We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor rooms, but they do have comfy beds & a nice view (at the rear!)”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor rooms, but they do have comfy beds & a nice view (at the rear!)”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a wedding. The room had damp, dead flies, rotting wood, a shower that didn't work, mildew and a ceiling light which didn't light up anything! The room was seriously run down, not maintained and was of a poor standard. The breakfast was good and the lady called Eva was attentive, friendly and couldn't do enough for us. At the rear the location is lovely - it could be a lovely hotel if they spent money on the front of the hotel and the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, and for e-mailing me the photos, as requested on check-out. We are constantly working to improve the hotel, and as you mentioned our beds are very comfy, we have also just replaced all the carpets in the bedrooms, and my handyman is working his way round the hotel improving each bedroom as he goes, so by the end of this year all of our bedrooms should have been refreshed. My gardener will be planting our summer flowers out front, a month late this year, due to the contusing frost, but by the end of May we would hope to be able to have this all planted up, so the front should look just as appealing as the back garden and all this work coupled with our fantastic food and service should make The Riverside the place to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    138
    85
    44
    39
See reviews for
113
202
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed overnight on Sunday 14th April through a deal that was in our local evening paper. Room was very clean, plenty of tea/coffee/sugar/biscuits etc. TV and free WiFi. Bathroom was a bit snug but it was clean and functional. The room was quiet and we slept well. Everyone without exception was polite and helpful. The evening meal (2 courses for £9.95) was superb value and the breakfast was excellent. Our waitress Eva was lovely and could not do enough for you. She was a gem. My husband loved the real ales on offer and the price of the drinks was very reasonable. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had room number 5 and it was fine. It was on the ground floor and just took a couple of minutes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know what a wonderful time you had. I'm so pleased to hear that you found my team to be polite and helpful, and yes, Eva is a very rare gem. We look forward to seeing you again soon so that you may enjoy more of our beautiful location, great ales and excellent food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Rooms really need updating! Also way too warm. Pub is lovely, breakfast amazing, so much choice and the lady serving is so lovely and can't do enough for you. Over priced until rooms are sorted I'm afraid.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haylsfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review The Riverside Hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pub, we do aim to deliver a warm friendly pub experience with good value meals and drinks. We are working on the rooms at the moment and are constantly trying to improve the rooms, we have ordered new carpets for all the bedrooms, so these should be laid in the next few weeks, and then we will continue to make improvements to the rooms over the next year to improve the overall quality. I must agree with you our breakfast are amazing, as is Eva's service, the best way to start your day, in my opinion anyway. We hope to see you again, perhaps once summer finally arrives and all our our flowers in the garden are in full bloom?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here on a bargain overnight break. Hotel was very nice and bar area especially. The rooms appear to have a renovation started and room 5 had been decorated and was more than adequate for the length if time we were there. Breakfast was fantastic and I tried the eggs benedict which was amazing!
Overall, would stay again. Good location as only 20 mind from Derby for excellent shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCKCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our breakfasts are amazing, with our location, we have to make sure we have a breakfast to match the fantastic views, after all it is the most important meal of the day. I'm sure we'll see you again soon, the next time you need some more retail therapy?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Set in a quiet residential cul de sac with ample parking it has a great location on the riverside with access to the riverside walk. Even in the freezing spring this year this offered an easy and interesting walk to stretch the legs after a three hour slog up the motorway. There are plenty of waterfowl to watch.

The rooms are situated in a rather ugly block extension. They are a little faded and compact and the bathroom was tiny but the shower was a really good power shower although I would have welcomed bigger towels. There is tea and coffee provided and shower gel though I couldn't find a hair dryer. The room was clean and the bed was really comfortable - it is a really quiet location once fellow residents have settled down! So a really good peaceful night's sleep ideal for business or leisure break.

The food is also excellent value - plenty of choice and very reasonable - particularly good breakfast to set you up for the day. The staff were all very pleasant and friendly. so all in all I would definitely stay again and recommend it as an ideal base for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the block on the riverside - odd numbers I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mousefindsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay, I'm so pleased to hear that you would recommend our hotel to others, as recommendations are so valuable to fellow travellers. My team and I always strive to offer friendly service whilst looking after our guests and serving our excellent food and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

As the name says its a hotel besides the river trent. Nice tranquil setting, nice rooms and nice food. All in all a nice experience. Handy for midland exploring. And must mention ample parking and FREE WIFI

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joecassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Riverside and for taking the time to let us and everyone else know about our lovely stay. We love to hear from all of our guests and our team read all of the reviews that we receive. We hope to see you again soon, next time you are exploring our neck of the woods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This hotel is situated in a cul de sac on a very quiet housing estate. We used it as a base to visit the surrounding area and in particular the very beautiful Lichfield Cathedral and it was a perfect base. Luckily for us the restaurant was cheap with many deals as there weren't any others for several miles. The food was good quality though and the service was friendly. The bedrooms were attached to the side of the main entrance and were clean and quiet with free WiFi in the rooms. Our only disappointment was the limited choice of beer. We booked the hotel believing it to be an old England inn specializing in real ale, but this wasn't the case.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
4.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Branston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky packages in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing