We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I believe I have reviewed this hotel before especially since I've been staying here for years. However this past weekend was the first time I went for a wedding. The place has always been amazing from the comfortable bed and pillows to the outstanding customer service. The food at Cellar 49 has always been great too. All I can say was the wedding was beautiful and the service was outstanding. The food was just as good as the restaurant which is big since cooking for 40 is completely different than 250. I can never give this place enough great reviews.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing. However if you are older and can't do stairs ask for a room on the 5th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Morgana692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Hello Morgana692

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent review with our Trip Advisor community. We are very excited to hear you found our property to be a great fit for the wedding you attended and happy that we have had the opportunity to welcome you back to the Estate!

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future and wish you all the best in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

767 - 773 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is set in a beautiful, historic location with some great amenities, but the best part is how nice the staff is, without exception. Really kind and helpful people. It is also located within easy range of NYC. My wife and I were looking a quick Saturday night getaway from Brooklyn as this would be the first time our 23-month-old son was sleeping over his grandparents' house. Frankly, we were looking for a bit of romance and we found it here. Our dinner at Cellar 49 was excellent for its service, food (particularly the steak and the Belgian waffles dessert), and romantic ambiance. We also had the buffet breakfast that was included with our room package and it was delicious and a bit decadent! The hotel room was quite and comfortable, and there were only a few other people in the indoor pool on Saturday afternoon, and on Sunday morning we had it and the hot tub to ourselves. Plus, a racquetball court! I played for the first time in 20 years and didn't die. Overall, we had a blast and wished we could stay longer. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PwopyChulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Hello PwopyChulo

We were so happy you chose Tarrytown House as your location for your romantic getaway. I am thrilled to hear that we did not dissapoint and you found our ambiance perfect for what you were looking for! I am also very happy to hear that you found our staff to be our greatest asset, as they truly are!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and wish you all the best in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel grounds are immaculate and beautiful! However the indoor pool room was in desperate need of maintenance and tender loving care. The pool room alone was around 100 degrees and the pool water was just like warm bath water. Then while we were in the pool with our little kids some random very scandalous dressed women and their pimps showed up with huge cameras and started taking pictures and some video for Rap video I guess. It was very inappropriate and completely tacky and made us feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmindy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hello kmindy98

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your most recent stay at our Estate. We appreciate you sharing this with our Trip Advisor community.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our grounds however dissapointed that you found the indoor pool temperatures not to your expectations. We do check these on a daily basis and will share this feedback as we continually look to improve.

I am also very dissapointed to hear that there was a video of some kind being taken for commercial use. This is strictly prohibited at our property and we will be looking into how this was conducted.

We invite you to visit us again as we would love to exceed your future expecations. We wish you all the best in your future travels and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Atop a hill overlooking the Hudson River and away from the traffic and bustle of the town, the Tarrytown Estate and Conference center offers close proximity to all the tourist sites and exceptional accommodations. The grounds are so interesting that one is beckoned to walk the flowered paths passing sculptures and mansions. As one walks the staff greets you with a genuine smile and a hello. No matter where you might be, the administration will stop to say hello and engage you in conversation. The breakfast is a must; you are offered a beautiful buffet of numerous items individually prepared in the Biddle mansion overlooking the grounds and the pool. Be sure to include a dining night at Cellar 49 where the ambience, the food and the staff are outstanding. We enjoyed our first evening so much that that we returned for a second night.

Room Tip: Kings, jr suite, presidential
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hello Sally M

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with our Trip Advisor community. We were thrilled to have hosted you and happy to hear we did not dissapoint!

We hope to welcome you back to the property in the very near future and wish you all the best in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend for our anniversary. The grounds of the estate were beautiful and well-kept. The location is a short 5 minute drive from the Irvington metro-north station, making it an easy trip from NYC. The staff was helpful and very friendly. There's an easy hiking, biking, and running trail close-by that runs along the Hudson River. The hotel is also close to local landmarks and great restaurants. We didn't have a chance to eat at Cellar 49, Tarrytown's restaurant, but some guests recommended it for brunch. Overall, the experience was wonderful. The beds were cozy, and the room was clean.The indoor pool and spa area were nice, but the outdoor pool was even better and had a bar right on the deck. I wish I could have stayed longer here! If you're heading to restaurants on the river, many guests are waiting for taxis at the same time. It's cost- savvy to carpool with other guests to these areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hello Janine D

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review of your recent stay at our Estate. We were delighted to have hosted you and happy to hear we did not dissapoint!

We look forward to welcome you back for future special occasions like anniversaries and wish you all the best in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Located on the grounds of a former estate with a pleasant environment and fine amenities. Superior restaurant, comfortable rooms, lots of lawn to wander over, sit on a bench and enjoy the fountain. Tennis, swim, exercise, or just kick back and have a glass of wine. We spent four nights here while touring the region and it was a pleasure in the evening to return to genuine comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YerBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hello YerBuddy

Thank you for taking the time out to share your most recent review of our Estate. We were delighted to have hosted you and thrilled Tarrytown House was your choice during your visit to the area!

We hope to welcome you back again real soon and wish you all the best in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at the Tarrytown House. We were extremely impressed with the grounds and facilities. The service exceeded our expectations and we were treated graciously at every turn. The property provides a unique respite and it is so conveniently located just minutes outside of NYC. They made our stay comfortable and extremely special. I believe that they would have treated us this way even if it had not been our anniversary. That's why we will be returning.

Room Tip: If you would like a truly romantic experience, stay in the Mansion and select a balcony room overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mtnbikinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THECC, Director of Sales at Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hello Mtnbikinggirl

Congratulations on your recent wedding anniversary! We were thrilled to have hosted you for such a special occasion and happy to hear our property did not dissapoint!

We would love to welcome you back for your 21st wedding anniversary and become that special getaway for you! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
502 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.5 mi away
Westchester Marriott
Westchester Marriott
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson

Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln, Tarrytown, NY 10591-9500 (Formerly Tarrytown House Estate & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Family Hotel in Tarrytown
#2 Green Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range: £118 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 25 miles from Midtown Manhattan this estate blends historical charm with modern conveniences. Residing on 26-acres overlooking the Lower Hudson River Valley, well-appointed lodging is found at Tarrytown House Estate, featuring impressive 19th-century mansions - King Mansion and Biddle Mansion - a Carriage House and The Cottage. A Perfect getaway for a weekend adult escape from the city or a destination wedding. Tarrytown House Estate offers luxurious Hudson Valley lodging and amenities. This landmark hotel in Westchester, NY features extensive leisure and recreational facilities such as a fitness center, family friendly heated indoor pool and a seasonal adult only outdoor pool. The estate also offers seasonal/complimentary basketball, volleyball, bocce, horse-shoes and tennis courts. Historic Westchester County proves to enhance a visitor's Hudson Valley lodging experience with incredible opportunities for Hudson River Valley antiquing, boating, hiking and sightseeing. Enjoy any or all of these activities among the rich and historic atmosphere known as home to Westchester, New York's famous sites including the Washington Irving's Sunnyside, Philipsburg Manor and the spectacular Rockefeller estate, Kykuit. While staying at Tarrytown House Estate, guests can experience the many attractions that the Hudson Valley has to offer including the scenic Hudson Park, Neuberger Museum of Art, Grand Prix New York Racing, and the Cortlandt Heritage Museum. The hotel is also located only 5 miles away from Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture where guests can enjoy various dishes made from locally grown produce and ingredients at the center's restaurant, Blue Hill at Stone Barns. The hotel is also near the United States Military Academy at West Point, offering convenient accommodations during graduation or family events at the academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson Hotel Tarrytown
Tarrytown Hotel Estate
Tarrytown House Hotel
Dolce Tarrytown House
Tarrytown Dolce House
Tarrytown House Estate On The Hudson New York - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing