We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!!!”

De Fazio's Pizzeria
Ranked #7 of 209 Restaurants in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
New Jersey
Level Contributor
192 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Little tiny hole in the wall place and that is part if the old skool charm. Cash only and well worth it! Lo Porto's and now Defazio's are two Troy favorites!

Helpful?
Thank MarcoTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious and worth the wait”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Had pasta that was wonderful. Especially the next day as leftovers because all the flavor soaked in. Best pizza crust I've ever had

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AddiFromOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
349 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Sorry it took us so long to try their pizza.”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife served as the delivery person for our first taste of pizza from DeFazio's. She proposed to order it before she left work and pick it up in the slow snowy drive to our home. This meant the pizzas spent an hour in the car before we got to taste them. While they were still just a little warm, we quickly decided that they were still worth having again.

Seeing on line the wide variety of specialty pizzas that they offered, we decided to try two in order to get a fair representation of the toppings. The first to jump out at us on their web page was the Goat Cheese Pizza ($13.95/17.95 - 12in./16in.). Imported goat cheese, red roasted peppers, red onions, olives, fresh tomato and mozzarella cheese. There were plenty of toppings on this pizza and the flavors blended wonderfully. The crust of the dough was thicker along one portion of the pizza than along the opposite edge. This made for the crust to be more dry where it was thick, but it had a nice wood-fired flavor and when eaten along with an appropriate beverage (read BEER) it was as enjoyable as dunking biscotti in your coffee.

Our other pizza was a Sausage Peppers and Onions Pizza ($12.95/16.95 - 12in./16in.). With tomato sauce, mozzarella cheese, DeFazio's homemade Italian sausage, fresh green peppers, and onions, we asked them to substitute hot sausage for the normal sweet sausage. They crumble loose sausage meat on top instead of using slices. Personally, I think this is the better way to put sausage on a pizza as it distributes the flavors more evenly. While I would have enjoyed a bit more fennel in the sausage, there was just enough hotness to allow the flavors of all the other ingredients to come through. The crust had the same uneven thickness characteristic as the other pizza - more beer please!

Bottom line is we'll definitely have more pizzas from DeFazio's. Maybe we'll try having one at one of the pizzeria's tables and bring along some good beer. Nothing like a wood-fired pizza right out of the oven.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best pizza, pasta & salads in the Capital District”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

It is always a tough decision whether to get a smoked mozzarella 4 cheese pizza, linguine with pesto, broccoli and chicken, or a herbed chicken antipasto salad
All are equally fabulous
And Rocco and his family are warm and welcoming
When my son comes in from San Francisco this is our first stop!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJNuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
240 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in the Capital District”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We hadn’t been here in several years, mostly because we don't live in Troy. However, just like the last time we were here, the service is really good: attentive, patient, pleasant. Most importantly, this places still serves the best pizza in the capital district. Wasn’t busy on a summer Saturday night, but perhaps its because the college students are still on summer vacation. The only drawback to this place: the neighborhood seems to have gotten worse. Prices on the cheap side relative to the delectable pizzas served. Some famous people have eaten here, and deservedly so...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IT-Expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Fazio's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to De Fazio's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing