We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good = not that bad- I'm not good with titles.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westchester Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westchester Marriott
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
East Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good = not that bad- I'm not good with titles.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here for a week while I was on business. The hotel is nice and has a good layout. The elevators seem state of the art which I'm not sure if anyone would stay here for the elevators. I liked that the hotel had restaurants in it. After, a long day of work, travel, or fun it's nice not having to think about where to go. The exercise and pool facilities were excellent.
The reason I did not give it a 5/5 was some minor cleanliness issues (dirty curtains) and the fact that you had to pay for wifi (it was ~$12/day). However, most rates include it. I also did not like that there was no free breakfast, again I think that depends how you purchase the room.

Room Tip: Try Cooper's Mill restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jshwhln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    222
    93
    38
    28
See reviews for
124
123
35
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Although this is based on a stay of only one night, I travel enough to know that even that can be easily botched by a bad property. Gratefully, this wasn't the case at the Westchester Marriott. Initially I had picked it because of the convenience of having Ruth's Chris connected to the hotel. Food, drink, sleep. But the friendliness of the staff and the amenities offered by the property, raised my interest. It's a full service hotel located across from a business plaza, so it obviously caters to business clientele. Therefore, check in was swift, efficient and with a smile. I was prepared for less than that because we prepaid through a discount third party site, but we were treated just as nicely and professionally as if we had paid rack rate. Kudos to the Front Desk Staff.
The rooms are comfortably consistent with the Marriot product. Clean and roomy with a flat screen TV. The bed was comfortable with a duvet and nice soft pillows (which work for me). The bathroom was of average size with good water pressure and very nice shampoos and soaps. I was pleasantly surprised that we had a small balcony that looked into the atrium where the pool and hot tub are located.
The pool is freeform and large for an interior pool. No diving though. They also have a proper hot tub with working jets. You have to search for the timer though. It's located on the column next to the hot tub's lift for the physically challenged (trying to be PC here).
If you're looking for the fitness center, it's downstairs in the basement level. You can access it from the pool area. I didn't have time to use it, but it was a big area and seemed well equipped.
Another surprise was that there was a day spa on premises. Tatiana's had a full menu of services so if you're there for an event, you don't have far to go.
It does seem popular for weddings though since I noticed a lot of welcome gifts for incoming guests. That's a hint in case you want to avoid being stuck on a floor where the after party is happening. If you see that in your case, you might want to take the opportunity to request a room in a quieter area. The hotel is big enough, so unless it's sold out, that shouldn't be a problem.
All things considered, we had a great stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Be observant when checking in. If you see wedding gifts behind the front counter or a crowded lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larryort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Apparently, a local college puts their students up in the Westchester Marriott. There is a school security guard in addition to the hotel's security. Blasting music and the usual noise and hustle and bustle you would associate with a college dorm. When you call the front desk, they very purposefully do not tell you about the students. We found out from a hotel employee who was walking about. For the rates this hotel is charging, you'd be better off at a competitor without the dorm atmosphere - unless you like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_janzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Manager at Westchester Marriott, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay at our hotel. Please rest assured that our many years of success operating in Westchester, have been built upon the fact that we take great pride in offering a secure and restful environment for all our guests. We are always committed to making all of our guests satisfied. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly at 914-333-1202. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 735 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here overnight on business. I didn't have a car so the area has nothing within in walking distance. It was a $20 cab ride to nearby White Plains to get out for the afternoon and $15 to the Metro North train station.
The hotel itself is nice. The lobby is welcoming, spacious and quite inviting. Lobby bar very nice, comfortable and friendly service. Check in was very nice and professional. At check in it was confirmed the room I had (always like that) I was asked how my trip in was.
The room itself (#239) was basically a typical Marriott room. Nothing really characteristic or local aspect to the room. Very comfortable bed, air cooling system that worked well and great internet connection (very fast!).
I read some of the other reviews and I had a much different experience with the hotel staff, that is, I had many welcoming comments, greetings of hello, etc. from the staff.
Negatives - I would have to say the bathroom is very tiny. Many of the tv stations did not work. I kept getting signal issues. Also, the concierge lounge is not open on Sunday evenings. Most Marriott hotels have concierge lounge access on Sunday evenings particularly for people like me who are there on Sundays for Monday a.m. meetings.
Other than that the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brklynrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was here for a business conference. We were supposed to be in a room with 2 beds, we ended up in a room with 1 king and a pull out, the pull out is a joke, like sleeping on a slinky....When I called to ask if there was anything else they could do, they said they would send up more padding, when it came it was a mattress cover and the house keeper refused to put it on. So we had to remake the bed ourselves.
Food was just average for banquet food. Drinks in the bar were very expensive. I didn't find any of the staff to be overly friendly. Most just walked by in the hallway and didn't even look at you.

Room Tip: Elevators you have to pick the floor you are going to and then get on the one it tells you, don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britgirl1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Manager at Westchester Marriott, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to add a review of our hotel and sharing your experience with the Westchester Marriott. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory. I do apologize for the issues you experienced in not receiving the room type you requested and the way the situation was handled. This is far from the standards we commonly maintain and certainly not the level of service you deserve as one of our valued hotel guests. I have shared your comments with our front desk manager in an effort to resolve these issues so that no other guest will be similarly inconvenienced. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly at 914-333-1202. Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at this Hotel the beginning of April. We took 2 rooms for my grandchildren and daughters. After we returned to the hotel in the evening we were met with a party next door in which the parties were using marijuana. After a call to the front desk, one member of the hotel security showed up. Rather than contacting the police and throwing the parties out, security ended the party and allowed the people who were staying in the room to remain. This was outrageous to us. We had children under 10 that were kept up until after midnight with noise in the hall, the constant smell of drugs and fear of reprisal. What did management do....give us a 25 dollar reduction of room prices. One of the reductions was credited and we have yet to receive the other and are fighting for it with AMEX.....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drphil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Manager at Westchester Marriott, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Westchester Marriott. We appreciate your comments and recognize the importance of your feedback in improving hotel operations. I do apologize for the issues you experienced with the smell of smoke and noise in the hallway. We take the safety and security of our guest very seriously and do our best to maintain a secure environment for all of our guest. I have shared your comments with our security leadership in an effort to resolve these issues so that no other guest will be similarly inconvenienced. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly at 914-333-1202. Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I love to stay here when I go for business in Westchester county.. Conveniently located near the major highways..free and huge parking space.. the hotel's concierge lounge offers to its platinum and gold members one of the best food menus comparing to other US Marriott locations. Charming swimming pool and hot tub as well as good size well equipped gym... Excellent hotel..Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ME S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.4 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.0 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westchester Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westchester Marriott

Property: Westchester Marriott
Address: 670 White Plains Rd, Tarrytown, NY 10591-5195
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westchester Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westchester Marriott Tarrytown is a modern hotel with premium guest amenities including two on-site restaurants, a pool and high-tech meeting facilities perfect for a leisure or business vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Westchester Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westchester Marriott Hotel Tarrytown
Marriott Hotel Tarrytown
Marriott Hotel Westchester
Marriott Tarrytown
Tarrytown Marriott
Westchester Marriott Tarrytown, New York - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing