We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay only”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Havant
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short stay only”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Riverside is a comfortable hotel but in dire need of some tlc! The staff are very friendly and efficient but, as with all Greene King establishments left to fend for themselves. The rooms are small as are the bathrooms, but the beds very comfortable. The food was ok & served with enthusiasm. Please note that dogs are allowed in the bar areas while people are eating!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havantpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I'm pleased to hear that you found my team to be very friendly and efficient and our beds comfy. We are a dog friendly hotel and as such have 4 dog friendly rooms and allow them to join their owners in the bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    134
    84
    44
    38
See reviews for
108
194
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We got married here on the 20th July we had the most amazing day can not fault the hotel or staff everyone had such a lovely day the food was lush an our room was beautiful would highly reccomend can't thank the hotel enough for our perfect day x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shazperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

great location,staff was great, very polite and informativeev about surrounding area. booked for evening meal, ordered steak but very tough. was also put off by spiders on inside and outside windows in resturant plus bedroom windows. did suggest good window cleaner, not happy with spiders crawling over me at night ,slept very little. my partner was really dissapointed, even after two nights stay the guest ale was not ready. such a shame the place has great potential. on the plus side visited "cauks abbey" highly recommended. a tired old inn just needs some t.l.c.wll we be back,not any time soon.

Room Tip: very clean rooms, great view looking out to eat by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doreen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have recently had an increase in the spider activity here, being right on the river, and as a result, I have now addressed this issue with our window cleaners, who are not only cleaning the windows, but the weather boards, flood lights and walls on a fortnightly basis to help us combat this issue and it seems to have made a marked improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and were given room keys by very friendly reception staff. Unfortunately the room had not been hoovered and was very small. The bathroom was also very cramped with very little space and ultra loud plumbing! Flushing the toilet sounded like a herd of rhinoceros giving birth!! We had asked for a travel cot, this was not present. Although we had these problems, staff helped immediately. The location of the hotel is lovely, right next to the river with a lovely walk. The breakfast was good too.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thanking for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so pleased to hear that you found my team to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed your breakfast. Our rrom standards are usually of a very high standard, so I have had a meeting with my housekeepers to ensure that we do not miss anything and keep delivering spotless rooms going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Branston hotels

Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This Hotel is in a great setting overlooking the river nice sitting out for a drink and summer sun.
First impressions were good. Checking in at reception we were greeted by a young lady who was professional polite and she came across as a very likable character.

Having settled in our rooms we went to eat in the restaurant. (Review separate)

The Room:
My room was a double with en-suite, flat screen TV with free-view. Free Wi-Fi is also available There was the usual drink making facility's Iron Ironing board telephone, The en-suite was a bath and shower the shower was pretty stable and the hot water flow very good bath filled quickly but the mixer tap does limit how hot you can get your bath water. Towels were fluffy and replenished daily the bed was comfy and the room serviced daily. The room was looking a little bit on the tired side and if the were to nip it in the bud now the might save needing to refurbish fully in the near future.
whilst watching telly I spotted that I wasn't on my own. A large spider was making its way to the bathroom. I'm not squeamish with spiders so I evicted him out the window without a fuss. However I know people who would have freaked at this lets say he wasn't exactly small.

Breakfast:
breakfast was okay again but not fantastic.
The waitress was on the ball and food arrived fairly quick.
Cearials yoghurts croissants were available self service along with juices and fruit.
The cooked breakfast was to order but, The scrambled eggs were like a solid serving of mash not fluffy and light. the Poached eggs didn't look too appetizing either.
The food in general in this establishment needs a coat of looking at perhaps a chef issue at the moment is the problem.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I'm pleased to hear that you joyed our location and found my team to be professional & polite and that in general you enjoyed your room and it's amentities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

On our second visit to this hotel, we had high hopes that it would be a big improvement from the last time, and it was in many ways much improved i.e. efficient staff, service very good and the food was edible, which the first time around it wasn't!

The hotel is greatly in need of some serious refurbishment and even in the Superior room, although it had a state of the art bathroom, the furniture and décor were still shabby in the bedroom. It is just attention to detail, i.e. wonderful walk in shower with rainfall shower head but so clogged up with lime scale the water went off in all directions! The sink, although ultra modern standing on a wooden plinth, was so tiny it was like getting washed in a teacup!

All in all would not stay again in the near future.

Room Tip: Lovely river views so request a riverside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for choosing The Riverside and for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so pleased to hear that you have found us to be much improved, with efficient staff and very good service. We are refurbishing our bedrooms one at a time, as my handyman makes his way around the entire hotel and we started with the worst room 1st, so our superior room is yet to receive it's facelift, I have however rectified the problem with the shower and it is now a lovely waterfall shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at a very reasonable rate. The food was good, very substantial breakfasts, friendly staff. If you like long walks along the riverbank, you will love this place, situated right on the river bank, we had a lovely view of it from our window. Would recommend to our friends. The only niggle, the room was a bit tired and could do with a lick of paint, as others have stated, brighter soft furnishings would help, but over all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
4.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
294 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Branston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky packages in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing