We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place to Stay in the Capital District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stay once or twice a month. The staff makes me feel like it is home away from home. Everyone, even the manager, makes you feel like family. Our state association even has our annual conference here because of the great service, cleaniness and value. I would highly recommend the Troy HGI.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank 993anthonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel. All the staff was very professional, personal and warm and provided a service that was top notch. The rooms were very well kept up and clean. At breakfast, which usually closes at 11:00 am, some of my family members walked in a few minutes before 11:00. Employees provided wonderful service and attentiveness even though they would normally have been closing. It was definitely worth staying and dining there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Janice Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Best hotel in Troy area for any RPI activities. It takes the stress out of traveling to and from campus. Would recommend this hotel to RPI families. Very welcoming and felt like a secure environment. Very clean. Could even walk to campus if desired. Was at hotel for graduate dinners and can recommend the food as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and not one of our stays were great. We have had problems from loud wedding parties going all night to traffic noise, loud doors slamming, etc. etc. etc. This hotel is not worth what they charge for it. $89 is the most that I would pay to stay here.They cheat the RPI parents who have stayed there all four years visiting their children at graduation and jack up the prices to $250 a night for a room on the main drag which has traffic all night long. Unfortunately they know that they are one of two hotels in Troy and take advantage of that. But it is so convenient to RPI's campus that we endured their torture for 4 1/2 years. I dont know what to tell you other than stay in Albany if you want a better hotel at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in a room on the street side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Tambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I just spent two nights at this clean, comfortable hotel. The staff was responsive to our needs, sending up a rollaway bed shortly after we requested it. I appreciated the refreshing citrus and cucumber water that was always available in the lobby, as well as the Keurig coffee machine in the room. We were there to celebrate a friend's birthday and the management was very generous, upgrading my friend and her husband to the Presidential Suite, where we spent much time eating and socializing. They also did a lovely job with our Saturday night dinner downstairs in the Library, which included two attractive rooms and an outdoor patio. The staff who worked at the party that evening were particularly pleasant and helpful. The manager of the hotel even came down to check how everything was going. My only complaint is that the walls were rather thin and we could hear a lot of noise from the adjoining rooms..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCTraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We only stayed one night but were very pleased with the quality of this hotel. The bed was firm and comfortable, the bathroom gleamed, the shower pressure was strong, the room was quiet and the staff was very friendly. It's also close to RPI, so a good choice for visiting parents.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just spent two nights here since Bruce was playing in Albany but there are issues with staff and soundproofing.

Arrived late evening following a nine hour flight and four hour drive, looking forward to a typical Hilton welcome. Unfortunately this wasn't the case. The guy who checked is in couldn't even raise a smile, so we felt underwhelmed as we took the elevator to our room.

Entering the room a couple of motorbikes went roaring past, trucks rumbled past and I thought a window had been left open. Sadly this wasn't the case. The room overlooked four lanes of traffic which could clearly be heard. No sleep would have been possible so I went back down to try and change rooms.

At the desk I encountered Michelle who was polite, courteous, and she went out of her way to try and help find a different room. Unfortunately the misery who had checked us in was also there and he said 'we're full - no other rooms available'. He then said to Michelle, loud enough for me to hear, 'for what they've paid we're not upgrading them'. Wonderful. How I wish I'd been 'undercover boss'. However Michelle continued to look for another room and found one. She then offered to collect the keys from the old room when we were ready.

Michelle is clearly customer focused and went out of her way to help.

The new room was an even numbered room - avoid any odd numbered rooms as they overlook the four lanes of traffic. Additional glazing is needed in these rooms.

At breakfast the following morning the service was exceptional, staff friendly, offering advice etc on the local area.

Returning from the Springsteen show that evening, Mr Misery was on the desk again - not even an acknowledgement that someone was stood in his presence. Amazing guy who drags down the reputation of the Hilton.

Entering our room, at 12.30am (after the show) we found the bed had not been made up. Being tired, what with jet-lag and the show, it was easier to simply put up with it - to have got housekeeping involved at this time of night would have took longer.

Checking out the following day I had intended to say something. However there was now a Mrs Misery on the desk, we had a five hour drive to our next hotel and another show to catch so I thought what the heck, they've had our money, we saw a great show and if Hilton choose to deliver such bad service then it will reflect back on them.

This would have been a one star review had it not been for Michelle and the breakfast room staff who clearly know how to treat people.

You had our money Hilton, can I suggest you invest it in staff training for Mr Misery on front desk and in housekeeping so that they can be taught how to make up a bedroom.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms will ensure you get a good nights sleep. Avoid odd numbered rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank springsteenisgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
7.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
4.7 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Troy

Address: 235 Hoosick St, Troy, NY 12180-2428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range: £70 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Troy Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing