We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, quiet and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay, quiet and clean”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

No complaints on my stay while visiting RPI for work. Great location down the street from campus.

Helpful?
1 Thank b0urds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    226
    49
    27
    5
See reviews for
286
87
36
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We chose this hotel as it was near to all that we had to travel to for a funeral. It was very clean, quiet (room on the back) easy to get to and reasonably priced. The bed was very comfortable the shower better than in most hotels. Would highly recommend

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Average-minus
staff was pleasant and friendly.
Problem: room itself not really so clean.
Asked for a change of sheets and they merely placed another sheet over the previous one, good for bunching up while sleeping.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postmoderndame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,581 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,694 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

From the smily desk clerk who upgraded us to a larger room, to the made-to-order breakfast, this hotel near downtown Troy and the RPI campus exceeded our expectations. The price was rather fair for a Hilton, and it was as nice as many Hilton hotels we're stayed at. Parking is free outdoors and the access to Route 787 and the Thruway/Northway was quick and easy. The place was renovated in 2009, and still has that new feel. The firmness of the bed was adjustable from hard-as-rock, to mushy and the adjustment was as easy as turning a dial. We recommend this hotel whole-heartedly and will return if we are in the area again..

Room Tip: Rear rooms have no street noise; use your Hilton HHonors status to request a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWL3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We came up to the Albany area for another Pokemon tournament. Stayed here for 1 night. We had a traditional room with 2 queen beds.
A very nice stay!! The lobby was decorated beautifully for the holiday season and had plenty of space for everyone to sit, play a few games and relax. There was a big RPI vs Harvard game happening and many people from all over were checking in. Even with these hockey fans all over, we still were quite comfortable in the lobby.
The Hilton Garden Inn is one of the biggest I have ever stayed in. It has 3 levels of banquet/conference rooms. Parking is very easy and it is behind the hotel so away from the street.
We did pay for the buffet breakfast but it was a good deal…$4.95 for kids for ANYTHING on the buffet, $11.95 for adults for the full buffet or $6.95 per adult for the continental breakfast buffet. All the food was fresh and the hot food was made to order. They did not rush us and we enjoyed our breakfast at a leisurely pace.
Check out was easy and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so away from any noise from the banquet rooms and the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PokeMomNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for two nights when attending a Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI) college reunion. Our room was spotless and contained all of the expected Hilton Garden Inn amenities (mini-fridge, microwave, wi-fi, quality linens, and comfortable bed). The check-in staff was efficient and friendly.

The dining choices at this hotel were not bad. We had appetizers and drinks in the sports bar one evening. Despite being very busy, service was attentive and fast and the food quality was decent. (It was very loud, which meant we had to pitch our voices louder than usual to hold a conversation.) Another evening we had a reception and dinner in the ballroom with our reunion group. The reception food was excellent and the plated dinner was better than expected. We ate breakfast in the main restaurant one morning and found the hot buffet had a nice variety of standard breakfast foods plus there was also the possibility of getting a custom-made omelette.

As an added bonus, we loved how we could walk approximately 5 blocks to the campus from this hotel. The overall experience was very good and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr-Jill-from-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I thought this was the nicest Garden Inn that I have stayed at. It appears to be fairly new, nice location and big. I only stayed one night, but appears to be a great hotel. Great meeting spaces and very nice conference facility. It has two restaurants/sports bars in house, didn't eat at either one, but they were very busy. Staff was great and room was perfect. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnow39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
7.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Troy

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Troy
Address: 235 Hoosick St, Troy, NY 12180-2428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Troy Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing