We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Set in a quiet residential cul de sac with ample parking it has a great location on the riverside with access to the riverside walk. Even in the freezing spring this year this offered an easy and interesting walk to stretch the legs after a three hour slog up the motorway. There are plenty of waterfowl to watch.

The rooms are situated in a rather ugly block extension. They are a little faded and compact and the bathroom was tiny but the shower was a really good power shower although I would have welcomed bigger towels. There is tea and coffee provided and shower gel though I couldn't find a hair dryer. The room was clean and the bed was really comfortable - it is a really quiet location once fellow residents have settled down! So a really good peaceful night's sleep ideal for business or leisure break.

The food is also excellent value - plenty of choice and very reasonable - particularly good breakfast to set you up for the day. The staff were all very pleasant and friendly. so all in all I would definitely stay again and recommend it as an ideal base for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the block on the riverside - odd numbers I think
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mousefindsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay, I'm so pleased to hear that you would recommend our hotel to others, as recommendations are so valuable to fellow travellers. My team and I always strive to offer friendly service whilst looking after our guests and serving our excellent food and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

As the name says its a hotel besides the river trent. Nice tranquil setting, nice rooms and nice food. All in all a nice experience. Handy for midland exploring. And must mention ample parking and FREE WIFI

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joecassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you for staying with us at The Riverside and for taking the time to let us and everyone else know about our lovely stay. We love to hear from all of our guests and our team read all of the reviews that we receive. We hope to see you again soon, next time you are exploring our neck of the woods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This hotel is situated in a cul de sac on a very quiet housing estate. We used it as a base to visit the surrounding area and in particular the very beautiful Lichfield Cathedral and it was a perfect base. Luckily for us the restaurant was cheap with many deals as there weren't any others for several miles. The food was good quality though and the service was friendly. The bedrooms were attached to the side of the main entrance and were clean and quiet with free WiFi in the rooms. Our only disappointment was the limited choice of beer. We booked the hotel believing it to be an old England inn specializing in real ale, but this wasn't the case.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

East to find, pleasant and efficient reception from staff on arrival. Plenty of parking and hotel nicely decorated. I was allocated Room 11, the entrance to which is via a separate door to the main hotel, and is situated on the first floor. The room was small with basic furniture, and an odd arrangement where the loo was one end of the room and the bathroom the other. Nevertheless, the room was clean although the only light in the room was the main light, whereas it would have been a much nicer ambience to have a bedside lamp, especially when reading.

Hotel was almost empty and therefore a skeleton staff on duty. Did not eat in the evening although the menu looked varied and fairly-priced. Breakfast was above average (not the best, but certainly not the worst by any means). However, the lady who served me was called 'Eva' and was exceptionally polite and helpful. She was attentive without being intrusive, which I'm sure most guests would prefer.

To be fair, I booked through laterooms so managed to stay here for £20 including breakfast which is cheaper than living at home!. Judging from other hotel bookings, this was probably worth £35 or so, so £20 was a great deal.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 11 is on the first floor, but I know many of the rooms on the ground floor were empty, so Rooms...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAJCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for staying with us at The Riverside and for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I'm pleased to hear that you found our service to be polite, helpful and attentive and that you enjoyed our breakfasts. I'm also pleased to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and can only apologise that there was no bedside lamp, we still cannot work out how and when it disappeared, but this has been replaced, so next time you are in the area, and choose to stay with us again, you can be assured that all of our bedrooms do have bedside lamps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Had a first floor room at the back with a lovely view over the river (now my wallpaper on my computer). The staff were all friendly and helpful and any requests or queries were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Excellent breakfast including full English, eggs benedict and kippers. Only downside is the small rooms with restricted hanging space but we had a good sized bath with plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: First floor at the back for a great view of the river.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann56Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our friendly scenic hotel and for choosing to spend your break with us. You'll have to come back and visit us again in the summer, so that you can update your wallpaper on your computer as the seasons change. I'm really pleased to hear that you found our team to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our excellent breakfast. We always strive to treat our guests as very special friends as this way we enjoy our work and our special friends enjoy their stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while on business. The pub is fine and the food was fine. Service was pleasant and staff were helpfull.
The room ( room 11 ) was very dated. The shower was very poor bearly enough pressure to wash my hair. The rooms are in a block to the side of the pub and are very dated, this is reflexef in the price, £40 for a mid week single. Great location. Over all suited my needs for a one night business stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestmtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Riverside Hotel and for letting us know about your experience. I would have to agree with you, we do have a great location and our team always strives to be pleasant and helpful. Old English Inns are in the process of refurbishing all of their hotels and the finished product is truly amazing, but whilst we await our turn, you'll be pleased to hear that last week we start our own refurbishment and have redecorated 2 of the bedrooms ourselves and will be continuing this work over the coming months, so as to freshen up all of our bedrooms and bathrooms. I've also arranged for a plumber to come out and have a look at the shower in room 11, as it must be faulty as our water pressure is usually very good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Firstlyi would like to say that £55 for a room for 2 for the night was very good value. Breakfast was very good indeed. One of the best breakfasts I have had In a hotel. Really excellent selection and the waitress was lovely. Rooms are a bit small and a bit tired. Certain areas needed work. window frames grubby, tiling and bath needing filling etc. Shower was a bit dodgy, I had a lovely shower but my friends was cold. we were in room 5 and seemed the nicest some other rooms had damp etc. food in bar and at party was excellent. Rooms warm etc, towels a bit small. Overall definitely recommend just think they need to look critically at the rooms. Lovely setting

Room Tip: Room 5 was good although just by door so potential to be noisy, it wasn't though!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Thank you for your very kind feedback, we appreciate what you have told us & will be passing all of your comments onto the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
4.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
461 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
109 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Branston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Price Range: £66 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky packages in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing