We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Tonawanda
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Tonawanda
Highland, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Clean”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Hotel is in a good location, but the room was dirty. The bathroom had dirt on all the baseboards and the trim and door was black from dirt. We went to use the fridge and it had sticky goo on it and so did the night stand. The room was small which I don't mind for 1 night but the dirt was not acceptable. I had a hard time communicating with the front desk clerk, she removed the from of payment in my profile when I asked her to use that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmapinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMEconoTonawanda, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience. Thank you for finding the time to share about your stay. I sincerely apologize for the very unfortunate incident you experienced at our Hotel.
Your review is important to us as it helps us to identify problems and take corrective measures. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We sincerely hope that we may be given a chance to change your perception of our hotel in the future.
We hope you will choose our Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    14
    8
    28
See reviews for
23
17
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willseyville, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

As always the room was ready when I arrived. Clean, neat, and mostly quiet.
The up dates are very nice. I like having a small frig.
Wish it was a little easier to get in and out of the parking area on to the road.

Room Tip: Some rooms with just one full or queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikiSAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMEconoTonawanda, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel.
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us.
Your feedback is indeed of great importance to us. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Traveler to US Nigaara Falls/Buffalo Alert:
Please DO NOT STAY to Econo Lodge Tonawanda or motel 6 at Niagara Falls:

They overbooked and ask you to stay in another motel more than 1/2 hour away in another town.
EVEN WITH reservation.

what happened: We arrived on Oct 12th at Econo Lodge Tonawanda and when checking in the hotel manager (who claimed he just arrived from another country for 2 days) said that there was no room and we have only one choice: to leave and stay in motel 6 Niagara falls, which is more than 1/2 hour drive for usin another town. We have no choice but to do that.

When addressing this to the hotel owner afterwards, the response of the hotel owner, Mr. Patel
the father of the General manager Rinal Patel, was very rude and very unapologizing. He simply says
"this is what happened on busy days. Rooms are overbooked and people will be sent to another one".

What he can do, he claimed, is to offer 20% discount (! generous, eh?) next time we stay.

He also said we are most welcomed to take legal action - although I did not bring it up.

Do yourself a favour and dont book/stay in Econo Lodge Tonawanda or motel 6 at Niagara Falls as they are owned by the same owner, Patel, and this seems to be their practice: OVERBOOK and KICK YOU OUT.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eugene_Tse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tonawanda hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

To be fair, the hotel was booked by a tour company that hadn't informed us of the quality/budget level of the place we were going to be staying at. I was expecting something nicer, though, based on the price I'd paid for the tour. Especially after sitting on a tour coach for 10+ hours on not-direct drive from Boston. My tour group only stayed one night. Had a huge twin-bed room on the ground floor, which was fab since my suitcase was really heavy. Didn't like that the curtains didn't close properly, meaning anyone could look in while I was dressing (so changing had to be done in the micro-sized en suite).

There was also a mysterious door in the corner of the room that didn't look as if it could lock properly; it had a giant armchair pushed in front of it to apparently keep it closed. I've no idea what was on the other side of that door, but spent ages wondering if someone was going to come through and bother me (thanks Hitchcock and Hollywood!).

My only real complaint is the soap/shampoo dispenser in the bath/shower. The soap had leaked into the bath during the day, and left a long trail down the bath to the plug hole. This made showering quite slippery and precarious, even after I'd rinsed the soap away. I showered that night, and the soap trail was back the next morning. Definitely not safe.

Also didn't like the fact that the complimentary breakfast was served on plastic (plates, cutlery, juice glasses - everything plastic). Made it all just that much cheaper and not very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Thalia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We're used to other hotels in the Choice hotel lineup. This motel did not measure up to Choice standards. The girl at the front desk was helpful and friendly. However, the room we were given had half of a safety lock. When I asked why she said it was being taken care of. It happened because rowdy motel guests broke it. It did not make us feel safe. How much effort does it take to fix this for the next guests. The minute we walked into the bathroom a bug was crawling on the bathroom floor, there was no soap to be had. Once again the girl at the front dest came through for us at least with the soap. The tops of the furniture were sticky as well and the sheets were balled up and felt rough when trying to sleep. We had asked for a wake up call for 8:45 am and it never came. When we realized what time it was we barely were able to enjoy the continental breakfast . When we told the male desk clerk about the missed wake up call he responded saying "things happen". That was a poor response in my eyes. We will think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freudie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for the night before a game in Buffalo. The rates were fair and the hotel was slightly better than expected. Check-in was uneventful. The room was clean and had nice enough decorations. It was a perfect place to rest our heads. Don't know if other people expect a 5star resort in a small town outside of Buffalo, but this hotel is a great value for the price!!


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillsGirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
thank you for review we are always updating the hotel like the new bussness center and new gym coming very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Start with the front end staff, very pleasant and accommodating, we at the last minute decided to go a day early, we got an even better date on the first night. Got in our room and it was actually very clean, beds were comfortable, had a fridge, microwave, flat screen and did I mention clean? It looks like the carpets have just been replaced, the mattresses are comfortable and even the pillows were soft. Would I stay there again, yes.

Room Tip: They do have a couple of rooms for people with animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Tonawanda, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
thank you hope to see you next time your in area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonawanda
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#13 of 17 in Amherst
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 17 in Amherst
265 reviews
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Tonawanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Tonawanda

Property: Econo Lodge Tonawanda
Address: 2000 Niagara Falls Blvd, Tonawanda, NY 14150-5545 (Formerly Grand Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Tonawanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Tonawanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Tonawanda 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT - We offer the following NEWLY UPDATED areas include Lobby, Breakfast Area and Guest Rooms. We offer a FREE Deluxe continental breakfast including Hot waffles with each and every stay. We also have FREE WiFi throughout our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Tonawanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonawanda Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing