We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Room”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The staff were great with the star of the show being Eva at breakfast. The accomadation was awful the carpet in room 10 was disgusting stains everywhere. The shower would not turn off when we reported the problem we were told they knew of the problem and were upgrading the rooms but that shower should have been repaired. The poor girl on the bar could not cope as the wedding trade comes first and residents had to wait to be served.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Riverside Hotel.
Sadly on this occasion we recognise that that your stay was not the greatest. However we do appreciate valued feedback such as this to use as a tool to move forward and improve the offer we deliver to all our customers. We would have liked to offer you an alternative room in the hotel but due to the high volume of guests we were unable to do so on this occasion. We are at present carrying out a refurbishment through out the guest rooms but this is an on going project. However issues such as the shower should have been rectified straight away if possible, using our repairs team. I can understand your frustration over this matter and this is not a true representation of our usual standards in customer service.

As you have mentioned Eva is a fantastic member of the team and sets the standard for all our customer service levels, your kind comments will be passed on.

The hotel does have a large function room and a busy bar and restaurant. We would like to give you the confidence that all of our guests are treated with same respect and no special treatment is made on how much they spend.

Once again thank you for your constructive feedback and I hope that you do give us another chance to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

I satyed here for one night with my family and was thoroughly impressed. I was lucky enough to have a room oeverlooking the terrace and river which was clea, peaceful and very comfortable. The dining rooom was very pleasant and welcoming with an interesting and well priced menu. Our meal was delicious. The same was true of breakfast with a wider choice than many hotels I have stayed in. We stayed here the night before a family funeral and the whole ambience of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff ensured that we were able to face the day calm and well rested.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kelly032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The hotel is in a residential street slightly outside of burton upon trent so the location may not be great for everyone, but it was perfect for us, and fine if you have a car (there was a large car park). The hotel is very homely and welcoming, the view out the back of the river trent is lovely, and in summer it would be a very nice place to sit. the rooms are small but have everything you need and the beds are comfy. the shower was nice and hot, all in all i would say it is very good value for money.
our favourite part though was the food, there was an extremely generous breakfast included in the price, which include multiple choices of cooked options in addition to cereals, croissants etc. We also had a really nice meal the night before, i would recommend the sea food platter. The staff were all really lovely and friendly.
If you happen to be in burton i would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

What can I say ........the rooms were small,outdated and filthy.I took a chance staying here and will not return.Greeneking are clearly running this hotel in such away as not to spend any money on it .Be that in relation to the rooms or the amount of staff working.Trying to find a bartender was like looking for the crew in the marie celste.
The food at dinner was clearly bought in frozen and then heated up in a microwave-How do I know this my lamb shank was still frozen in the middle!!!!!The breakfast was the only redeeming feature and that was because of iva the waitress ,I can not praise her highly enough.But it was too little to late.No doubt I will receive a standard response to this review from Greeneking who pay no attention to what their customers write.SHAME ON YOU Greeneking .

Room Tip: Go and stay somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your stay recently. It is with such valuable comments such as these that we can reflect and react quickly with all issues our guests raise. I have recently taken over the ‘helm’ of the Riverside and currently trying to implement improved ways of working which will impact directly to the service given to our guests. It seems that in this instance we failed to meet the standard. We have refurbished some of the rooms within the hotel, this is an ongoing project and with time all rooms will be completed. I can assure you and any future guests that this is not how complaints are dealt with and as previously mentioned all comments are dealt with at a house level to improve the service to future guests. We are very focused at delivering great customer service and would very much like it if you would contact the hotel direct so we could investigate your comments over the food ordered. The hotel only has a small management team so if you can confirm your booking with dates of your stay, it will be very easy for us to identify the members of the team who were involved and then either retrain or clarify standards so we can move forward.

Once again thank you for your invaluable feedback, I look forward to hearing from you in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed here as part of the tesco clubcard deal and can honestly say we had no complaints at all.Having seen the other reviews we checked in with trepidation but this was totally unfounded.The room we were given had obviously been refurbished to a good standard if a trifle on the small side.It was clean and well equipped.The restaurant produces good honest food at a reasonable price(try the lamb shank!!) and the bar area is comfortable and welcoming(although an extra bar person would be useful when there is a wedding on as service was a little slow).You can walk into burton along the riverbank (takes about 45 mins or so) and you can enjoy a drink or meal overlooking the river.Rooms are clean and staff are friendly.The new manager seems to be forward thinking and is taking steps to decorate the rooms so that they reflect the true character of the rest of the hotel.All in all,no complaints.

Room Tip: refurbished rooms would be advisable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank basildonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I booked a one night stay at the Riverside Hotel for a mini break for me and my partner. We live not very far away so it was a nice getaway without the children.
We stayed in the the feature room which is the best room within the hotel. Our first impression of the room was that it was spottlessly clean and well presented. The views on the River were fantastic.
The hotel itself has a very homely feel. Staff were very attentive to our needs and extremely friendly. We ate in the restaurant and were very impressed with both the standard of food and variety. Living locally, i would definately recommend this place to others and would not hesitate to come back.
All in all, a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derby1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Riverside Hotel, Branstone to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

We were most impressed by the efficient, polite and courteous service we received. The food was exceptional and served in a surprisingly short time given the amount of people dining. We requested minor changes to the menu which were accepted with patient, tolerance and carried out accordingly. A rare occurrence.

Well done to 'Sean and the team' , obviously much effort has been put into staff training. We shall certainly visit again!

There was only one small drawback and that was that the room was small but it was very easy to overlook in light of everything else.

Thank you for a lovely stay

kind regards

Sonia McLaughlin (Mrs)

Room Tip: Expect a small but perfectly clean and comfortably, perfect room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JollysEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
4.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
463 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
246 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Branston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Price Range: £66 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky packages in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing