We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Troy's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Morris,Ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Troy's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed the night with family at the Hilton Garden Inn in Troy. Very nice experience. Comfortable room. Children enjoyed pool. Small fitness room. Friendly and helpful staff. Convenient to many restaurant's along the Hudson Riverfront.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Morrismom_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    208
    46
    26
    5
See reviews for
261
84
35
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I did a one night stay at this hotel traveling as a guest speaker for a church located in Troy. The staff was very pleasant and helpful; clean rooms and the king room was very spacious. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel is conveniently located next to the RPI campus, which was our reason for booking. We had a room facing the front of the property (street facing). The noise all night, both from the street and from guests in other rooms, was pretty hard to take. It was definitely not a restful night's sleep. I will look into some other hotel options for our next visit.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on the back side of the property (facing the parking lot) would be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karleshyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanDolanGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Troy, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us. I'm sorry to see that you did not get the restful night's sleep you were hoping for. That is one of our top priorities, and it's disappointing to see that you were not satisfied. We would love to have you back for another night's stay so we can make it up to you. I'm sure we can find a room that better fits your needs. Please feel free to call me directly at the hotel if you have any further concerns.

Sincerely,
Dan Dolan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We were in town visiting RPI for upcoming Freshman year. This hotel is in walking distance of the campus. It is located within 10 mins of Downtown Troy. The restaurant was a great sports bar, but great for families also. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Arrived 10pm for one night to visit RPI, HHonors complementary 2Q room 715. Room is clean which is my only must have. Well that and towels...which there weren't any. Went to call the front desk and found the room phone by the bed was dead. So I trudged back downstairs to the front desk to request towels. Towels arrived 20 minutes later. All I wanted to do was take a shower and watch some TV for an hour. Took a shower...no issues. Went to turn on the TV and...it's broke. The remote control light was working and the TV was plugged in but wouldn't turn on. At all. Beyond pissed. If I had known before I took the shower I would have requested a different room, but it was late and I was already undressed. Bed comfortable. I'm still in the room as I write this... I do not plan on eating at the breakfast buffet so can't comment on that except to say that it's not free. I would stay here again but would definitely go over the room in detail and make sure everything works before settling in.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BoscoBaby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Called to make a reservation for one night to tour RPI with our accepted student. The reservation system is not at the hotel, and even if you call the actual hotel, you get transferred to the generic Hilton call center. The room location could not be confirmed, denied, or even discussed "until check in and based upon availability"; there was apparently no discount for RPI (as opposed to that spontaneously offered at the Best Western); but the kiss of death was being told the hotel would only take a 2-night reservation, the second night of which I could then cancel, probably, after arrival. This would make the considerable no-refund discount with a paid-in-advance credit card completely unavailable, raising the price to over $50 more per night than at the Best Western. After this experience, not only will I not stay at the Hilton in Troy, I am avoiding them anywhere. If the highest price hotel around is going to treat me like a generic widget, I know where we'll be staying for the next 4 years. Yuck.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanDolanGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Troy, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for the feedback on the Hilton reservation system. I apologize for the confusion. We have a special relationship with RPI and RPI parents. It seems there was a breakdown of communication somewhere with the reservation system. I'm not sure how or why this error occurred, but I would love the opportunity to speak with you over the phone so we can make it up to you. At your convenience, please call me at the hotel so we can discuss these issues further. Again, I apologize.

Sincerely,
Dan Dolan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Taco Juan is a regular guest at the Hilton Garden Inn in Troy. Why Troy, New York? Troy is home of Dinosaur BBQ and RPI college (see engineering and hockey!!!)... as well as a great place to stay when attending SPAC or the races in Saratoga Springs. This hotel is managed by a super star General Manager, Dan Dolan...goes all out to make you feel like a permanent guest. Ask for Dan. While all of the guest rooms are comfortable, if you want to live like the President of RPI ask for Room 609 which comes with kitchen, dining room, and living room...multiple baths. But do not expect NYC prices. The hotel is supposed to be limited service but the owning company (BBL Construction) has added every amenity ..including massive conference and meeting space both indoor and out of door. Great venue for a wedding (including tree lined court yard and private catering kitchen) or bring on you biggest auto show. For a quick relaxing meal and to watch either the Final Four or the Masters at the same time...eat at the Recovery Sports Grill. Taco Juan gives this best rating of all Hilton Garden Inns.... Adios amigos.

Room Tip: Choose Room 609 !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TacoJuan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
7.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
4.7 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Troy

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Troy
Address: 235 Hoosick Street, Troy, NY 12180
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Troy Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing