staff to assist those that may have challenges amongst our historical layout. Although there are minimal elevators, our guests do remark at the beauty of the Estate as they are walking from mansion to mansion.

We will continue to offer more assistance to those guests challenges with our layout and thank you for your reccomendations.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We went to my niece's wedding and stayed overnight. Ordered Room Service for breakfast. Breakfast was overpriced and they made a lot
of mistakes. I ordered 3 basted eggs which came with potatoes and no
bread to dunk the yellow in the eggs and a pot of regular coffee for one.
Had to call up and ask for bread (eggs were cold by the time I got it.)
My bill was $37.00 for just myself. I can drink 2 cups of coffee but not
6. My children and grandchildren had their own room service which would have cost $100 but only one item (bacon) was right. My daughter-in-law said they took off the whole charge but they did not enjoy the
breakfast which was all wrong except for the bacon. Aside from the
room service the place is beautiful and the wedding was beautiful. The
cocktail hour and dinner was outstanding because the matri'd was excellent.

Room Tip: I had a bad fall a year ago May and broke the femur in my left leg and have a rod. I use a walker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaRubensteinPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello PatriciaRubensteinPi

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at our Estate. Congratulations on your neice's wedding as we were thrilled to have hosted.

I am sorry to hear you did not have a good experience with our room service. We value this feedback and will use as we continually look at areas we can improve our guests experience.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back with the hopes of exceeding your expecations.

All the best in your future travels and hope to see you again soon at the Estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I’m giving 4 stars because the room felt a bit outdated and was lacking based on the room rate. Glass cups in the bathroom would be better than disposable plastic cups. There aren’t any towel bars except a double hook on the back of the bathroom door. There is nothing to hold onto when getting in and out of the very slippery bathtub. A couple of grab bars would be a big help with that. A nightlight in the bathroom would be helpful at night. I did not like hearing neighboring hotel room doors slamming so loud that it startled me. The best part of my stay was the breakfast buffet, complete with made-to-order waffle and omelet stations. Everyone at this hotel was very cheerful and helpful. It’s a great central location for tourists. It is located close to Lyndhurst and right across the street from Washington Irving’s Sunnyside. We enjoyed our stay and would come back in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chutneyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello chutneyluv

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our Estate after your most recent stay. We appreciate the feedack you shared with us both positively and in areas you feel we can enhance our guests experience. I am especially happy to hear you had good experiences what is our greatest asset- our people!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Estate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Wow! Beautiful hotel and located only 40 min from manhattan. Room is perfect and modern. Far worth the money and it such a quaint town. Flat screen television with plenty of stations and a view to die for of the Hudson. The restaurant is awesome but a little pricy. Enjoy your stay! Hope this helped you!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Joseph Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hello Joseph Q

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our Estate with our Trip Avisor community. It is reviews like yours that have made us the top choice in Westchester County and the Lower Hudson Valley!

We are thrilled that you found our destination easy to get to from New York City, and do invite you to continue to check our website that may make it easier for you to visit us sooner than you think!

All the best in your future travels and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I had to travel to New York for a relative's funeral services. The services were further south in West Chester county but all other hotels in that area with good TripAdvisor ratings and reasonable rates were booked. This was apparently due to a visit to the area by President Obama. Ironically, Obama's visit was to Tarrytown and the only good hotel we could find was the Tarrytown House in Tarrytown. We payed $209/night (exclusive of tax) and this included the full American buffet breakfast for both my wife and myself. The buffet breakfast, if purchased alone as opposed to part of a B & B package was $25/person. Check-in was friendly and fast. We were helped to our room with our luggage and given a very informative overview of the facilities. The room was spotless and nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable and provided a good nights sleep. The vanity/sink was in an open area between the bedroom an the toilet and bath/shower room. The toilet/bath are was a little tight but very clean and well maintained. The buffet breakfast in the morning was amazing. There were selections for virtually all tastes and diets and everything we tried was perfectly prepared and delicious. Check-out was quick and easy. The only potential drawback is the distance that you may have to park from the building that your room is located in unless you have handicap privileges. Overall, I'm glad we stayed here. It was worth the few more minutes of driving that we had to do.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGoodBadandFugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Please accept our condolonces for the loss which brought you and your wife to Tarrytown and our Estate.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to experience our breakfast in the Winter Palace.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property and wish you all the best in your future travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed for business, nice room normal size, great restaurant on site. Breakfast was excellent and much better than expected. Hotel is large. I did not see the pool or the gym but both were nice to have if I had time. would stay again for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hello Bill K-

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review of your recent stay at our Estate. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and were able to enjoy a great breakfast in our Winter Palace!

We are officially opening our pool Memorial Day weekend and invite you to visit us again to experience all the amenities our historic Estate has to offer.

All the best in your future travels and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed at the Tarrytown House again--what can I say but this is the best lodging in the entire Tarrytown area. This facility beats any other chain or otherwise hands down. You start with a friendly, knowledgeable staff, enter into a spectacular lobby with the view of a garden no matter where you look, then you go to your room, which is always clean, always smells fresh and always has everything necessary for a great trip. The experience ends with a perfect night's sleep, a fresh cup of coffee either in your room or in the lobby, and probably the easiest check out anywhere.. What a place. I'm glad i found it and I've now stayed there exclusively my last 6 trips to the area.

Room Tip: If you are in a Putnam room, you can park near the exit and have entrance to the rooms right near yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEVE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hello Steve S

What a pleasure it is to welcome you back to our Estate! We appreciate you continuing to make our property your choice in the area and happy to hear we have not dissapointed!

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrytown
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
513 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
597 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range: £86 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown Dolce House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson New York - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing