We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay - shame they are so understaffed!”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely stay - shame they are so understaffed!”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the Riverside and were very happy with our room - clean, simple, a very small bathroom but perfectly adequate for a short stay. The view across the terrace to the river was delightful. Food was delicious (I recommend the Sea Bass - fantastic!) and the staff were very nice, apart from Stephanie behind the bar who never smiled, made eye contact or spoke on any of the occasions she served us. We were particular impressed with Alice, who remained calm, efficient and friendly even when she seemed to be the only one working. All the guests we spoke with over the weekend were in agreement that this place would be great if only they had sufficient staff, which was hopelessly inadequate, leading to much dissatisfaction.
The purpose of our trip was to the visit the National Memorial Arboretum and this hotel is well placed for an easy run there and also lovely for riverside walks directly from the garden.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CafnJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and work hard to maintain good service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    149
    87
    44
    40
See reviews for
124
210
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Having just stayed at the hotel(2nd oct)I must admit I was a little disappointed when we drove into the car park,from the outside the rooms look dated and grubby,but thankfully once inside they are nice and clean if a tad small.The bar and terrace area is great,we had a very nice meal while we were there,2 main courses for £9.95 & £7.95 for a bottle of wine! Great value.The only down was we did not get a wink of sleep,it was quite a warm night so of course we left the window wide open,so then all you hear through the night are the trains (railway line about 2-300yards away) which are very regular and also the traffic from the A38 a bit of a nightmare really which is a shame,because could,nt fault staff or the food breakfast was very nice too.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back of the hotel they may be quieter. We overlooked the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and work hard to maintain good service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

View of the riverside was the only good thing I could say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Place was filthy,dining room scruffy ,thank goodness I couldnt see the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mullDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
I would like to convey our sincere apologies for any failures in standards within the hotel. I am concerned that you felt that the dining was ‘scruffy’ in appearance which has recently been decorated. Your personal thoughts do not reflect the normal high standards of quality and hospitality that we set ourselves.
I am sure that there are lessons to be learned from your experience so that neither you nor any other future guest, experience anything similar going forward. Our kitchens have been recognised to a high standard both within Greene King and to external companies that audit our businesses. I would be more than happy to give you a guided tour of our facilities if you so do wish.
I am however concerned that none of these comments were raised through out your stay or at the check out point of your visit. Again please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel to see if we can rectify your issues.
I would just like to thank you for bringing these comments to our attention, it is with valued feedback that we can improve the overall structure of our level of service and standards throughout every part of our guests journey.
Once again our sincere apologies, and thank you for taking the time to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Hi, I would just like to say we had our whole wedding at The Riverside on 09/09/2011. The Ceremony,The reception, Evening do and we also had a room to stay over as did some family and friends. I am shocked to see that there is so many people giving bad reviews on here. My new Husband and I plus all of our guests cannot fault The Riverside at all, the whole day was flawless. Sean and the team were truly phenomenal and we had a fantastic happy day,a day we will remember for the rest of our lives.The food was excellent,The staff were all very friendly and they made the whole day so special. The rooms were lovely and clean and not to mention the scenery is spectacular. A special thanks to Sean, Joe and Terry you were all fantastic and lovely to us Thank you for making our day so special.I would thoroughly recommend The Riverside to everyone. Thanks Again and we will definetly be back without a doubt even if its just for a drink and a meal, and any do we will consider you again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and work hard to maintain good service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The staff were great with the star of the show being Eva at breakfast. The accomadation was awful the carpet in room 10 was disgusting stains everywhere. The shower would not turn off when we reported the problem we were told they knew of the problem and were upgrading the rooms but that shower should have been repaired. The poor girl on the bar could not cope as the wedding trade comes first and residents had to wait to be served.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Riverside Hotel.
Sadly on this occasion we recognise that that your stay was not the greatest. However we do appreciate valued feedback such as this to use as a tool to move forward and improve the offer we deliver to all our customers. We would have liked to offer you an alternative room in the hotel but due to the high volume of guests we were unable to do so on this occasion. We are at present carrying out a refurbishment through out the guest rooms but this is an on going project. However issues such as the shower should have been rectified straight away if possible, using our repairs team. I can understand your frustration over this matter and this is not a true representation of our usual standards in customer service.

As you have mentioned Eva is a fantastic member of the team and sets the standard for all our customer service levels, your kind comments will be passed on.

The hotel does have a large function room and a busy bar and restaurant. We would like to give you the confidence that all of our guests are treated with same respect and no special treatment is made on how much they spend.

Once again thank you for your constructive feedback and I hope that you do give us another chance to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I satyed here for one night with my family and was thoroughly impressed. I was lucky enough to have a room oeverlooking the terrace and river which was clea, peaceful and very comfortable. The dining rooom was very pleasant and welcoming with an interesting and well priced menu. Our meal was delicious. The same was true of breakfast with a wider choice than many hotels I have stayed in. We stayed here the night before a family funeral and the whole ambience of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff ensured that we were able to face the day calm and well rested.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The hotel is in a residential street slightly outside of burton upon trent so the location may not be great for everyone, but it was perfect for us, and fine if you have a car (there was a large car park). The hotel is very homely and welcoming, the view out the back of the river trent is lovely, and in summer it would be a very nice place to sit. the rooms are small but have everything you need and the beds are comfy. the shower was nice and hot, all in all i would say it is very good value for money.
our favourite part though was the food, there was an extremely generous breakfast included in the price, which include multiple choices of cooked options in addition to cereals, croissants etc. We also had a really nice meal the night before, i would recommend the sea food platter. The staff were all really lovely and friendly.
If you happen to be in burton i would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
4.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
421 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
312 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
227 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Branston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky packages in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing