We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two fire alarms in three nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westchester Marriott
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding. The first room they gave us had not been properly cleaned, had mold on the box spring, and had an unusually strong fragrance in the room which I imagine was to cover up another scent. They switched us to another room which was slightly better, but did not have working heat.
After getting in the new room we were not able to find a room service menu so we called for one. After half an hour of waiting for it, I went downstairs to get one, which took an additional 20 minutes.

To top off the first night there, a fire alarm went off at 6 in the morning and myself, my wife and two year old rushed outside to the 35 degree weather improperly dressed. It was a false alarm.

Our third and last night there, we had another fire alarm, which of course was a false alarm.

The best thing about this hotel is the food, however the service was painfully slow.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Chache15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel during my friend's wedding, and were very happy with it. The room was a good size, very clean, and I liked the bathroom design. Check in and check out was very prompt and efficient. We weren't there long, but we have no complaints! Would definitely stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libbiebess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at Marriott for our high school reunion. A lot had changed since I moved away 33 years ago. Road signage was small and hard to see. Room was fine but air conditioning didn't work too well. I think they overbooked for the banquet. We weren't eating dinner until very late 8:30p or 8:45p. The food was great but wine prices were very high, but maybe that is New York??

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I booked on line for the Marriott/Westchester in Tarrytown New York and requested:
1. Quite room
2. High floor
3. Refrigerator
4. Late Arrival
5. Double Beds.
We got three out of the five requests. The Quite room had signs posted for quiet between 10pm and 8am. Our room was right next door to the Presidents Suite which was hosting a party that lasted well into the night. We asked at the front desk and were told to check back around 10pm with the front desk. We toughed it out and finally called down around midnight and were told that security would be up. It did not arrive. Ever. Doors slammed, voices could be heard all down the hall and more.
This hotel has been somewhat upgraded but not to the price of $269 per night. Our room rugs were dirty and beat. There is no room in the bath for a women’s’ supplies of cosmetics. The light was dim in the bath and make-up could not be applied there. We were given a king room that had not been used in a long time as it had limited linen until the next day when the room was made up. There was a chair in the room that needed a foot stool to be comfortable, but it had none. The floor lamp by the chair didn’t work.
The lobby had been somewhat upgraded but it has a long way to go to be useable. No privacy and little space for seating.
The breakfast restaurant is also a bar. Pricey, service not so hot on the weekend. There is a buffet but if you don’t eat $18.00 worth of food in one sitting than it is not useful. The average breakfast for two people was $40.00 with tip. My order was not correct on either day, and the servers did not check back except to bring the check. The food was just so-so when it did arrive.
They were busy on the weekend, with three weddings and several other events including a reunion. The best service person we encountered was the bellman. He was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room as the groups are normally on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel while visiting family in White Plains. After driving by it so many times, seeing it from the thruway and I-287, I am so glad we stayed here. First they were very good about letting us check in early. They also have updated elevators, an indoor atrium pool and hot tub and nice bath and body stuff in the rooms. Hope to stay here again. They also have a Ruth Chris's Steakhouse which looked good, but very expensive. Hudson Valley Restaurant Week is approaching in November though which is good to know.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

So far, my benchmark for customer service is the Disney Contemporary at Disney World - to fair that was over 20 years ago but the service was amazing - this Marriott ranks up there with the Disney Contemporary - excellent service all around - from front desk staff to security to cleaning staff - simply the best Marriott (and one of the best hotels) I've stayed at - period.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickraglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1 night before an early morning seminar. Front desk staff was very friendly and well presented. Room was spacious enough but the bathroom was a bit cramped. Bed was comfortable although I think needs to be updated soon. Quiet rooms other than when the pool is open. If you have a view of that, it's pretty but not as quiet. The fruit infused water was a nice treat in the lobby along with the trail mix. Breakfast buffet and luncheon were very good for the seminar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catboatsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarrytown
1.5 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tarrytown Westchester County
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
513 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westchester Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westchester Marriott

Address: 670 White Plains Rd, Tarrytown, NY 10591-5195
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range: £84 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westchester Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westchester Marriott is a modern hotel in Tarrytown, New York offering premium guest amenities including two on-site restaurants, a pool and high-tech meeting facilities perfect for a leisure or business vacation. We provide an ideal location near West Point and Sleepy Hollow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Westchester Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westchester Marriott Hotel Tarrytown
Marriott Hotel Tarrytown
Marriott Hotel Westchester
Marriott Tarrytown
Tarrytown Marriott
Westchester Marriott Tarrytown, New York - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing