We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Presentation”
Review of Fort Ticonderoga

Fort Ticonderoga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular attraction, built by the French in 1755, that has been restored to its original condition.
Valrico, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Historic Presentation”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We visited the fort and heard about the era where it was under French control. There were many re-enactors present in period costumes and giving informative presentations about their life in the fort.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    176
    22
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
202 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Very well worth the effort to get there!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a terrific afternoon at Fort Ticonderoga! You definitely want to plan your visit to take advantage of one of the guided tours of the Fort and any of the other activities that you can make. We did the 1:15pm guided tour and then the 2:00pm musket demonstration. Both were outstanding!

The Fort chooses a specific point in time to be for a Season. This Season (which ends October 20th) they have been in 1755, the first French garrison sent down to build the first Fort, Fort Carillon. So the Guides/Soldiers/Historians that play the various roles around the Fort are all characters from that period.

It is really fun to talk to the "players." They are all extremely knowledgeable about everything from the details about the 5 battles fought at the Fort during the French & Indian War and the Revolutionary War to the everyday life of the soldiers to the details of making a pair of the French solider's boots or tailoring their uniforms. Fascinating!

The exhibits at the Fort are excellent, too, and well worth the time to explore. The Mars' Gallery, for example, had a terrific exhibit of period portraits of several of the key players in the Forts history. It's fun to hear and read about them, and then get to see a contemporary portrait.

The Fort is out of the way, but very well worth the effort to get there!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mikie376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great historical site”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Spent an enjoyable afternoon at Fort Ticonderoga. Had a very good, reasonable lunch in their cafe, sandwiches and soups. The fort is a very good reconstruction of the original fort that stood on this site. We had one young guide who took us on a tour of the King's garden and did a reenactment of musket shooting, he was excellent. He was very knowledgable about many aspects of the history involved, the actual fort, weapons used and the history of the garden. He made the visit well-worth the admission fee. The fort is a run by a private foundation with no funding from the state of New York or the federal government. Would highly recommend this for a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
519 reviews
270 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Amazing History”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We really debated between stopping here and stopping at Ft. Sussex. In then end, we chose Ft. Ticonderoga because my husband had visited as a child and had had a wonderful time. We made a good choice, but I doubt we could have gone wrong with either.

Some areas of the grounds were already closed (they closed after Columbus Day). Even so, we wouldn’t have had time to tour the grounds in addition to the fort. You can easily make a visit last all day. Visiting in fall was magnificent. We had some of the best fall color viewing right from the fort!

Fort Ticonderoga has in incredibly colorful history and changed hands numerous times. Many portions of the fort have been rebuilt in the last 100 years. Although it looks excellent and completely authentic, it’s too bad the fort wasn’t historically well maintained. (People took the stones and used then to build houses.) Walking into the fort was an impressive moment. There is a barely legible cornerstone and a plaque denoting the prominent figures who have passed through the doors. It’s cool to pause in the archway for a moment and imagine George Washington walking past you into the fort. The employees in the fort were dressed in period attire and put on various demonstrations – cooking, clothing/shoe making, musket firing, etc. They were all very friendly and knowledgeable.

It's also interesting that Ft. Ticonderoga is not a national monument (like so many other sites of this era are) and is instead privately owned and funded. The difference wasn’t overly noticeable, but every once in a while, I noticed something that wasn’t as well done as a national monument would be - a typo on a reading board or information that seemed somewhat incomplete, small stuff.

There are restrooms in the for and in the gift shop/restaurant. We attempted to eat at the restaurant, but they appeared to be understaffed. We waited at the host stand for about 10 minutes. When we were finally acknowledged, we were told that our meals would take at least 45 minutes. That sealed the deal for the McD’s up the road.

This was a very worthwhile visit. It is beautiful, fun, and highly educational. Well done for such a huge place functioning on a private endowment. We'd love to go again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Beentheredonethat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Re-enactment at Ft. Ti”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We visited Ft. Ti September 14 to see the re-enactment of John Brown's Raid. The re-enactment was wide-ranging, well organized and well explained. It was an excellent example of how living history can take you back to an earlier time, as you smell the gunpowder, see the colors, hear and feel the weapons being fired, and enjoy the panoramic views. Seeing the uniforms and other period clothing, smelling the campfires and the food cooking, watching the tents and marching--all added to the feeling that you are experiencing a piece of life as it was lived more than 200 years ago. We also enjoyed the demonstration of firearms and hearing the fife and drum corps, learning of its importance in communicating at a military site of that time.

We had time to tour the gardens and to view some of the exhibited materials. All of the tours were well-narrated, especially the garden tour. You need more than one day to see everything the Fort offers. For visitors from Florida, the views of the lake and surrounding country side was a definite plus. It was altogether an interesting and exhilarating day. I recommend a visit to the Fort.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JRL537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Ticonderoga also viewed

 

Been to Fort Ticonderoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing