We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moose River House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thendara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moose River House
Ranked #2 of 2 Thendara B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

OMG as a typical construction male, when my wife said that we are going to stay in a B& B to go snowmobiling, I was not interested, but when we got there in the middle of the night and was greeted as though we were family, no way did I think that we are in someone's private home. I felt as if I was HOME. My entire family books in advance for all seasons. Food is 5 star, spotless, warm, decor to just say WOW, ample parking and accomedations for all our snowmobile trailers, with electric hook up at rates you can not beat, we leave the trailers all year long and find them washed and waxed for the next season, who does that. I even have our corporate meeting in the catering hall available and again, what service, will continue going for life and family will follow Respectfuly Crisci Family/ Owner Makita Electric Int'l Corp

Room Tip: all rooms are unique and beautiful views in all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

A wonderful B&B in a perfect location. The hosts were extremely helpful, the B&B was spotless and comfortable. We will certainly return and recommend this great B&B to our friends!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tadam74811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

Let's start with the room... I walked in, and didn't want to leave.
The view? Hey, I know the river there. BUT sometimes, the framing makes the picture. That is true in this case... the view of the river as framed by the interior of this elegant home makes it even more precious, in the very best sense of the word.
The food. Stuart rises early and prepares B & B put a face on the place that helps you to understand the meaning of the "H" word.... (hospitality).
Even if coming for a quick visit, put this place on your list. And stay as long as they will let you!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

My husband and I stayed here on August 18 and 19th and cannot wait to go back. The place is very clean, the bed was super comfortable and we felt right at home. Plenty of places to sit on the decks and the grounds. Kayaks are available for guests use---beautiful furnishings---and reading up on the history of the place, built in 1888, was so interesting.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fl0rence29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

I'm always a little leary staying at a place which I have found online since the website may be a little misleading (such as the B&B I'm currently at, but that is another story). Tripadvisor is a huge help and in this instance assured me that Moose River House was a good selection and so right it is.
It has everything you would expect from a highly rated lodging; friendliness and helpfulness of the innkeepers, cleanliness, great location (especially for kayakers), an excellent breakfast (the continental was way more than I expected), beautiful and confortable common areas, kitchenette area available and so on.
My only complaint was that the internet interface was lacking. I made the reservation online ok but I never received any correspondance about a deposit. Sending an email did not get a reply. Some of the website links didn't function correctly. The best way to deal with them is to simply call. Along that line, they did not have a wireless connection operational but you could access a nearby hotels from certain parts of the house.
Minor and only complaint! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vette1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

My husband and I just returned from a weekend spent at the Moose River House. What a find! The secluded location is just what you want if you are looking for a relaxing place to stay. It is just minutes from Old Forge.

Everything was impeccable- from the clean rooms to the fabulous full american breakfasts served on the weekends.
The owners were so friendly and seemed genuinely happy to be taking care of us.

We stayed in the Farquharson Suite. This second floor room has a spectacular view of the river and is filled with bright sunshine. It's a very large room with a private bath and sitting area.

There are Adirondack chairs placed all over the grounds to enjoy the serene surroundings. They have canoes and kayaks you can use as well.

This B&B is a jewel.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cruisercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
203 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2008

We happened to be in the Adirondacks mid-week and found the Moose River House while exploring the area. I am so glad we stayed....the location is amazing, and the view from our room was breathtaking. We actually arrived after dark, so we didn't really have an idea of the surroundings when we fell asleep but the inn is just charming inside, so we knew we'd found a gem.

The B&B is situated right on the Moose River, and we awoke after a restful evening to birdsong and a clear, lovely day. We stayed in the Farquharson room; it featured a private bath and a large, comfy bed. The picture window was an ideal foil to the morning mist that was just clearing from the Moose River, and once the drapes were drawn back we had a gorgeous, sweeping view of the river and the lush backyard.

After getting ready for our day, we headed downstairs and were pleasantly surprised to find several small, cafe-style tables in the dining area. In most B&Bs that we've experienced, there is one large table that can make for a great or horrible experience over breakfast, simply depending upon your table mates. With the small tables, we could choose to talk with our neighbors or not, which is great for one who is not completely sociable prior to her first cup of coffee in the morning. Breakfast was delicious - we started with fresh fruit and yogurt, and then moved on to an amazing, golden-toasty-brown quiche and yummy potatoes.

The rates are beyond reasonable and this inn is not to be missed - if you're in the Adirondacks (or just pining for a weekend away), you need to stay here!

Helpful?
3 Thank thetripchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thendara
8.4 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
1.9 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Lodge at Headwaters
The Lodge at Headwaters
#1 of 1 in Boonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
11.0 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose River House

Property: Moose River House
Address: 124 Birch Street, Fawn Landing, Thendara, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Thendara
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thendara
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing