We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moose River House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thendara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moose River House
Ranked #2 of 2 Thendara B&B and Inns
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
180 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This was our second visit to he Moose River House and we loved it as much as the first one. The rooms are lovely, comfortable, and uniquely decorated. The views of the Moose River are delightful and the breakfasts on Weekends are fabulous. Each breakfast creation is home cooked and different from any usual routine. The stuffed French Toast with peaches was spectacular! Stuart and Jim have built a reputation on a culture of service and hospitality. They are genuine hosts who are fun to be with.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a mini suite with a huge California king bed and a spectacular Moose River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fremdenfuhrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Namur, Qc, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

...was super. We enjoyed the room, the site, the food, the accueil, everything. We feel right at home at Stuart & Jim's B&B. We didn't have a chance to meet Jim but Suart is a very pleasant man. We have to go back. Thank you again, Stuart! André & Pierrette from Namur, Qc, Canada, related to Betty Rennals.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierrette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautiful
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

I've been here for 4 years in the winter.all around the holiday seasons...
Can't state everything but Stuart and Jim are great!
Very homie atmosphere. Great views, great food! If you want a peaceful , relaxing time to just do nothing or everything this is the place.
Snowmobiling is the thing to do....
Wait before calling so I can get my room and reservations for 2012!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank privatei_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

My better half and I have been to the Moose River House three times. It is a home away from home! When visiting Old Forge,this is the ONLY option for us! The house is beautiful, clean and filled with nostalgia!! We have stayed in the Farquharson, the Harrison and the Lyon. Jimmy and Stuart are the most gracious hosts. Go on a weekend and enjoy a fabulous home cooked breakfast. During the week, even though the both of them have full time jobs on top of running the B&B, you will still enjoy a wonderful selection of breads and jams, fresh fruits and meats and cheeses, juice and FABULOUS coffee! Stay here and tell Jimmy and Stuart that Brad and Jackie sent you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradandjackie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

OMG as a typical construction male, when my wife said that we are going to stay in a B& B to go snowmobiling, I was not interested, but when we got there in the middle of the night and was greeted as though we were family, no way did I think that we are in someone's private home. I felt as if I was HOME. My entire family books in advance for all seasons. Food is 5 star, spotless, warm, decor to just say WOW, ample parking and accomedations for all our snowmobile trailers, with electric hook up at rates you can not beat, we leave the trailers all year long and find them washed and waxed for the next season, who does that. I even have our corporate meeting in the catering hall available and again, what service, will continue going for life and family will follow Respectfuly Crisci Family/ Owner Makita Electric Int'l Corp

Room Tip: all rooms are unique and beautiful views in all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

A wonderful B&B in a perfect location. The hosts were extremely helpful, the B&B was spotless and comfortable. We will certainly return and recommend this great B&B to our friends!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tadam74811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

Let's start with the room... I walked in, and didn't want to leave.
The view? Hey, I know the river there. BUT sometimes, the framing makes the picture. That is true in this case... the view of the river as framed by the interior of this elegant home makes it even more precious, in the very best sense of the word.
The food. Stuart rises early and prepares B & B put a face on the place that helps you to understand the meaning of the "H" word.... (hospitality).
Even if coming for a quick visit, put this place on your list. And stay as long as they will let you!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thendara
0.6 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
10.4 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Moose River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose River House

Property: Moose River House
Address: 124 Birch Street, Fawn Landing, Thendara, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Thendara
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thendara
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing