We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound(Barton-under-Needwood)(Great Value!)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Grail Court Hotel(Burton upon Trent)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel(Burton upon Trent)(Great Value!)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge(Burton upon Trent)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound(Burton upon Trent)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
196
157
92
49
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
196
157
92
49
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverlovely locationevening buffetsuperior roomfull englishwedding partybridal suitebooked a tableold english innsfood was lovelycooked breakfastwould stay againwedding breakfastshort breakwedding receptioncourse mealsalmon
Filter
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We're just reviewing the pub area as we've never had the misfortune to stay here.

The main problem is the service - specifically the lack of it....

Having visited fairly regularly for some years since Greene King took over it has had peaks and troughs, alas more troughs than peaks. Things looked up in the last eight or nine months as more varied guest ales appeared. Inevitably those behind it (Craig and Terry) have fled and left us to the mercy of Old Speckled Hen again again and again. Please, lets have something else!!

And so unto the service. Dire is the only real explanation. Credit where it's due, Alice and Natalie are excellent - pleasant and efficient - but only when they're there. The others are very lacklustre and frankly just not interested. The main point of this review, echoed by the title, is that the service is non-existent. We've wasted literally hours over the years waiting for service, the bar is like the Marie Celeste!

There are simply not enough staff, sometimes only one person is in attendance to look after reception,the bar and everything - then they just disappear out of the way into the kitchen!!

Come on Grene Kinge, get a grip - just look at the Spread Eagle at Rolleston - The Riverside could be this good if you tried a bit harder!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CrazyHarry1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Firstly thank you for taking the time to post your views onto trip advisor. You have stipulated that you feel more guest ales should be available which as a ‘regular’ I am surprised you have mentioned. Due to brand policy we always stock the Greene King IPA and have Abbot Ale as our 2nd choice. Our 3rd real ale is rotated on a weekly basis and yes Speckled Hen has been on twice within 4 weeks due to a request from a wedding party. Also during those 4 weeks we have stocked ‘Gangly Ghoul’ and ‘Olde Trip’. If you feel that you would like more input, I would welcome you as a regular to look through our seasonal Ale catalogue and help select the ones you feel would be better received by the locals. We pride ourselves on the quality of our Real ales and hold the ‘Cask Marque’ award for both quality and delivery.
You have mentioned the issue over the lack of service and staff. I understand that this can be annoying and we do run a tight ship concerning the amount of staff we have on at any given time. However, this shouldn’t have impacted your visits and if you would have taken the time to approach me directly at the hotel your issues could have been dealt with straight away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Riverside for the first weekend in November. From checking in to checking out, all the staff couldn't have been anymore helpful or friendly. Our double room was overlooking the river, very clean with a comfy bed and all the amenities you would expect. The bathroom was on the small side, however this wasn't a problem at all to us. The breakfast which was included in the price was excellent and set us up for the day! We ate in the restaurant both nights, there is an extensive menu and the food was beautiful. Friday nights is £9.95 for a meal and a drink each (from a selected menu) which is really great value. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will revisit!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fieldsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Me and my wife pulled up on the car park, looked like it could do with a paint, also the windows all had shaby looking curtains, blinds would have looked alot better. But the rooms and interier was nice and spotlessly clean. The meals were excellent especially the sizzling meals, you could get 2 for £9.95 on certain times. The bar was good choice of drinks good except did not do one smoth bitter which i drink, The breakfast was excellent and a wide choice even eggs benodict, eva who serves you was brilliant she could not do enough for you.over all i would recomend this hotel to anyone and in the summer at the back all tables along the river trent would be really nice cheers wayne

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back looking over the river.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bigwayne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and work hard to maintain good service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed here for two nights in june 2010 for my wedding.

I can only judge by the feature room which I appreciate is going to be a bit better then the other rooms.

The room was lovely and modern, very clean with a nice comfy bed, a big tv on the wall, a dresser table and a beautiful view!!

Bathroom was just amazing, a free standing bath in the middle of the room and it was so deep!! it seemed to take forever to fill up but aaaahhhh so relaxing!! The shower was huge too, a very big bathroom that you rarely find in a hotel.

Breakfast was absolutely devine! Ranges from a full english to salmon and scrambled eggs! Lots of cereals, pastries, jams, yoghurts and fresh fruit to choose from - we really were spoint for choice!
The portugese lady who serves breakfast was lovely, she was so friendly and chatty and took the time to ask about the wedding etc.

At the time Alberto was the manager, I believe someone else has now taken over. Alberto was fab, I wasnt a bridezilla but found myself running out of time in the morning and he was a gods send and ran around after me.
The bar staff were all friendly too, we had an amazing wedding day and cannot fault the Riverside on anything!

We have friends who stay here frequently in the other rooms and they love it here, they said they would rather pay that little bit more and have the luxury that the Riverside offers.

I would recommend this to people and stay here myself again

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for the feature room. If you are on a budget ask if you can have a room with the view of the river.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We used this hotel for our staff when they were working in the area. All commented about the friendliness of the staff, comfort of the rooms and fantastic breakfasts.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank airsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews