We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value !!”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good value !!”
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We stayed here from 11th Dec for 2 nights with 2 friends. It was a deal from Old Country Inns - 2 nights B&B and 1st nights dinner for £99 for 2 people.
This is the 3rd weekend we have done on this deal and can thoroughly recommend .
The rooms were a little small - we were in the annex on the ground floor with a view of the river. The bathrooms could also do with a bit of a refurb but for what we paid we wouldn't complain. Also the rooms got very hot even with the window open.
The food was lovely and we decided rather than look for somewhere else the 2nd night we might as well stay there and eat in the restaurant again.
All the staff were very welcoming and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The waiters were very good and the lad on the first night even got us the bus times written down for getting into Burton the next day.
Although we found out on the way back that a taxi was cheaper for the 4 of us. Bus fare £6.80 - taxi £6.30 so take note!
Breakfasts were really good and left you feeling stuffed for the rest of the day - Loads of choice and plenty of it.
On Sunday morning we decided we would walk up the side of the river to walk our breakfast off and then came back to the hotel for coffees before we set off for home.
So all in all we had a lovely weekend and I imagine it would be even better there in the summer as you could sit outside at the side of the river and take in the scenery!
Well done Riverside and Alberto and all his staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    149
    87
    44
    40
See reviews for
124
210
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

My good lady and I booked to stay here at the end of October as we were going to Uttoxeter on the Friday to enjoy a days horse racing. Rather than drive to the course we took a bus from nearby Burton on the advice of the Manager, Alberto. Less than £5 for us both each way and an enjoyable hours journey. The hotel itself was a real treat and excellent value for money. We were greeted by the manager on arrival and given all the information we would need to make our stay a happy one. Our room was delightful and it had a full length bath, and I do mean FULL LENGTH. It was clean and tidy with everything we could wish for, iron [and board!], hair drier and electric fans in case it got too hot, plus ample extra pillows should you need them, as I do. Our evening meals on both nights stay were of the highest quality and the presentation was perfect. The chef is indeed an artist. Breakfast was of a similar standard; help yourself to breads, pastries, fruit, juices, cereals etc. and then choose from an extensive menu for your main, from full English, our choice, to smoked salmon, eggs benedict, kippers and much more. The service was first class and Joe, our waiter and I assume restaurant supervisor, was attentive and helpful, he most ceftainly knew his menu. Having managed hotels for over 20 years and been in the industry for much longer I can confidently recommend this hotel to anyone. Alberto and his team work together like a well oiled machine, they put the guest first and know how to make you feel welcome. We will certainly be returning, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bri-n-Gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

I used to stay here a lot on business. Having returned after a three year break, I was so disappointed to find the fine dining restaurant had gone. Now it is order at the bar, get your numbered spoon & stick it in the empty wine bottle at your table & wait. It's good enough food, but...!!!! That said, I can see why they have done it. The restaurant never used to be that busy and now with the "early bird" typre offer it draws the folks in, so fair play to them. The room was verging on dire. Very small TV, dirty carpet, scuffed walls, and a shower that dribled. The showers never were any good at the Riverside. Why they don't update the rooms & charge more for the added value beats me. Due to the poor rooms I (and my visiting colleagues) now always stay elsewhere in Burton.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairReviewUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clearwater lake
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Our stay at Riverside Hotel was one of the high points of our vacation. The scenic park like location along the river made it perfect for enjoying some time on the terrace with a glass of wine. Rooms are good, reception staff was extremely helpful. The meals are of excellent value . Would return again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canyonman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2008

First the good things. Hotel has nice setting with views and gardens to river. Staff very friendly and helpful, good cooked breakfast, plenty of parking, cosy inn style building.
BUT the rooms are quite small, and the bathrooms dated - bath chipped, thin stream from the shower etc. Also notable noise from nearby main road and railway - the windows are not double glazed. Our room was hot, but too noisy if we opened the window - did not sleep well.

  • Liked — Views, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Rooms, noise
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EyeHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branston
4.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
421 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
312 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
227 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Branston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Branston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky packages in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing