We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Derby
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice break”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights, mainly with a view to visiting the National Memorial Arboretum (amazing must-visit place!!). We had a perfectly adequate room, which was warm and clean with a comfortable bed - and an added bonus for my wife - a good sized bath !! Breakfast was very good and the one evening meal we had was fine.The staff, without exception, were all very friendly and helpful and no review of the Riverside would be complete without mention of the delightful breakfast waitress Eva who could surely brighten the grumpiest person's day. Downsides ? The windows were only single glazed, so some guests might be bothered by the nearby railway line (we were not, as we are used to trains at home!!) and I suspect that car park noise could be a problem in the summer months. Also, the internal walls in the accomodation block are very, very thin, so noise from adjacent rooms and the corridor can be a nuisance, especially if you get a group of inconsiderate "men-on-business" with loud voices, as we did on our first night/morning- rude awakening before 7am !! Second night was very quiet however. Despite these little niggles, we would go again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ockbrooksider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    141
    86
    44
    39
See reviews for
116
204
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We ate at 6.30 in the evening. Restaurant was quiet with only 5 tables occupied. A wedding was taking place and most guests were in the bar area. The wait to get a drink was around 10 minutes as only 1 barstaff. The same person took our food order for 15 of us. All the food was served well, and was reasonable quality. The Manager helped by bringing sauces, and then we never saw him again. Over 30 minute wait for coffees. Hotel is in need of refurbishment, a deep clean, and more staff to make this tired place great again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derekwozthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review your recent meal at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and can only apologies for our shortcomings on your visit as we take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
It as been noted you have mentioned the issue over the lack of service and staff. I understand that this can be annoying and we do run a tight ship concerning the amount of staff we have on at any given time. However, this shouldn’t have impacted your visits and as a result a number of things have changed since your visit including a change of management. On a positive note we are glad you enjoyed your food & we look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

After having an excellent 3 course meal just before xmas with work colleagues I visited again with my husband and a friend to try another meal and it too was very good couldn,t fault the food but the bar service was not good only one member of staff so had to wait a long time to be served and also when he was taking a telephone call had to wait to be served till he,d finisheed call

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl_ludlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review your recent meals at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We are also glad you enjoyed your Xmas meal with us and also the food on your more recent visit however you have mentioned the issue over the lack of service and staff. I understand that this can be annoying and we do run a tight ship concerning the amount of staff we have on at any given time. However, this shouldn’t have impacted your visits and we do take all feedback on board to ensure it does not affect any future experiences.
We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent - UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

As someone who is more than a passing guest I have picked up the odd bit of criticism around the fireplace, but credit where credit is due. Friends and family celbrated a landmark birthday on 16th December. It was faultless. The room was laid out beautifully, the food was excellent, the service was spot on. We all had a great night. Thanks to the staff, Nat, Danni, Gemma, Steph, Alice, Joe, Lee and his bossness Shaun and all the others we did not see.

The facilities and entertainment are perfect for a celebration, and did we celebrate! It was so good I don't remember leaving.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed here for a relatives wedding,
All staff from reception, to cleaners, to waitresses, could not have been more helpful, Jose was superb.
Alice on the bar and in the restaurant is a great asset for any hotel... she seemed to be working permenantly.
Wedding was a great success, could not have asked for more !
As for the hotel itself, bedrooms have been refurbed, are clean and have new TV and drink making facilities.
Breakfast was excellent, with good choice.
My only complaint (and said by others on here) was the lack of staff in the bar at peak times.
There could be several people waiting but rarely did another member of staff turn up to help.. perhaps they need a buzzer to reception to call on for help at peak times ?
All in all the makings of a great hotel, in a perfect setting.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a refurbed room in the annexe, and ask for a room that overlooks the river (the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shuttie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We're just reviewing the pub area as we've never had the misfortune to stay here.

The main problem is the service - specifically the lack of it....

Having visited fairly regularly for some years since Greene King took over it has had peaks and troughs, alas more troughs than peaks. Things looked up in the last eight or nine months as more varied guest ales appeared. Inevitably those behind it (Craig and Terry) have fled and left us to the mercy of Old Speckled Hen again again and again. Please, lets have something else!!

And so unto the service. Dire is the only real explanation. Credit where it's due, Alice and Natalie are excellent - pleasant and efficient - but only when they're there. The others are very lacklustre and frankly just not interested. The main point of this review, echoed by the title, is that the service is non-existent. We've wasted literally hours over the years waiting for service, the bar is like the Marie Celeste!

There are simply not enough staff, sometimes only one person is in attendance to look after reception,the bar and everything - then they just disappear out of the way into the kitchen!!

Come on Grene Kinge, get a grip - just look at the Spread Eagle at Rolleston - The Riverside could be this good if you tried a bit harder!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyHarry1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Firstly thank you for taking the time to post your views onto trip advisor. You have stipulated that you feel more guest ales should be available which as a ‘regular’ I am surprised you have mentioned. Due to brand policy we always stock the Greene King IPA and have Abbot Ale as our 2nd choice. Our 3rd real ale is rotated on a weekly basis and yes Speckled Hen has been on twice within 4 weeks due to a request from a wedding party. Also during those 4 weeks we have stocked ‘Gangly Ghoul’ and ‘Olde Trip’. If you feel that you would like more input, I would welcome you as a regular to look through our seasonal Ale catalogue and help select the ones you feel would be better received by the locals. We pride ourselves on the quality of our Real ales and hold the ‘Cask Marque’ award for both quality and delivery.
You have mentioned the issue over the lack of service and staff. I understand that this can be annoying and we do run a tight ship concerning the amount of staff we have on at any given time. However, this shouldn’t have impacted your visits and if you would have taken the time to approach me directly at the hotel your issues could have been dealt with straight away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Branston hotels

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Riverside for the first weekend in November. From checking in to checking out, all the staff couldn't have been anymore helpful or friendly. Our double room was overlooking the river, very clean with a comfy bed and all the amenities you would expect. The bathroom was on the small side, however this wasn't a problem at all to us. The breakfast which was included in the price was excellent and set us up for the day! We ate in the restaurant both nights, there is an extensive menu and the food was beautiful. Friday nights is £9.95 for a meal and a drink each (from a selected menu) which is really great value. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will revisit!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fieldsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
4.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.2 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
416 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
209 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Branston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky packages in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing