We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Weekend Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pelham, New York
2 reviews
“Lovely Weekend Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just spent a weekend away with my wife for our anniversary at the Tarrytown House and had a perfectly lovely experience. The grounds are beautiful, the buildings well-maintained and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. We had cocktails and dinner both nights at their Cellar 49 and were very pleased with the fare and the service (John is a fabulous raconteur and runs a tight ship). The location was a perfect home base for touring several of the famous Hudson River Valley estates, though we couldn't make it to all the sites. Even though there were weddings both days of the weekend we stayed we never felt rushed or overlooked. Overall we had a great and relaxing time and are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aascharf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello aascharf

Congratulations on your anniversary. We are thrilled to have had the opportunity to host you during this special weekend and thank you for sharing your review of our Estate with our Trip Advisor community.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Estate and visiting our Cellar 49 again!

All the best in your future travels and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    307
    155
    70
    28
See reviews for
287
623
56
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Quite nice but not a very warm place, henceforth the Business Hotel classification description. A bit confusing layout of the rooms and other amenities. Breakfast is quite expensive ($20 to $25 per person). Indoor pool and hot tub very clean.

Room Tip: Our room was to have a river view, however it was blocked by the trees - a summer issue so be aware
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HOIMAGING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our Estate. We appreciate the feedback you shared with our Trip Advisor community.

I am sorry to hear you found the Estate to be be too business in nature. Although we do host many conferences, we also host many social affairs such as weddings as well as many Leisure travelers who enjoy the grounds and amenities of what we provide.

We wish you all the best in your future travels and do hope to welcome you back to the Estate, whether for business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from a weekend at the Tarrytown House. Although the property is impressive, it seemed more geared for large events than the casual traveler. While we were there there were three weddings. The parking situation was not good, and we were lucky to find a spot. The staff was very pleasant at check-in and check out, and offered many suggestions for area dining. The location is great, convenient to dining and attractions in Irvington, and Sleepy Hollow. Our room had a courtyard view, and we noticed that the landscaping seemed a bit neglected. The beds were comfortable. Room was a bit small, and our main complaint is the bathroom. The toilet and tub/shower are in a separate area, adjacent to the single sink. There is a fan/light combination that throws minimal light. Even with a light colored shower curtain, I did not opt to shower or attempt to shave my legs with such poor lighting and no grab bars, We also did not notice elevators, hopefully there is one, because getting to one's room can involve a lot of stairs and walking. If you have any mobility issues, be sure to ask.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neese39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello Neese39

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review with our Trip Advisor community. We appreciate your feedback on areas where we met expectations your expecations. We also appreciate the feedback you shared on some areas for opportunity as we listen to this feedback to continually enhance our guests experience.

All the best in your future travels and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oreland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful setting. Some of the buildings on the grounds belonged to Biddle and to Duke money (information can be found on their web site as to their history).

The rooms are housed in newer modern buildings and while nicely appointed it is A MAZE just to find your way through the hallways! Our room was on the 1st floor, the elevator is hard to find once you are where the rooms are, once you do find it it only goes to the 3rd floor! The lobby is on the 5th floor! We got lost so many times trying to navigate the hallways! And we weren't the only ones. Other guests would stop us and ask us how to get somewhere in the hotel and we could not help them anymore than how we were helping ourselves!

The easiest way to get to our rooms was to park in one of the lots closest to our section. Sounds great, until you get there and have to lug your suitcase uphill to the entrance. Then it's a series of steps! The entrance to our building took us to the 2nd floor and being on the 1st floor we had to walk down the steps, usually not a problem but with luggage this is not so easy!

Everytime we asked someone that worked at the hotel how the best way to get from our room to where ever we wanted to go in the hotel we got different answers and always ended up in a strange unfamiliar location!

When they added the hotel wings couldn't they have made the eleavator go to every floor!!!

The signage is very bad too. Believe me when I say that the place was a maze. Easy to get lost in (which is not a comfortable feeling).

If handicapped I would imagine that they would have certain rooms set aside for that purpose and for those that simply can not handle the steep hills and many steps just to get to their room.

We also remarked that in case of a fire we would just break the window of our room and go out that way (we were on the 1st floor after all). To go any other way would be a maze!

I would stay here again as the location is great for the Tarrytown, Sleepy Hollow area. The rooms are nice, the staff is friendly and their restaurant Cellar 49 is well worth the trip too!

Next time I am asking for a room that is not so hard to get to though!

Room Tip: Ask for directions !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barnowl108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello barnowl108

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review with our trip advisor community. We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking at ways to enhance our guests experience.

I am sorry to hear you found our layout to be challenging. With a historical property such as ours we have done our best to offer maps, online assistance, and our staff to assist those that may have challenges amongst our historical layout. Although there are minimal elevators, our guests do remark at the beauty of the Estate as they are walking from mansion to mansion.

We will continue to offer more assistance to those guests challenges with our layout and thank you for your reccomendations.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We went to my niece's wedding and stayed overnight. Ordered Room Service for breakfast. Breakfast was overpriced and they made a lot
of mistakes. I ordered 3 basted eggs which came with potatoes and no
bread to dunk the yellow in the eggs and a pot of regular coffee for one.
Had to call up and ask for bread (eggs were cold by the time I got it.)
My bill was $37.00 for just myself. I can drink 2 cups of coffee but not
6. My children and grandchildren had their own room service which would have cost $100 but only one item (bacon) was right. My daughter-in-law said they took off the whole charge but they did not enjoy the
breakfast which was all wrong except for the bacon. Aside from the
room service the place is beautiful and the wedding was beautiful. The
cocktail hour and dinner was outstanding because the matri'd was excellent.

Room Tip: I had a bad fall a year ago May and broke the femur in my left leg and have a rod. I use a walker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaRubensteinPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello PatriciaRubensteinPi

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at our Estate. Congratulations on your neice's wedding as we were thrilled to have hosted.

I am sorry to hear you did not have a good experience with our room service. We value this feedback and will use as we continually look at areas we can improve our guests experience.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back with the hopes of exceeding your expecations.

All the best in your future travels and hope to see you again soon at the Estate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I’m giving 4 stars because the room felt a bit outdated and was lacking based on the room rate. Glass cups in the bathroom would be better than disposable plastic cups. There aren’t any towel bars except a double hook on the back of the bathroom door. There is nothing to hold onto when getting in and out of the very slippery bathtub. A couple of grab bars would be a big help with that. A nightlight in the bathroom would be helpful at night. I did not like hearing neighboring hotel room doors slamming so loud that it startled me. The best part of my stay was the breakfast buffet, complete with made-to-order waffle and omelet stations. Everyone at this hotel was very cheerful and helpful. It’s a great central location for tourists. It is located close to Lyndhurst and right across the street from Washington Irving’s Sunnyside. We enjoyed our stay and would come back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chutneyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello chutneyluv

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our Estate after your most recent stay. We appreciate the feedack you shared with us both positively and in areas you feel we can enhance our guests experience. I am especially happy to hear you had good experiences what is our greatest asset- our people!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Estate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Wow! Beautiful hotel and located only 40 min from manhattan. Room is perfect and modern. Far worth the money and it such a quaint town. Flat screen television with plenty of stations and a view to die for of the Hudson. The restaurant is awesome but a little pricy. Enjoy your stay! Hope this helped you!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello Joseph Q

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our Estate with our Trip Avisor community. It is reviews like yours that have made us the top choice in Westchester County and the Lower Hudson Valley!

We are thrilled that you found our destination easy to get to from New York City, and do invite you to continue to check our website that may make it easier for you to visit us sooner than you think!

All the best in your future travels and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
1.4 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#4 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Property: Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Tarrytown Dolce House
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson New York - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing