We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly Musty Room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westchester Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westchester Marriott
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tarrytown
Glastonbury,CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Smelly Musty Room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

I stayed for 1 night for a business trio and it was too many nights. Upon check in I asked for a larger room because I had to spread out to do some work for the next day. The clueless front desk agent could not even help me by explaining the layout of the room and only offered me the Presidential suite for an exorbitant rate. A colleague I was traveling with actually go a larger room. Go figure. I asked for some assistance from the Bell man and waited 30 minutes until I finally unloaded my luggage and business cases myself (with bad back) . The room I had smelled musty and I actually had an alleric reaction to it which cleared up after 24 hours. The Ruth Chris resturant is very good as well as the breakfast buffet. The breakfast buffet is $18.95....ouch Stay next door at the new Sheraton Hotel because I will if I stay in the area again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RKON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    222
    93
    38
    28
See reviews for
124
123
35
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

While the exterior may not be flashy, the hotel is very nice. Our room, facing the nice pool atrium was large, clean, and modern. Free internet for a day was nice, and even though the business center costs money, they have two free computers in the lobby. All staff members were very nice. Room service, got the Fliet Mignon, was very good, while at the restaurant, not the Ruth's Chris, but the other one had good food, yet mediocre service. Have to make a u-turn to get there coming from downtown Tarrytown, but still not bad location. Only thing I would have to recommend would be to give free in-room internet.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelsnob96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel, expecting traditional Marriott experience. While the hotel itself was basically what was expected, upon leaving we discovered our BMW car was broken into and trunk items stolen. BE AWARE OF THIS - this Marriott claims no responsibility or liability for your car/contents, and after going through the Marriott claims process, they deny any responsibility if you park on their property. After reading TripAdvisor comments from other individuals, this is not the first similar incident. They didnt even offer to reimburse for the roomstay as a courtesy, much less the actual cost of the damages. Note, they dont even have cameras outside to protect their customers.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkofNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

I haven't stayed at this hotel in several years, mostly because I don't care for the central atrium that the hotel has.

I got this hotel through Priceline, and it was nicer than I remembered. I was given a high floor, so I didn't have to look out to the atrium. However, I was given a room next to the elevators, which meant that I could hear the elevators moving every time someone used them.

The hotel has been updated since I was last there -- very well adapted for whatever kinds of electronics you might want to plug in or hook up. They also have flat screen TVs, which they didn't have last time I stayed. Given that, it's disappointing that there are so many sports and news channels, and not nearly enough general entertainment channels which might appeal to their female guests (a major pet peeve of mine). I don't see why they need to have ESPN in both regular and HD, nor do I see why they need 5 or 6 ESPNs.

Aside from that, the only other problem was the $12.95 per day charge to use the internet. I don't know why the higher end hotels feel they have to charge for the types of benefits you get for free at midscale hotels.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for one night while visiting the local restaurant Blue Hill. We felt the hotel wasn't conducive to a romantic weekend away.

I imagine this would be a good hotel for a business traveler. The hotel is next to a number of major highways, one of which was the view out our window.

In general I would say that the hotel rooms were mediocre for the price category. The staff was the real standout feature at the hotel. All of my interactions with the staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiestq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

I and my husband stayed in Marriot for 5 days. They had great service and peaceful environment.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matngoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

I stayed here for just one night but I would definately stay there again. Its modern and swanky for a Marriot and for Tarrytown. The rooms were nice and I had a good night sleep in that comfy bed. The indoor pool area was relaxing and a nice bonus since it was a rainy day. My rate also included a gift card to Ruth Chris Steakhouse in the hotel. The food and service was excellent. Tarrytown is a pretty quiet area so not that just to do at night but lots of daytime things.I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DramaQueen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarrytown hotels
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
1.4 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
Sheraton Tarrytown Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tarrytown Greenburgh
1.0 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westchester Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westchester Marriott

Property: Westchester Marriott
Address: 670 White Plains Rd, Tarrytown, NY 10591-5195
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Tarrytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tarrytown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tarrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westchester Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westchester Marriott Tarrytown is a modern hotel with premium guest amenities including two on-site restaurants, a pool and high-tech meeting facilities perfect for a leisure or business vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westchester Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westchester Marriott Hotel Tarrytown
Marriott Hotel Tarrytown
Marriott Hotel Westchester
Marriott Tarrytown
Tarrytown Marriott
Westchester Marriott Tarrytown, New York - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing